In honor of National Library Week ABC-CLIO is gifting free access for librarians to three professional development eBooks from Libraries Unlimited

*Growing Schools: Librarians as Professional Developers by Debbie Abilock, Kristin Fontichiaro, and Violet H. Harada, Editors

*LIS Career Sourcebook: Managing and Maximizing Every Step of Your Career by G. Kim Dority

*Embedded Librarianship: What Every Academic Librarian Should Know by Alice L. Daugherty and Michael F. Russo, Editors

Additionally, for patrons / students April will bring free access to all 15 of ABC-CLIO Solutions online reference and research resources. 

Libraries can register for this FREE access for the entire month of April at:

http://www.abc-clio.com/Previews/?camp=NLW14

This symposium was published on YouTube on February 24, 2014

There are three videos

Summary (4:46) at: http://goo.gl/Ja9goF

Introduction (21:31) at: http://goo.gl/NPiwqa

Panel Discussion (1:10:37) http://goo.gl/gLJlVx

Innovative and Alternative Instruction: From the Flipped Classroom to Peer Teaching  Friday, April 18, 2014

California State University East Bay's Oakland Center

What do innovative and alternative instruction techniques look like and how are we finding, creating and using them?

Our speakers are:

Keynote:  April Cunningham (Palomar College in San Marcos)-strategies to sustain instruction programs

• Flipped Classrooms Panel:  Sarah Dahlen, Nicole Branch and Daniel Ransom
• Social Justice Panel: David Silver and Kim Morrison
• Learning Communities Discussion:  Marcus Banks
• LibRats Discussion: Brett Bodemer

For more information go to: http://www.cclibinstruction.org/

To register go to:  http://tinyurl.com/mfdx4x6

Download and print our Flier at: http://tinyurl.com/n23vuw3

Friday April 11^th

California Academic and Research Libraries will host a full-day virtual conference on Friday, April 11th The day will consist of original virtual presentations consistent with this year's theme, Leadership in Action, along with two sessions offering highlights from the main CARL conference which takes place April 4-6 in San Jose.

Session abstracts for the CARL Virtual Conference can be found at: http://goo.gl/BZYvKK

If you are attending the main CARL conference, you do not need to register to attend the virtual event; a link will be emailed to you automatically.

Otherwise, you can register here for $50.00:   http://goo.gl/hWHhUn

(choose Virtual Conference Only Registration from the

"Select registrant type" dropdown on the first screen)

On March 6^th and 7^th over 80 colleagues gathered in Sacramento for two days of speakers, discussions, and collaborative contacts.  The speakers generously shared their PowerPoint presentations which are linked to the Agenda for the meeting under Deans and Directors at the Resources page on the CCL website.

Cero Coso College Librarian Julie Cornett is Recepient of the 2013 John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Award at the League for Innovations Conference in March 2014

 Julie Cornett, Cero Coso Library

This award celebrates outstanding contributions and leadership by community college faculty and staff across the nation. Since Julie Cornett was hired in 2010, she has brought a new dimension to library services for all students and for all modalities of instruction at the college. Library resources have moved swiftly into the online environment, and Julie has developed digital library resources, both open resources and paid subscriptions, for student and faculty use. She piloted an embedded librarian project within specific courses that provides students with direct instruction in online resources and research skills. As Cerro Coso seeks to improve the student experience at the college through the Achieving the Dream (ATD) Model, Julie is serving as the lead for the ATD Data Team exploring how the college can be made better through identified, scalable services and pedagogical practices.

Contributed by Sarah Raley, Consortium Director

ProQuest has introduced the new Research Companion. Pricing is available on the consortium website. ProQuest Research Companion is a new, intuitive, and self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries, classrooms, and online learning environments. It provides a new foundation and companion to "one-shot" sessions, allowing librarians and educators to focus on teaching the more complex research and writing principles. Developed by writing instructors and librarians, ProQuest Research Companion is comprised of nine Learning Modules and seven interactive Tools—all designed to automate the basic parts of the research process. The responsive design means it's adaptable to all devices—laptops, tablets, and smart phones. See the description at http://www.proquest.com/products-services/rescomp.html

Informational Literacy Course has now been introduced by Credo. The cloud-based multimedia materials provide a comprehensive information literacy curriculum to meet your accreditation needs. Created by librarians and educators, course sections include videos, tutorials, online activities, course notes, guides and promotion materials. This course is available for purchase. See the announcement on the consortium website. For more information and to attend a webinar see [Info at: http://corp.credoreference.com/solutions/information-literacy-course-module.html ]

Spring Orders: When we negotiate the consortium pricing, we agree to place our orders by the vendor due date to qualify for the pricing.  If you are unable to place your orders with the consortium by the due date of May 9, 2014, we will try to place your orders late.  Orders will be assessed a late fee of an additional 5%, or whatever additional fee the vendor assigns to late orders.

Council of Chief Librarians' (CCL) survey about ILS use. The state of Integrated Library Systems (ILS) in the California Community Colleges.

Here's the link to the survey:  http://tinyurl.com/CCL-ILS-2014

Due date: April 18,2014

Please take a few minutes to answer these questions.  By defining the current status and costs of library systems, your responses will help build a case for a possible statewide solution.

This information will provide indicators to address our Strategic Plan Goals:

Strategy B2: Identify technology that can be used to effectively advance student learning

Provide leadership to address new opportunities, particularly as libraries move from managing equipment and physical collections to electronic resources and cloud-based technology. 

http://www.cclccc.org

This report http://goo.gl/rvpsTPm is the latest research report in a sustained effort throughout 2014 by the Pew Research Center to mark the 25^th anniversary of the creation of the World Wide Web by Sir Tim Berners-Lee. He wrote a paper on March 12, 1989 proposing an “information management” system that became the conceptual and architectural structure for the Web.

This report is part of an effort by the Pew Research Center’s Internet Project in association with Elon University’s Imagining the Internet Center to look at the future of the Internet, the Web, and other digital activities. This is the first of eight reports based on a canvassing of hundreds of experts about the future of such things as privacy, cybersecurity, the “Internet of things,” and net neutrality. In this case we asked experts to make their own predictions about the state of digital life by the year 2025. We will also explore some of the economic change driven by the spectacular progress that made digital tools faster and cheaper. And we will report on whether Americans feel the explosion of digital information coursing through their lives has helped them be better informed and make better decisions.

(announcement from ACRL Insider Posted 19 March 2014)

Members of ACRL’s Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education Task Force appreciate all the comments they’ve received so far on the first part of the initial draft of the association’s Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. They continue to make progress and are on track to release the second part of this initial draft in early April. It will include additional threshold concepts and sample scenarios. You can read more about their work in a recent interim report to the ACRL Board, which will be discussed at the spring executive committee meeting on April 2, 2014.

We encourage you to provide feedback on both parts of the initial draft by 5pm Central on Tuesday, April 15, 2014, via an online form. Additionally, you can share your perspective on the initial draft during one of these upcoming online open forums:

• Friday, April 4, 2014, 11am Pacific/12pm Mountain/1pm Central/2pm Eastern
• Thursday, April 17, 2014, 8am Pacific/9am Mountain/10am Central/11am Eastern

Register to attend one of these free events by noon the day prior as login details will be emailed the afternoon prior to forum date.

Links to the recorded forums will be posted afterwards on the task force website. Each session is limited to 500 attendees.

Jean Smith (San Diego Mesa College), Committee Chair

New reviews -- The CCL-EAR Committee recently completed a review of Ebsco databases that would be upgrades to the statewide suite of databases.  (I.e. Premier and/or Complete versions for Academic Search, Business Source, and Masterfile).  Upgrades are available for individual databases or as part of a supplemental package.  The review is posted on the CCLC website.

Ebook shared collection weeding project – As mentioned in the last Outlook, the Committee will undertake a limited weeding project for the 10 shared collections from NetLibrary (Ebsco ebooks).  The deselection team is finalizing the policy and procedures, which will be posted on EarInfo and in Outlook.  Volunteers from the field are needed to assist in the weeding project with the bulk of the initial work coming in Fall 2014.  For more information or to volunteer for the deselection team, contact Chair Elect Darryl Swarm at dswarm@frc.edu or 530 283-0202 X236.

CCL EAR Committee volunteers needed – There is an opening for a regional representative from the Desert Region.  The appointment would be for a 3-year term with the option for a second 3-year term.  Click on this Committee Orientation link for more information or contact Jean Smith at jesmith@sdccd.edu or 619 388-2550.  The Desert Region includes Barstow, Cerro Coso, Chaffey, Citrus, Copper Mountain, Crafton Hills, Desert, Moreno Valley, Mt. San Jacinto, Norco, Palo Verde, Riverside City, and San Bernardino.  We are also looking for volunteers who are past Committee members who are familiar with the Committee’s procedures and workflow to assist with reviews or other projects on an on-call basis.  Past members who are interested in serving in this capacity should contact Jean Smith or Sarah Raley.

Next meeting -- The next face-to-face CCL-EAR Committee meeting will be May 1st (noon to 5pm) and 2^nd  (8am to 2pm) in San Jose (location TBA).  Guests are welcome; please notify Jean or Sarah if you would like to attend so meals can be provided.

Google has launched its own Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) to teach the general public how to understand surveys, research, and data. Called “Making Sense of Data” and running from March 18 to April 4, the course will be open to the public and, like most MOOCs, will be taught through a series of video lectures, interactive projects, and the support of community TAs.

Users who complete the final capstone homework assignment will even have the option of receiving a certificate of completion

In his blog Andy Burkhardt discusses the ACRL’s new draft Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education.   The blog entry discusses some of  the merits / benefits of the New Framework as well as the possible challenges for the New Framework.

Following the CCL Deans, Directors and Chairs Annual Meeting, San Diego Mesa College librarians shared the following with campus leaders. The issue has received the support of Mesa President, Pam Luster.

“At a recent meeting of the Council of Chief Librarians for the California Community Colleges (CCL), an action plan was approved to solicit institutional support for CCL’s suggested revisions to the proposed changes to the ACCJC accreditation standards.

CCL’s efforts so far are detailed in President Tim Karas’ letter in this Outlook Newsletter, and includes a request for institution-level support.  That support can include any or all of the following:

• An Academic Senate resolution or endorsement of the statewide senate resolution passed at the Fall plenary session.
• Endorsement by the Chairs.
• Institutional support via comment form (on ACCJC site: https://www.accjc.org/) from the College President, VPI, and/or ALO.

Mesa colleagues were asked to  support CCL’s efforts by submitting a comment form to ACCJC before the April 30 deadline.

Responses can be as simple as “We support the proposed changes to the ACCJC revisions submitted by the Council of Chief Librarians of the California Community Colleges” or as detailed and customized as one would like. The form does ask for the title of the respondent and college/organization represented, thus providing an opportunity for  institution-level support.

Library Journal’s Movers & Shakers 2014 — Change Agents

 Alicia Virtue, Electronic Services Librarian

The following is quoted directly from Library JournalTool Builder

Electronic services librarian Alicia Virtue’s unique perspective on websites, electronic resources, and teaching has led her to collaborate with other librarians, artists, and a database vendor to help users discover more at Santa Rosa Junior College’s (SRJC) two libraries. Her passion, says Virtue, is to “develop tools to make the best quality information available to students and instructors in the easiest way possible.”

Inspired by students writing papers about the library’s Doyle Art Collection, Virtue collaborated last summer with colleague Loretta Esparza to create grant-funded online “art enrichment zones” featuring some 80 artist video interviews, related books, biographies, and other materials to showcase the artwork. “Having an art historian sister, I know how much more enriching art is when someone helps guide you toward understanding the context and significance of a work,” says Virtue. QR codes next to artwork direct students to the online multimedia Art Talk. iPads are available for gallery visitors without smartphones.

Virtue often puts in 11 hours a day “troubleshooting, inventing, notifying, coding, innovating, and providing unbelievable services,” as she manages the library website, ILS, and databases, as well as teaches, says colleague Caitlin Downing. Her drive and dedication set her apart, says Kevin Leffew, a VP of field sales at EBSCO Information Services. Virtue helped EBSCO develop and test its new “Reading List Tool,” a plug-in that streamlines online classroom access to library resources and is now used at academic libraries worldwide.

According to Cherry Li-Bugg, dean of learning resources and educational technology at SRJC, Virtue has embraced both the idea of the libraries as a center for innovation for the region and has made them the campus technology leader by taking services for students into the 21st century.

Presented by the Council of Chief Librarians

Wednesday, April 23: (SOUTH) Ontario Doubletree Hotel   222 N Vineyard Ave, Ontario, CA 91764

Thursday, April 24: (NORTH)    Embassy Suites in Walnut Creek 1345 Treat Blvd, Walnut Creek, CA 94597

Schedule:

9:00 – 9:30      Registration

9:30 – 11:30    Power Searching: Techniques, Discovery, & New Trends in Search by Greg Notess

11:30-12:15     Lunch (provided by CCL)

12:15-1:30       Tips and Tricks to Improve Your Google Search Skills by Julian Prentice

1:40-2:45        Introducing “Guide on the Side” Active Learning Tutorials in Information Literacy Instruction  by Alicia Virtue

2:45-3:00         Conclusion

PRESENTERS:

Greg R. Notess is a writer, speaker, and consultant focusing on the Internet, online information resources, Web searching, and the search engine industry. He has been researching and covering Internet information resources since 1990. Greg is also a reference librarian and professor at Montana State University. Presentation Description: Power Searching: Techniques, Discovery, & New Trends in Search  Search is changing on the Web and in libraries. Learn new strategies for successful searching in discovery tools, graph search, and multimedia search. Explore the latest trends in search and their impact on teaching our users to search and our own searching.

Julian Prentice is a Search Quality Analyst on the Google Search Quality team. Her work focuses on keeping the search results full of quality sites and helping webmasters understand Google's quality guidelines. Prior to joining Google in 2010, Julian was an academic librarian and instructor at Chabot College and California State University East Bay.  Julian has a MLIS from University of California, Los Angeles and a bachelor's degree in Rhetoric from University of California, Berkeley. She's currently pursuing a Master of Science in Education, Option in Online Teaching and Learning at California State University, East Bay. Presentation Description:  Tips and Tricks to Improve Your Google Search Skills  Knowing how to find answers with Google is an important skill in today’s digital age. This talk will cover a range of Google search techniques and touch on Google’s search education initiatives which provides educational content for teachers and librarians to use in the classroom. Julian will also discuss how search engines work and how to better connect your patrons with the content you want them to find.

Alicia Virtue is the Electronic Services librarian at Santa Rosa Junior College with responsibility for the integrated library system, the library web presence, and database and discovery services. She teaches a six-week online course in information literacy.  Presentation Description:  Guide on the Side active learning tutorials provide a virtual coach that can lead students through the features of library research tools.  Developed by the University of Arizona Libraries, this open source tutorial software presents a wonderful opportunity for academic libraries to introduce interactivity into information literacy instruction.  This presentation will address how the guides were installed, developed, and integrated into the information literacy program of the Santa Rosa Junior College Libraries. Some pedagogical and instructional design aspects of guide development will be addressed, and deployment logistics, user testing, and guide troubleshooting measures will be shared.

Hello,

Thank you to everyone who attended the CCL Library Deans & Director’s meeting on March 6-7, 2014. We had many insightful speakers ranging from topic of “If Libraries Are So Essential for Student Learning and Student Success, Then Why Doesn’t Anyone Outside Libraries Know It?” to “What is the future of work? What skills are needed by employee? What is the future of education?”. These presentations were supplemented by presentations on the CCL Strategic Plan, ACCJC Update, and Chancellor’s Office reports. Most of the speaker’s  PowerPoint presentations are available on the CCL website, http://www.cclccc.org/

We received word from Dean LaBaron Woodyard that the much anticipated California Community College Student Library & Technology Engagement Survey will be administered via the Chancellor’s Office in Spring 2014. This survey is the direct outcome of a CCL pilot survey conducted in 2011, in which, five Colleges volunteered to trial the survey. The final report of the pilot survey is available at http://tinyurl.com/oey7mow .

As a follow-up to the CCL Library Leaders Meeting on March 6-7, 2014, we committed to providing the community a toolkit of resources to assist in building a response to ACCJC regarding the Standard revisions.  Information regarding CCL responses and recommendations to ACCJC and the PowerPoint slides from the CCL Library Leaders meeting can be view on our website http://www.cclccc.org/resources.html.

There are three major avenues for feedback to ACCJC

•        Institutional: This is the most powerful means of altering the revised Standards. The comment form asks “College affiliation or name of other organization you are representing”. It is critical that we work with our College Academic Senates, Accreditation Liaison Officer, and Vice-president’s to ensure our recommendations are included in the institutional response to ACCJC.

•        College: Your College’s Accreditation Liaison Officer and/or Vice-President of Instruction would be the typical conduit for this feedback. ACCJC specifically asks for institutions to give feedback. As stated on the ACCJC website and “We request that you publicize the information in this memo to your institution” and “College affiliation or name of other organization you are representing”.

•        Academic Senates: You can leverage the Resolution passed at the Fall 2013 State Academic Senate Plenary as a catalyst for a local Academic Senate Resolution endorsing the language and directing this be included in the institutions (College) feedback to ACCJC. Full-text of the State Academic Senate Resolution is at http://www.asccc.org/fall2013/resolutions. This could be used at the local college level to facilitate Academic Senates to pass resolutions regarding the Standard revisions and provide responses directly to ACCJC.

•        Constituent Group: The CCL official response is at http://tinyurl.com/q7qqc6l  and will be submitted to ACCJC in late March. Copies will be shared with the Chief Instructional Officer’s Executive Board and other connected groups.

•        Individual: Individual librarians are encouraged to submit the feedback form or make comments at any of the public hearings. You can use any of the resources mentioned to craft an individual response or simply use the CCL document as a template.

•        The locations of the public hearings are:

Monday, April 28, 2014                  Sylmar, California

Wednesday, April 30, 2014            Sacramento, California

It is important to have a presence at these meetings. There will be CCL Board member(s) at each of these meetings. However, it will be powerful to have individuals attend and speak as individuals, or as representatives of a college segment, i.e., department or Senate.

In a nutshell, our proposal strengthens the intent of the commission by adding that information competency is a goal within all courses, degree and certificate programs. Additionally, the library plays a key role in providing instruction on information literacy and research skills. The recommendation sharpens the standard's focus on the library and its instructional role and the vital connection of collaboration among faculty, library faculty, and administrators in curriculum development as it relates to information literacy and critical thinking.

We were dismayed to read that none of our input was incorporated into the draft revision.

Furthermore, the ACCJC draft Standards weaken, to the detriment of student learning, the criteria used in the 2002 Standards in regard to information literacy and access to library materials and services regardless of location or means of delivery by placing the standards now in that section IIC under Standard IIB (Student Services). This eliminates the unique significance of library and learning support services being comprised of both instructional and student service elements. It is critical to retain Library and Learning Support Services as an independent sub-standard.

This is a busy time and I appreciate everyone’s hard work and dedication on making the library community stronger, ensuring our voices are heard, and emphasizing our focus on student success, critical thinking, and literacy.

Best regards,

Tim