A review of the trends and issues affecting academic libraries in higher education from

ACRL Research Planning and Review Committee

Every other year, the ACRL Research Planning and Review Committee produces a document on top trends in higher education as they relate to academic librarianship. The 2016 Top Trends report discusses research data services, digital scholarship, collection assessment trends, content provider mergers, evidence of learning, new directions with the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy, altmetrics, emerging staff positions, and open educational resources.

Read the entire review at: http://crln.acrl.org/content/77/6/274.full

ACRL Keeping Up With… … is an online current awareness publication from the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) featuring concise briefs on trends in academic librarianship and higher education. Each edition focuses on a single issue.

Non-ACRL-members can sign up to receive this publication at the  email subscription page

The latest article from  Keeping Up With...

Cybersecurity, Usability, and Privacy  by Bohyun Kim

What is Cybersecurity?  Cybersecurity is a broad term. It refers to the activities, practices, and technology that keep computers, networks, programs, and data secure and protected from harmful activities such as unauthorized access, modification, or damage. We became familiar with this term, ‘cybersecurity,’ through the reports of recent security breaches at J.P Morgan, Target, Sony, Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield, to name a few. The government and higher education institutions are not an exception to cyberattacks. In 2015, the Office of Personnel Management of the U.S. Federal Government got hacked twice, and its sensitive data was stolen.[2]  In 2014, University of Maryland at College Park and Indiana University also suffered similar data breaches.

Read more at: http://www.ala.org/acrl/publications/keeping_up_with/cybersecurity

Contributed by Elizabeth Bowman, Library Director, Santa Barbara City College

At ALA Annual 2016, Orlando FL, there were some awesome presentations and rich conversations for and by community college librarians, and at least one major change effecting how all of us might teach and assess student learning.

1.  OER PROGRAM PRESENTED BY CJCLS

The Community and Junior College Library Section (CJCLS) of ACRL sponsored an excellent and well-attended program at the 2016 ALA Annual Conference in Orlando, FL  titled "Academic Libraries Open Educational Resources: Developing Partnerships."

Moderated by Robert Kelly, Coordinator of Library Services, Hutchinson Community College, the panelists included Heather Blicher, Online Learning Librarian, Northern Virginia Community College Extended Learning Institute, Jeremy Smith, Digital Projects Manager in Scholarly Communication, University of Massachusetts Amherst, and John Shoppert, Director of Library Services, Columbia Gorge Community College (OR)

Starting with an overview about Open Educational Resources, the presentations covered the development of OER materials, challenges, opportunities, assessment methods, as well as providing many examples of state, regional, and national initiatives.

A similar program has been proposed for ACRL 2017 in Baltimore so stay posted for that

2.  'HOT TOPICS' FOR COMMUNITY COLLEGE LIBRARIES

CJCLS also offered a "Hot Topics" Discussion which involved 20 librarians from 10 states.  The range of topics discussed were credit-bearing information literacy courses, showing the value of libraries within our institutions (tracking students use of services, forming committees, information literacy courses requested by faculty (but not supportable by small staffs). Key issues for librarians were retention and completion rates for students and the library's role in this, the role and value of librarians to faculty, the new Framework for Information Literacy.

3.  MT. SAC LIBRARIAN PRESENTS!

A presentation titles "Collections at the Crossroads: Revising and Re-Envisioning the Core Subject Collection" featured Chisato Uyeki, Collection Development Librarian, Mt. San Antonio College, who offered strategies for effective collection development in any college, as well as specific criteria and tools that are valuable to community colleges collection management and planning.  One excellent take-away: the annual University Press Books for Public and Secondary School Libraries list - despite its title - is an excellent resource for community college libraries, particularly those using Dewey classification.

4. SCHOLARSHIP FOR ATTENDANCE AT ACRL 2017 OFFERED TO COMMUNITY COLLEGE LIBRARI

Various committees of CJCLS met during the conference. Among the decisions made, a scholarship for attendance at ACRL 2017 will be offered to a CJCLS member.  Watch the social media outlets and CJCLS listserv for more.

5. COMMUNITY COLLEGE SOCIAL MEDIA

Speaking of national community college social media, if you don't already, follow and contribute to:

Community & Junior College Libraries blog

CJCLS Facebook page

6. STANDARDS AND FRAMEWORK

During conference, ACRL announced the rescinding of the Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education (2000).  Much discussion ensued in listservs -- particularly over the role of the Standards within institutional outcomes and accreditation -- and more is anticipated. Community college librarians have a significant role to play in this discussion.

A Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education Sandbox is being developed for a Fall 2016 launch, intended as an open access database for librarians and other academic partners to share, organize, and archive educational resources related to the use of the Framework in practice and professional development. More information about the Sandbox can be learned by contacting Sharon Mader, Visiting Program Officer for Information Literacy, smader@ala.org, 800-545-2433 x5241.

7. TASK FORCE ON COMMUNITY COLLEGE ENGAGEMENT IN ACRL

A task force has been established by the ACRL board to discern the needs of community college libraries within the national organization, and how ACRL can support those needs. The Community College Engagement Task Force met for the first time at ALA Annual 2016 and plans to survey community college librarians across the nation.  Please watch your email for that survey this fall and offer your opinions.

Enjoy a peek back at the programs, award celebrations, exhibits, speakers, preconferences, conversations, networking, and social events enjoyed

at the 2016 ALA Annual Conference & Exhibition in Orlando.

Start reading now!

Download or view the retrospective Highlights issue of Cognotes—the meeting’s official newspaper—in your preferred format:

• View the interactive version
• View the mobile version
• View the accessible version
• Download a PDF

TOP TECH TRENDS – 2016 ANNUAL ALA MEETING, ORLANDO 

“The panel assembled by ALA’s Library Information Technology Association (LITA) for its Top Tech Trends predictions on Sunday afternoon had its work cut out for it. Not only was it the division’s 50th anniversary, but moderator Maurice Coleman, tech trainer at Harford County (Md.) Library, put panelists through a lightning pace with questions worthy of the McLaughlin Group”

Program Recap

• Summary from American Libraries Magazine
• 2016 Annual Top Tech Trends Program Transcript

Panelists

• Maurice Coleman (Moderator) @baldgeekinmd
• Blake Carver @blakesterz
• Lauren Comito @librariancraftr
• Laura Costello @lacreads
• Carolyn Coulter @ccoulter
• Nick Grove @nickgrove15

Allan Hancock College Library welcomed new full-time librarian Trevor Passage, who replaces happy retiree Leslie Mosson.

Fall will be a busy time at AHC as we welcome the visiting team from ACCJC in September, followed by a creative Makerspace event in October. Loads of wonderful new materials, including a literature collection donated in memory of Dr. Frances Conn (former Vice President of Academic Affairs) greeted fall students. The library has also benefitted from the U.S. Department of Education Title V "AIM" grant. The grant focuses on helping students transition from noncredit ESL and basic skills to credit courses and ultimately certificates, degrees and/or transfer. The AIM grant has purchased many library materials designed to aid students improve their English, math and other skills.

Mari Pongkhamsing is the newest hourly librarian at Berkeley City College.  She comes from San Leandro Public Library.

Dr. Luozhu Cen, Dean of Student Learning for Library Services, Foreign Languages, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Sociocultural Studies, Study Abroad, and Technology Mediated Instruction, retired at the end of July, 2016.

Luozhu:

After having been an educator, a reference librarian, and a college administrator for a combined total of over 30 years, I decided to retire at the end of July, 2016.

I am deeply appreciative of the wonderful opportunities and the good fortune I had throughout my productive and exceedingly rewarding career. It has been such an honor and privilege to have worked with so many incredibly talented and dedicated individuals over the span of more than three decades. Some of them have been my mentors and a number of them have become my close friends, including my former school teachers, university professors, and professional colleagues in three different countries, namely, China, England, and the US.

I was born and brought up in a small village in Zhejiang Province in southern China and received my undergraduate education from Hangzhou University which was later amalgamated with Zhejiang University in Hangzhou City. In 1976, I was one of the 15 students selected by the Chinese Ministry of Education from all over China to send to England to study for two years. It was truly a transformative experience for me that changed my life forever because I met a man I fell deeply in love with and we got married one year after I returned to China. Forty years later, we are still crazy about each other. So I have good reasons to be grateful for the remarkable two-year experience in England from both the perspective of educational training and personal gain.

Another major turning point in my life was 1987 when I came to the US to join my husband and to pursue my MA in Library Science and Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration and Librarianship from the State University of New York at Buffalo, where I also worked in two of its libraries. After I moved to Chico, California in 1993, I worked as a part-time librarian at California State University Chico. I joined Butte College as an Associate Reference Librarian in 1996 and accepted a full-time Reference Librarian position in 1999. Butte College is a very enjoyable place to work and I found the reference librarian’s job very gratifying. In 2004, I assumed the Director of Library Services position at Butte College. A few years after that, I first became the Associate Dean and then Dean of Student Learning. Although my responsibilities expanded beyond the library services, my passion for library services has intensified over the years. I care deeply about the library and the invaluable and indispensable services the library provides to students, faculty and staff. It is my conviction that all educational institutions need to have a high quality library with a dedicated professional staff to support and enhance student success.

The hardest part of making the decision to enter my golden years was the thought that I had to say goodbye to the wonderful people I worked with at Butte College. However, I very much look forward to spending more time with my family, especially my new born granddaughter, Naomi. I now will also have time to do fun things such as travel, reading, writing, and volunteering. I am so fortunate to be blessed with a happy family and many good friends who are the essential ingredients of a happy life.

started her new position Spring 2015 semester.

Registration available at the CCLCCC.ORG website

Locations:

South: Ontario

Sheraton Ontario Airport Hotel, 429 North Vineyard Ave, Ontario

Wednesday, 10/19              9:00 to 3:00

North: Oakland

Marriott Oakland City Center, 1001 Broadway (12th & Broadway), Oakland
Thursday, 10/20       9:00 to 3:00

Description:

“Evolution of Library Assessment at Austin Community College”

Assessment is rarely tracked through one product alone. Austin Community College Library Services (ACC LS) has moved from a paper-based system to a collection of cloud-based services, and continues to refine their statistics-keeping processes.

This workshop focuses on the Assessment products used by ACC LS and highlights the ways that libraries can streamline, collect, and present their statistics to accrediting agencies and College administrations.

Workshop Schedule:

8:00 to 9:00 Breakfast and Networking

9:00 to 12:00 Interactive Assessment workshop (led by Lola Crowling)

12:00 to 1:00 Lunch (provided by CCL)

1:00 to 2:30 Demonstrating the Impact of Library Services at your College (Discussion)

2:30 to 2:45 Closing and Evaluation

Lola Cowling is a Faculty Librarian/ Associate Professor at Austin Community College. She became the Library Services Assessment Coordinator for ACC Library Services in 2009.   She received her Master of Science in Information Studies at UT Austin in 2003. She co-presented  "Assessment Practices for College Libraries - Student Success; Student Engagement and Use" Lola Cowling and Julie Todaro, at the Texas Community College Teachers Educational Association 69th Annual Convention in 2016. Since 2009 she has helped streamline the assessment process, put a stop to the collection of superfluous statistics and done her part to keep Austin Weird.

June 2016 (submitted by Lisa Foley)

The main theme at our June 3^rd meeting at Yuba College was retirement and the question of how these positions would be replaced.

--Elena Heilman, solo librarian, from Yuba was expecting her second baby in August and would be taking a leave of absence for several months after the baby was born. She had her faculty librarian replacement James already trained and ready to take over, since he had already stepped in with her instructional duties while she served as Interim Dean last year.

-- Luo Zhu (Dean, Butte), Nancy Shephard (Dean of IT & Library, Siskyous), Sierra College, Patricia ?, Nevada County Campus in Grass Valley, and maybe Lisa Foley (Library Director, Lake Tahoe) had retirement dates this summer or early fall. (Lisa is still in negotiations regarding a retirement incentive for June 30^th; if negotiations aren’t successful, she will be on extended medical leave due to side effects of a concussion.) The LTCC contact person for CCL is the only fulltime staff member left, Jonathan Schank schank@ltcc.edu whom Lisa brought several years ago to a Northern California workshop on open source ILS options).

--While Siskiyous is fortunate to have a fulltime librarian, Jude Baldwin, in place, she is not at the Director or Dean level.  Lake Tahoe will no doubt cut costs by eliminating the Director position, then wait a year with occasional adjunct backfill, before hiring an instructional librarian. Downgrading the position of the college’s chief librarian clearly weakens our libraries overall. Is there anything the CCL Exec can do to reverse this trend?

Will Breitbach (Shasta), Dena Martin (Woodland), and John Taylor (Lassen) gave presentations on how to make Canvas more library-friendly to faculty and students alike. I was shocked and saddened to learn that Canvas had no built-in library menu icon. How could this have been neglected, I ask, with Pat James as Canvas lead?  Will had taken the time to design a home-made library icon in Shasta’s Canvas product, but why should each and every college need to reinvent this wheel we take for granted in a CMS!?!?

Will from Shasta reports that the statewide OEI project is moving slowly, with just a few courses passing the hurdles so far. Darryl from FRC reported that he was able to increase his book budget significantly this year and stabilize library staffing finally.

Lassen College Director John Taylor reports that the opening of their library was stalled until fall 2016. The new facility will house its collection on the ground floor with a collection of roughly 25,000 titles in compact shelving.

Dena Martin gave a presentation on how she uses the new ACRL Framework to document learning outcomes and has actually succeeded in getting a couple of Woodland non-library faculty interested in using the Framework themselves!

The NE Region thanks the CCL for providing lunch and the encouragement to meet, despite long, long distances.

On July 18, 2016 the South Coast group met for a regional lunch meeting.  Attendees had a productive time learning about each others’ libraries and colleges, and discussing relevant topics including statewide initiatives, regional collaborations, and new resources and tools (i.e. Canvas).  We look forward to getting the group together again in late fall!

City College of San Francisco (CCSF) is pleased to welcome new Dean of Library and Learning Resources Donna Reed.  Dr. Reed was previously the Director of Libraries at Portland Community College and is currently a delegate to OCLC’s Global Council.  She earned her PhD in Community College Leadership from Oregon State University.  An avid advocate for community college education, she is overjoyed to be able to serve at CCSF.

Within the past 18 months, CCSF has expanded library services offerings to the following centers: Evans, Civic Center and the SFO Airport, as well as the Ft. Mason site. The addition of these locations and a new subscription to QuestionPoint online reference are part of concerted effort to ensure the provision of equitable access to all CCSF students.

Lorrita Ford, Director of Library and Learning Services at College of San Mateo retired on June 30, 2016.  Prior to her appointment as library director at CSM in 2002, Lorrita library worked as bibliographic instruction librarian and acting interim director at Diablo Valley College Library and as Senior Librarian at Oakland Public Library.

Lorrita served as a regional representative on the governing board of the Council of Chief Librarians, Chair of the Clearinghouse on Library Instruction, and Chair of the UC Berkeley School of Library and Information Studies Alumni Association. She also served as a mentor for the Association of Research Libraries’ Initiative to Recruit a Diverse Workforce.

During her tenure at CSM she advocated for librarians and the library to become well integrated into the greater college community by becoming standing members of key institutional committees. She also fostered the introduction of dynamic public programming including Makerspace workshops and the Tool Lending Library.

Commentary:  It’s always been important to me that library staff be well integrated into the greater college community. It is crucial in order for us to figure out how we can be most effective in supporting the college’s overall mission and providing a good return on the personnel, resources, technology, and physical space invested in our purpose.

Among the things that have brought me the most satisfaction is supporting and mentoring new librarians. I’ve fostered an environment that promotes continuous learning, creativity, and collaboration across boundaries; everyone in the library, regardless of their job description, participated in problem solving.

It’s a good feeling to look back over the last fifteen years and see the all of good work that we have done. It’s nice to leave knowing that the Library is well respected in the field. I have confidence in the staff and know that they will continue to do great work in the future.

Nancy Shepard will be retiring from College of the Siskiyous October 7 after almost 24 years with the College.  She arrived in Siskiyou County in August 1991, following a spouse who came to teach Geology at the College, and hauling along two one-year olds.  Before coming to Siskiyou County, she was a Librarian at the Science & Engineering Library at Washington State University in Pullman.  At Siskiyous, she worked in the Library doing ILL for a few years before taking off on the wild chase that has become Distance Learning, first videoconferencing in 1997, and later, adding online classes.  When Dennis Freeman retired as Library Director in 2011, she was talked into administering the Library, keeping Distance Learning, and, a couple of years later, doing a stint overseeing Technology Services.  Now it’s time to move on to different wild chases, this time around and out of the country, as well as taking up more tame pursuits at home.  She will miss her colleagues at Siskiyous and around the state, but is also looking forward to a more leisurely pace of life.

Fall renewal forms will be available in the CCLC procurement system no later than October 1, and I will send a notification email to the official contact I have on file for colleges when their library’s forms are ready to access. The deadline for returning these signed forms to the CCLC office will be Friday, November 11^th.  Renewals are not conveyed to vendors automatically; while I will send reminders to those colleges for whom I have not received forms, after November 11th I will begin working with vendors on contracts and if your form was not sent to the League office I will not be renewing your library’s databases.  If you have difficulty accessing or printing out your renewal forms, please let me know and I’ll be happy to help.

New offers for the fall term are updated and are live on the Consortium web site.  Note that the deadline for placing any new orders is also November 11th, though we can usually prorate any new subscription to align with the League’s contract term.  This fall we are pleased to introduce five new offers to the CCL community:

n  ACLS Humanities EBooks

n  APA Style Central

n  Naxos Music Library

n  PolicyMap

n  Rittenhouse

To learn more about these offers, visit the consortium website at http://www.cclibraries.org and use the generic username (“cclibrary”) and password to access the current offer.  If you do not know the password to access the offer, feel free to send me an email.

For librarians interested in attending the 2016  Internet Librarian conference in Monterey on October 17-19, CCL has been given a discount code for registration.  That code may be accessed here: https://secure.infotoday.com/RegForms/internetlibrarian/?Priority=CCL16.

As always, if you have any questions, concerns, or suggestions for possible new database offers, please contact me.  Have a great fall semester!

At Cypress we have two new tenure track librarians who have started with us this fall 2016. Leslie Palmer and Angela Boyd have joined the Cypress College Library team as User Design (UX) Librarians.  We are excited for our new members and looking forward to the amazing new ideas and services they will bring to the students.

The DVC Library recently migrated to a new ILS (Sierra by Innovative Interfaces) and will soon adopt EBSCO's Discovery Service.  DVC now provides library users access to QuestionPoint, a 24/7 chat service.  Finally, the library received $10,000 in funding from the associated students for course reserve textbooks, plus an additional $10,000 in funding from a private donor.

Diablo Valley College and Oakland Unified School District Enter Partnership to Improve Library Services

Pleasant Hill, CA, September 12, 2016 - The Diablo Valley College Library has partnered with the Oakland Unified School District (OUSD) to help improve library services for students by training a cohort of district employees through DVC’s library technology certificate program. This 18-month program started in April 2016 and will run through 2017. The 17 students will complete one-third of the 19-unit degree program in October.

The goal is to strengthen Oakland school libraries by increasing the number of trained staff supporting libraries across the district.

This innovative partnership was spearheaded by Ann Gallagher, recently retired OUSD district librarian, Kari Hatch, Executive Director of Friends of the Oakland Public School Libraries with DVC library faculty Daniel Kiely and Andy Kivel.

According to a recent OUSD library study, “OUSD has the potential for 75 fully active libraries; however, one third are not functioning and another third have intermittent or reduced hours.” This program is one strategy, part of a wider effort, to improve and expand equitable library services throughout the district.

The partnership recognizes that school libraries are critical to students succeeding in reading, critical thinking, and the full range of 21^st century media literacies. The 2016 report, School Libraries Work!, (http://www.scholastic.com/slw2016/) details recent research supporting the important role and effectiveness of school libraries at all levels.

DVC’s longstanding library technology program prepares students for careers in a variety of library and information centers. Students study and practice all aspects of library operations and information management, in order to assist users in identifying, retrieving and organizing information. Recent graduates are working in diverse settings including UC Berkeley, Contra Costa County Public Library and Pixar Studios.

”This exciting collaboration directly meets our community college mission to offer programs that meet regional workforce and economic development needs,” commented Tina Dodson, DVC’s Director of Workforce Development. Graduates will be eligible to promote from clerk to library technician upon completion.

For more information on the partnership between DVC and OUSD, please contact Andy Kivel at akivel@dvc.edu or 925-969-2586.

Moon Ichinaga, Online Resources & Reference Librarian, and Alice Cornelio, Acquisitions & Collection Development Librarian, retired in Spring, 2016.

The El Camino College Library & Learning Resources Division rolled out the red carpet for New Student Welcome Day by developing a “Bokemon” tour of the facility and services.

New Year, New Members of the Committee

Greetings!  I am Norman Buchwald, Information Literacy and Technology Librarian from Chabot College, and new Chair of the CCL-EAR Committee.  I have served as the East Bay/San Francisco Representative on this committee from 2003-2009 and this last year as Chair Elect and now I have officially stepped in as Chair.

In addition, I am proud to say for the first time in quite a while, the committee has a full slate of current, active representatives.  New to the committee this year are Shelley Blackman, another CCL-EAR Veteran from Evergreen College (Vice Chair/Chair Elect), Jeff Karlsen from Sacramento City College (Northwest Region Rep.), Julian Prentice from City College of San Francisco (East Bay/San Francisco Rep.), Stephanie Rosenblatt from Cerritos College (South Coast Rep.) and Lauren Saslow from Los Angeles Pierce College (Los Angeles Rep.).

Also new for this year will be the style of our reviews as we make our eye for Charleston Advisor-like detail be more readable for your busy schedules, more effort for review teams to work on and writer reviews more interactively, and write more previews on new products that are coming down the pike.  We have also updated our vendor questionnaire and were delighted to get 100% responses from vendors for our currently planned upcoming reviews!

Accomplishments

Last May and June, the review team published three new reviews: a comprehensive review on JSTOR, our first review using our new style on CountryWatch, and the important comparison review that reveals our year-long exhaustive hard work on Discovery Systems.  These reviews should be found at: http://www.cclibraries.org/reviews/  Please take note that the Discovery Systems review team opted to not provide ratings or recommend one product over another but instead give what we believe is a fair review with deep scrutiny.

The Committee said goodbye to our hard working members who were termed out and/or had to rotate off: Darryl Swarm, past Chair, Elizabeth Horan, Southcoast Rep., and Rochelle Perez, Northwest Rep.  They worked very hard on key projects and provided lots of innovative feedback and I want all to give them a round of applause for their hard work and service.

Upcoming

The next CCL-EAR meeting will take place Thursday, September 15 and Friday, September 16 in Oakland.  If you would like to attend as a guest, please contact Norman Buchwald (nbuchwald@chabotcollege.edu) or James Wiser (jwiser@ccleague.org) on attending.  Guests slated to present before the committee include Sean Keegan from CCC Accessibility and Franny Lee and Tish Wagner from ProQuest/SIPX (Thursday) and Walter Bremer and Maggie Wligora from Cengage/Gale (Friday).  Reviews being planned to be written this Fall include: Comparison Review of Library Tutorials Subscriptions (ProQuest Research Companion, Credo Infolit Modules, Searchpath), a comprehensive review on SIPX and previews on three new consortium offers (ACLS Humanities eBooks, APA Style Central and Rittenhouse).  Swank Digital Campus has been postponed due to interface change but a preview on this product should come soon.

New Web Home for EAR

In May the CCL-EXEC board decided to consolidate the official records of the CCL EAR Committee with the primary location of the organizations’ records at http://www.cclccc.org/.  As of this week you will find our committee contact information, minutes, meetings calendar, and more at the CCLCCC website. Access to the minutes will continue to use the same username and password as in the past. One item soon to return is our Master Index of vendors we discuss at all of our meetings.   The CC Library Consortium website at http://www.cclibraries.org  will retain all our reviews for important and  essential reading paired with vendor offers from at the consortium website. 

Other Tidbits

The CCL-EAR Committee is currently establishing Universal Accessibility Checkers for determining accessibility and Section 508 compliancy in all our future reviews.  Last May, the Committee decided on WAVE and AC Checker but we may revise this decision with what OEI and other state-wide community college groups have concluded.

As Chair Elect, I did investigate trends in E-books which unfortunately are grim.  The quality and appropriateness of resources in the EBSCO and Proquest/Ebrary subscriptions appears to have gone down in the past couple of years, most notably the major pull from the ABC-CLIO publisher from the EBSCO product and ProQuest’s questionable addition of already seriously dated Kluwer/Lippincott titles in their product, and in general the inclusion and addition of questionable open access publishers such as Nova Science that appear in both vendors’ numerous products.  In addition, in this issue of Outlook, please read my article updating Gale’s questionable practice of selling E-books that have “suppressed text” particularly from the Greenhaven imprint and For Students series.  Also please read the long awaited response from the Gale vendor to both of my articles to get more perspective.

Finally, EBSCO removed the Ebooks that our committee and other participating California Community College librarians slated to be weeded (due to dated content) from the shared ten NetLibrary Ebook collections California Community Colleges perpetually own.  EBSCO removed the titles at the end of May, 2016, at a time where there was least disruption.

“Like most of us, who pay even a little attention to recent developments in technology, you're likely overwhelmed by the sheer amount of information and progress. With so much coming at us so fast, keeping up can be a challenge. Do some technologies deserve more attention than others? As part of the Emerging Tech Trends series, this webinar continues the exploration into emerging technology trends and tipping points, and how these trends are re-shaping library services. Join Laura Solomon as she explores what’s coming down the pike and what it might mean (or not) for libraries. We can't track everything, but we can pick out some patterns in what's happening around us.”

Series Information

Webinars are free of charge, you can pre-register by clicking on the Register Now button (at the top and bottom of this page). If registering with less than 30 MINUTES from the start of the webinar you can join directly from the thank you page by clicking the Join Now button. If you pre-registered you will receive an email with login link and a reminder email the day before the event.

• Infopeople webinars can be viewed on iOS devices. Adobe® Connect™ Mobile for iOS (link is external)
• Webinar archives are available within 24 hours or sooner

NOTE: INFOPEOPLE ARCHIVED WEBINARS ON A VARIETY OF TOPICS ARE AVAILABLE AT: https://infopeople.org/training/view/webinar/archived

WATCH THE MAIL -- END OF SEPTEMBER --  

FOR YOUR 2016-17 CCL MEMBERSHIP INVOICE!

Wow!  Close to 100% membership for last year! 

Thank you, thank you!  It tells the Board and officers that you value their efforts and ideas, and want more of those great workshops, the Annual Meeting, the purchasing consortium, and the presence at the state level.

This year's membership invoices will go into the mail at the end of September. 

 They are mailed to whomever your college has listed as the chief contact person in the CCL Directory.

Is your chief contact person listing correct?!  Please check your library profile at  http://cclccc.org/directory.php and be sure!

The cost remains the same: $150.00.   The continued receipt of the Leadership Grant from the Chancellor's Office means that CCL can continue to hold the line on this cost.

Over the past three months a number of listserv and blog references have been shared on the current topic of integrating the “Framework…” into the daily teaching and workflow interactions for academic librarians. What follows is a selection of such references and articles.

Cindi Tysick, Head of Educational Services at the University at Buffalo, shared seven newly-created infographic posters which visually represent the IL Framework concepts. (https://www.canva.com/sumerian2).

Updates from the Framework Advisory Board

The following post was written by Donna Witek, on behalf of the Framework Advisory Board (FAB). On June 27, 2016, the ACRL Board of Directors outlined next steps for professional development related to the Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. The purpose of this post is to share in more detail what the Framework for Information Literacy Advisory Board (FAB) has been working on to support librarians in using the Framework. The Update includes discussion of the WordPress Website, Discussion List, Framework Spotlight on Scholarship, Webcasts, Sandbox, and Toolkit. Read the full update here: https://goo.gl/lv9140

Imagineering the Framework to Enact Change  By, Kate L. Ganski, UW.Milwaukee Libraries  --  Here is my portion of the ALA 2016 panel presentation Imagineering the Framework: Implementing and Assessing Information Literacy Programs. Many thanks to Tim Gritten and Olga Nesi for partnering on this great opportunity.For my part of today’s talk I will address our first learning outcome: Provide leadership when strategizing with teachers, instructors, and other librarians to develop new practices to improve information literacy.I am connecting leadership with change because this resonates with my personal leadership philosophy. Good leaders are able to give direction during times of change or enact change when the status quo is no longer sustainable.So whether you or your team feels the Framework is causing the change (and thus you need to give direction) or you feel the Framework is an opportunity for change (and you want to enact it), I hope that you will be able to take away an actionable leadership idea from my talk today.  Read the entire talk at: https://goo.gl/KEb9ML

Spotlight on Scholarship article "Ideology and Critical Self-Reflection in Information Literacy Instruction" by Jessica Critten, published in last year's special theme issue of Communications in Information Literacy (CIL 9.2, 2015) that focuses on the Framework.  This article connects "critical self-reflection" in the Framework to critical information literacy by way of ideology, where critical examination of ideology--that of both the information and the researcher--deepens students' practice of information evaluation. The column, which includes a description and link to the article, can be accessed at this link: http://acrl.ala.org/framework/?p=282

Spotlight on Scholarship article "Exploring Creative Information Literacy Practices via Divergent Thinking" by Joseph Hartnett, published in the Journal of Creative Library Practice on April 12, 2016.This article offers a compelling example of a librarian being propelled into a line of inquiry in response to the Framework, focusing on ways to teach creative and divergent thinking in the search process.The column, which includes a description and link to the article, can be accessed at this link: http://acrl.ala.org/framework/?p=276

The September issue of College and Research Libraries News has a new column, "Perspectives on the Framework."  The September issue can be found here: http://crln.acrl.org/content/current  and the inaugural column, authored by Emily Drabinski, “Turning Inward: Reading the Framework through the six frames:”   http://crln.acrl.org/content/77/8/382.full.pdf+html Many thanks to SLILC’s past chair, Merinda Hensley as well as the ACRL SLILC members John Jackson, Elizabeth Galoozis, and Diane Fulkerson, and ACRL visiting program officer, Sharon Mader, for your vision, energy, talent, and time in getting this column off the ground. We’re looking forward to a great lineup of authors planned throughout the upcoming year. If you have any questions, or would like to suggest content, please feel free to contact me, or the content/column editors: crlnframework@gmail.com

The Information Literacy Assessment & Advocacy Project (ILAAP) has an information literacy assessment tool that can be used in your first and second year library instruction sessions.  The tool has been developed and tested at several post-secondary institutions in Alberta, Canada and is available for broad use.  To see a list of current and past users, check out our list of Participating Institutions. The ILAAP Assessment Tool is a customizable tool that responds to the unique needs of undergraduate information literacy instruction. The tool is web-based, offering multiple-choice and qualitative questions that have been mapped to the both the ACRL Standards and the Framework.  This is how it works: you select questions from a question pool that you wish to use in each session, tailoring the assessment tool to content delivered in specific sessions.  After you select the questions, we send you the URL to use after you teach.  Then, we send you a report summarizing the responses.

Valentin Macias, Reference and Student Programming Librarian. Valentin Macias was born and raised in Southern California. He received an MLIS from the University of Alabama, an M.A. in Education, a B.A. in Literature from UC Santa Cruz, and an A.A. and A.S. from Riverside City College. He worked as an adjunct librarian at Moreno Valley College, and directed the Westwood College – Inland Empire Campus library from 2015-2016. Prior to that, he experienced life as an academic instructor in various capacities in the Republic of Korea—having spent eight years teaching at Sungkyunkwan University in Seoul before repatriating back to the U.S. in early 2015. He likes to travel and photograph microfauna when there is time to spare

Golden West College has hired a new tenure-track full-time Librarian, Online Distance Education. Alana Krause has been an adjunct librarian at several local community colleges, including Golden West. She has past experience as the Systems Librarian at the Cerritos Public Library. She is looking forward to assisting the GWC Library with enhancing their online presence!

For librarians interested in attending the upcoming October 17-19 2016 Internet Librarian conference in Monterey, CCL has been given a discount code for registration.  That code may be accessed here: https://secure.infotoday.com/RegForms/internetlibrarian/?Priority=CCL16

Gabriella Lopez joined the Los Angeles Trade Technical College (LATTC) Library in February 2016 and was elected department chair effective July 1, 2016 for a three-year term. She is replacing outgoing library chair, Judith Samuel. Gabriella obtained her Master’s of Library and Information Science degree from San Jose State University in 2002. Prior to working at LATTC, she was a full time, tenured faculty member at East Los Angeles College. She oversaw the library operations at East Los Angeles College, South Gate Educational Center as the South Gate librarian. As a solo librarian at the satellite campus, Gabriella was involved handling a variety of library functions including cataloging, collection development, reference and instruction. She taught orientations and presented workshops on a regular basis. She also taught the Library Science 101 course at the ELAC main campus, at South Gate and online. Gabriella brings a wide range of experience as an instruction and reference librarian to her new administrative role. You can reach her via e-mail at lopezgm@lattc.edu

The Department of Architectural Technology has organized the groundbreaking exhibition, “Why Architecture Matters?”  A variety of student projects with models, including prize-winners are on display.  It is an amazing presentation of some of the work LA Trade Tech students do in this discipline. There are exhibits of neighborhood transformations, there are lattice models and a student’s winning entry in MWD’s sustainable project competition. The exhibit complements the contemporary architectural style of Mariposa Hall and is already attracting the attention of students. “Why Architecture Matters?” will continue through the fall semester.  Related events will be announced.

YiPing Wang is the new Instruction/Media Librarian at Laney College.  YiPingpreviously worked at San José State University where she served as the Engineering Liaison Librarian.

Librarians at Laney College received a Basic Skills Grant for $18,500 to conduct a Librarian Community of Practice during the 2016-17 academic year.  Following a model established by English and ESOL faculty, librarians will meet throughout the year to focus on three practices designed to improve information literacy instruction to students enrolled in pre-collegiate English and ESOL courses.  The practices are: 1) improving online presentation of library resources and information literacy concepts 2) integration of more active learning engagement techniques into one-shot library orientations and 3) development and vetting of a model for embedded librarians in college learning communities.

Dear CCL colleagues:

Happy Fall 2016! Each fall term brings renewed promise for students to begin a new academic year toward their educational goal. Their success requires their intentional dedication of time and effort, perhaps with a measure of personal sacrifice. They need the college library as a quiet sanctuary in which to become a new version of themselves, to self-integrate after experiencing the cognitive/affective dissonance that comes with learning new things, and to study with fellow students in a communal act of honoring the right to an education. They need us – librarians, staff, and administrators – to look out for their learning needs that the library satisfies and to improve the library as a place that dignifies the human need to grow.

For us, 2016-17 is also a new year in which we continue to labor on their behalf and to showcase the library’s role in making a difference for students. CCL Board members met in May and July to strengthen our organizational structure/operations; we focused on ways in which we can effectively implement our Strategic Plan, develop library leaders, and create opportunities for membership engagement and succession planning. CCL has a proud and productive history for decades, and it needs members to stay engaged and become future regional representatives, board members, and the next president of the board. The 2016-17 academic year is a year for maintaining our professional learning activities, such as the Fall Workshop on outcomes assessment (coming in October, more hands-on for members), the Spring Workshop on library facilities, and of course, our annual Deans and Directors’ meeting.

We will also continue to identify and assert the library’s role in state-wide initiatives such as the Online Education Initiative (OEI) and the Doing What Matters workforce development initiative. OEI has made huge strides in the state, with 91 colleges adopting Canvas, and many beyond the initial 24 pilot colleges have the benefit of online tools such as NetTutor 24x7 tutoring and VeriCite plagiarism detection. The idea of a state-wide Course Exchange is closer to becoming a reality, launching a first cross-college enrollment in the coming year, among eight Full Launch colleges. CCL has representatives (e.g., board members Will Breitbach of Shasta College and Alicia Virtue of Santa Rosa Junior College) in the OEI library workgroup to ensure the library module that will “live” inside Canvas has what CCL thinks it should have for distance education students. Another major initiative that should have library presence is Doing What Matters for workforce training. This $200 million initiative has four prongs:

• Give Priority for Jobs and the Economy
• Make Room for Jobs and the Economy
• Promote Student Success
• Innovate for Jobs and the Economy

One of the 25 Recommendations is “Student Success,” and of course, the library is central to student success. A closer inspection of the Strong Workforce Project Plan immediately reveals at least two in which the college library can be involved (emphasis mine):

1a. Provide resources for student support and career center services to raise the awareness of career planning and provide information to high school, adult education and community college students on labor market demand and earnings potential.

1.b Develop and implement common, effective career and educational planning tools for high school, adult education and community college counselors to provide detailed and comprehensive information, resources, and support on career awareness, preparation, and exploration; CTE pathway and education planning; workplace-readiness skills; work-based learning opportunities; and local and regional employer needs and job requirements.

But the plan does not have the word “library” in it. Yet. CCL should invite ourselves into that conversation, and our new Advocacy Committee will work on that and engage you in that effort. Perhaps one way is to participate in conferences like the 2016 CCCAOE Fall Conference (9/27-9/29 in Rancho Mirage). Another is to ask you to get invited to your college’s Career and Technical Education committee or workgroup and to ensure your college’s curriculum development/approval process identifies appropriate library materials to support every course, certificate, program, and transfer degree.

Beyond these two state-wide initiatives, the library should continue to figure prominently in Basic Skills and Student Equity Initiatives. The CCL website has examples of proposals for getting the library into these efforts. Please continue to share your proposals: we don’t need to reinvent the wheel!

Last but not least, a huge “thank you” to the 100+ library leaders who took the integrated library system (ILS) survey recently. The results show there is overwhelming affirmative support for a state-wide buy in the 2017-18 state budget. Your prompt response supports the CCL board to be ever-ready to jump at the opportunity, and we remain watchful for every chance to advance this worthy project. We will keep you informed.

Warm wishes for a great semester,

Meghan

Thursday, October 6, 2016, from noon - 3 p.m. Pacific Daylight Time  Register for free today

At the intersection of information, education, technology, and community, libraries and librarians are well-positioned to envision and shape the future. What are our brightest opportunities? How can we support our communities?

Explore some of the key trends that point toward specific futures for libraries, and engage in conversations with civic, social, and education innovators to learn more about their visions for libraries of the future. The Library 2.016: Libraries of the Future online mini-conference will bring our best thinking together. Join us for this free online event scheduled for Thursday, October 6, 2016.

The conference schedule will include keynote sessions and crowdsourced presentations. Presentation proposals are being accepted now through September 15, 2016. Slots are limited and may fill before the proposal deadline. View the call for proposals.

Confirmed Keynote Speakers:

• Nigel Jacob, Co-Founder, Boston Mayor's Office of New Urban Mechanics
• Jesus Gerena, Managing Partner, Family Independence Initiative
• Grif Peterson, Learning Lead, Peer 2 Peer University

Registration is free, and all registrants will receive links to view the recorded sessions. Register today!

The Library 2.0 Worldwide Virtual Conference series was co-founded by the San Jose State University School of Information (iSchool) in 2011. The iSchool offers several lifelong learning solutions delivered fully online for 21st century information professionals. For more information about the iSchool, please visit ischool.sjsu.edu.

Anthony Costa, Coordinator of Library Services at the Centers at City College of San Francisco attended the 2016 ALA Leading to the Future Leadership Institute

Report:

The American Library Association (ALA) held its fourth annual Leading to the Future Leadership Institute August 8-11, 2016 in Itasca, IL.  The Institute is a 4-day immersive leadership development program for current and aspiring library leaders.  Topics covered included leadership, vision and values, trust, communication, influence, community engagement, innovation, strategic planning, and change.  Most sessions were led by past ALA President Maureen Sullivan and leadership consultant Kathryn Deiss.  They shared their own experiences and provided some theoretical grounding for a rich and fruitful discussion among participants.  The participants consisted of more than 40 librarians from across the U.S. and Canada, from a variety of library backgrounds.  Besides myself, there were two other community college librarians, one from Texas and one from New Jersey.  Additional presenters included ALA Executive Director Keith Fiels and Miguel Figueroa from the ALA Center for the Future of Libraries.   More information is available at http://www.ala.org/transforminglibraries/ala-leadership-institute .

Having just completed a year-long Leading from the Middle Academy https://rpgroup.org/projects/leading-middle-academy, I was not new to leadership training but still looking for more perspectives on the intangibles of leadership.  I found the week-long institute well worthwhile.  As one might imagine, learning from my peers from other states was very informative.  I had little idea what community college libraries are like in other states.  Hearing some of the same issues helped to put our circumstances in a national context which is a rare opportunity.  Of particular value was the chance for us to practice peer coaching with small groups of other attendees.  We were able to coach each other on issues that often transcended geography and type of library such as transgender bathrooms, personnel management, institutional reorganization, cross-training, and managing relationships with community groups.

I would encourage others to consider participation in future institutes.  In my case, it was the CCL's Leadership Scholarship offer that initially got me thinking about attending.  I am grateful for the CCL supported opportunity to continue to develop my self-awareness and capabilities as a library leader.  Hopefully, CCL will continue this program to support other community college colleagues.

Elizabeth Bowman, Library Director at Santa Barbara City College attended the Leadership Institute for Academic Librarians @ Harvard Graduate School of Education

With generous support of the CCLCCC, I attended a week-long program for academic library leaders offered by the Harvard Graduate School of Education: Leadership Institute for Academic Librarians (LIAL).

In its published materials, LIAL shares these goals: “The program details important leadership concepts and applies them to the practical challenges of leading and managing the contemporary academic library. The curriculum addresses three areas — planning, organizational strategy and change, and transformational learning — with an overarching goal of increasing your leadership and management capacity.” There was a significant amount of pre-program work, from reading a textbook, creating a case study from one’s own leadership experience, and reviewing a number of library and non-library leadership case studies for analysis and discussion with Institute members.

Nearly one hundred librarians, from seven countries, participated in the 2016 Institute.

Attendees came from a broad spectrum of academic libraries, but all with the need to explore how to assess their own strengths and weaknesses as leaders and - particularly - to respond to change in their own institution and in the broader world of academic libraries and higher education in general.

Six faculty members and an able staff supported this work.  The topics covered were:

Leadership and Change Session Overview

Reframing Leadership, Diagnosing Organizations: The Four Frames

Leadership, Flexibility, and Change: Reframing Strategies for Action

When to Hold, When to Fold: A SURE Way to Transform Difficult Relationships

Leading and Planning in a Changing Context

Leadership, Vision, and Voice

Leadership and Strategy: Implications for Library Leaders

Opportunities and Challenges for Academic Libraries from Emerging Digital Media

Planning and Strategy Development: Embracing Change and Disruption

New Languages for Transformation: Diagnosing the Immunity to Change

Leading Planning and Strategy Processes in an Era of Disruptive Innovation, Transformation, and Organizational "Pivots"

On Becoming an Agent of Change

Leadership and Strategy: Implications for Library Leaders

The schedule and pace were fairly intense throughout the week, though we were provided tours of the Harvard campus, the Widener Library, and the User Experience Lab -- and a clambake! The week and the topics covered were divided among lecture, discussion, small group, paired, and independent work. The depth and breadth of the experience of the attendees made each of these learning modalities very rich.  Particularly helpful were the cohorts, created on the first day, each with nine attendees grouped to maximize collaboration between different types of institutions represented by the cohort members. This intimate group formed a strong bond and will continue to meet remotely, to discuss leadership issues we are working with on our campuses or within our own personal experiences.  All attendees left with a sense of, and many with a plan for, immediate and long-term professional and personal development.

Attending the LIAL was a career highlight; the coursework was challenging, participation in discussions was invigorating, and the personal discoveries were many - and sometime surprising.  It was also a pleasure to spend time with library colleagues with such great depth of skills, experience, and supportiveness to colleagues.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact me directly, or view the Institute’s website: https://www.gse.harvard.edu/ppe/program/leadership-institute-academic-librarians

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~-

Elizabeth Bowman, Library Director, Santa Barbara City College :

• bowmane@sbcc.edu

Anthony Costa, Coordinator of Library Services at the Centers at City College of San Francisco attended the 2016 ALA Leading to the Future Leadership Institute

Report:

The American Library Association (ALA) held its fourth annual Leading to the Future Leadership Institute August 8-11, 2016 in Itasca, IL.  The Institute is a 4-day immersive leadership development program for current and aspiring library leaders.  Topics covered included leadership, vision and values, trust, communication, influence, community engagement, innovation, strategic planning, and change.  Most sessions were led by past ALA President Maureen Sullivan and leadership consultant Kathryn Deiss.  They shared their own experiences and provided some theoretical grounding for a rich and fruitful discussion among participants.  The participants consisted of more than 40 librarians from across the U.S. and Canada, from a variety of library backgrounds.  Besides myself, there were two other community college librarians, one from Texas and one from New Jersey.  Additional presenters included ALA Executive Director Keith Fiels and Miguel Figueroa from the ALA Center for the Future of Libraries.   More information is available at http://www.ala.org/transforminglibraries/ala-leadership-institute .

Having just completed a year-long Leading from the Middle Academy https://rpgroup.org/projects/leading-middle-academy, I was not new to leadership training but still looking for more perspectives on the intangibles of leadership.  I found the week-long institute well worthwhile.  As one might imagine, learning from my peers from other states was very informative.  I had little idea what community college libraries are like in other states.  Hearing some of the same issues helped to put our circumstances in a national context which is a rare opportunity.  Of particular value was the chance for us to practice peer coaching with small groups of other attendees.  We were able to coach each other on issues that often transcended geography and type of library such as transgender bathrooms, personnel management, institutional reorganization, cross-training, and managing relationships with community groups.

I would encourage others to consider participation in future institutes.  In my case, it was the CCL's Leadership Scholarship offer that initially got me thinking about attending.  I am grateful for the CCL supported opportunity to continue to develop my self-awareness and capabilities as a library leader.  Hopefully, CCL will continue this program to support other community college colleagues.

New Chair of the Library Deparment: David Garza

“I’m an Angeleno and have studied and worked in the Los Angeles area all my life. I went to Cal State LA for a philosophy B.A. and UCLA for my library science Master’s.

My librarianship began as a student worker in the CSULA library, then in the library of the Los Angeles Times, where I worked in the database preparation section and briefly as a reference librarian. Academic librarianship followed with a few years at Loyola Marymount University, to where I’ve been for more than 15 years now: Los Angeles Mission College. Here at Mission I’ve worn very different hats: instructional librarian, circulation supervisor, cataloger, and now chair of the department. The campus and student body reward and enliven me daily, and I hope to build on the great work of our previous librarians.”

LYNDA.COM PROVIDED BY THE CCC CHANCELLOR’S OFFICE

@One Webinar (archived): The Professional Learning Network (PLN) Presents Lynda.com https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3t5ZFfw-Mk

The Professional Learning Network (PLN), supported by the Institutional Effectiveness Partnership Initiative (IEPI), is pleased to announce the availability of training provided by lynda.com for California Community College employees via the PLN website. Join us for a “Lynda.com Tips and Tricks” webinar.

The Professional Learning Network, supported by the Institutional Effectiveness Partnership Initative (IEPI), is now providing unlimited access to Lynda.com for all California Community College employees at no cost. Lynda.com is an online library of courses on software tools and skills. To learn more, we suggest that you watch the introductory movie about the service, and watch How to use Lynda.com.

Here are just a few of the benefits to using Lynda.com:

• Courses include a wide variety of technology and disciplines

• Up-to-date content helps to keep your skills current

• New courses are added every week

• Access to instructors’ exercise files let you follow along as you watch tutorials

• Closed captioning and searchable, timecoded transcripts for increased comprehension

• Beginner to advanced courses to learn at your level

• Watch complete courses or individual tutorials as you need them

To create a Lynda.com profile, navigate to the Learn Academy of the Professional Learning Network. Next, login or register (if you are a first-time user) then click on the link for Lynda.com.

Please note that if you have been a previous user of Lynda.com and would like to transfer your previous training history, playlists, and bookmarks, you must select “yes” when asked, “Are you a current or former member of Lynda.com?” In selecting yes, it will prompt you to type in your old username and password.

If you have any questions regarding signing up for Lynda.com through the Professional Learning Network, please contact support@prolearningnetwork.com.

Majority of Americans are still reading print books | Pew Research Center

Book Reading 2016:  A growing share of Americans are reading e-books on tablets and smartphones rather than dedicated e-readers, but print books remain much more popular than ebooks or audio books.

Even as the number of ways people spend their time has expanded, a Pew Research Center survey finds that the share of Americans who have read a book in the last 12 months (73%) has remained largely unchanged since 2012. And when people reach for a book, it is much more likely to be a traditional print book than a digital product. Fully 65% of Americans have read a print book in the last year, more than double the share that has read an e-book (28%) and more than four times the share that has consumed book content via audio book (14%). Full text at: http://www.pewinternet.org/2016/09/01/book-reading-2016/

Make the Academic Library a Safe Space…Literally | From the Bell Tower

By Steven Bell on September 6, 2016

As the guardians of a facility that welcomes all community members, academic librarians believe in the value of the library as a safe space. Keeping it safe, literally, takes effort. Knowing how to prepare and proceed can help.

…

If they choose to do so, academic librarians can be advocates on their own campuses to promote the library as a safe space for all students, as well as members of the public. As librarian educators, they can decide how to maintain the safety of library learning spaces. The nature of the conversation and the time of year have me thinking about another dimension of safety–making sure the academic library is a space that is free of crime and violence.

Read more here: http://goo.gl/9TZQje

Making Libraries Visible on the Web | The Digital Shift

By Ted Fons on August 12, 2016

In Library: An Unquiet History, historian and curatorial fellow for Harvard’s metaLAB Matthew Battles describes Melvil Dewey’s impatience with inefficiency in library work in the 1870s. “To Dewey, local interests and special needs were less important than the efficient movement of books into the hands of readers,” he writes.

That crisp statement of purpose should be an inspiration to the current discussions around making library collections and programs visible and available on the web.

A visitor to Libraryland looking at project websites, reading journals, and listening to conference  presentations might think that our only goal is to build new databases that use RDF triples and semantic web ontologies and express our frustration with some guy named Marc. There is clear passion for change, but we’d have to explain to our visitor that all of this technical activity has a genuine outcome in mind: to connect readers to the wide variety of collections and services that libraries offer, even when the user is starting from a search engine on the open web. The work to replace outdated methods of managing library metadata will allow more readers to connect to library collections and services more often, wherever they are searching.

Rachel Fewell, central library administrator for the Denver Public Library, describes it this way: “We are in an in-between world where we have two groups of people: [the] ones who already go to the library and the ones who never think about the library.”

Read more here: http://goo.gl/YU1TsH

We have new iPad Mini's available for in-library use, we have a well-attended book club (we are reading the Game of Thrones series) and we were just lauded at one of the top 15 McGraw Hill Education Access users for our use of Access Science.  All our CHEM 02A students come in for scheduled 3 hours instruction sessions and do an in-class assignment.  They start with finding a topic from a print periodical, researching it in AccessScience, Wikipedia, EBSCO and SIRS.  McGraw Hill will be provided snacks for our CRAM night at the end of Spring semester.

Nghiem Thai was hired as a full-time, tenure-track librarian in August.  He has worked for over a decade at Merritt, serving successively as a library technician, adjunct librarian, and department chair. Nghiem received his BA from Brown University and MLIS from San Jose State University.

Timothy Hackett is currently on a one-semester sabbatical leave to enroll, attend, and complete 18 units of graduate level coursework within the CSU East Bay Program Certificate in Online Teaching and Learning.

Merritt is in the process of hiring a permanent, full-time Principal Library Technician and will soon advertise a permanent, full-time Senior Library Technician position to cover evening and Saturday hours.

A lot is happening at Pasadena City College!

Graduation Since we haven’t had an Outlook issue for a while, we’re going back in time to PCC’s commencement ceremony in May where the Library was (as usual) the life of the party … and well prepared for a spring storm! The skies did clear and over 700 students walked in an impressive graduation ceremony.

Retirements Congratulations to Judy Ohye and Dorothy Potter on their retirements! Both librarians made significant contributions to the PCC over the past 16+ years. We wish them both well as they move on to their fabulous new adventures!

New Librarians  It is our pleasure to welcome our two new full time librarians, Lena Hicks and Kathryn McGuire!  Both librarians come to PCC with a wealth of experience and knowledge. We are very fortunate to have them join us, and look forward to the contributions they will make to our team, our students, and the college.

Because of these changes, some librarian roles are shifting at PCC. The Library’s staff directory on our new website reflects these changes, and includes updated/new contact information.

Library Certificate Programs  Twenty Library Digitization students received their Certificates of Completion on Aug 30, 2016. This is our 4^th cohort to complete the popular and growing program. http://www.pasadena.edu/library/classes-certificates/digitization-skills.php.

Summer Games  We had Pokemon in the Library (still do!) and fabulous participation in our Match a Library Book & Button drawing, which engaged students with our staff and library collection. (A chance to win a $50 gift card didn’t hurt either!)  https://www.facebook.com/shatfordlibrary/posts

Laptop Vending  Our laptop vending machine in up and running!  Students love the increased access – especially the ability to check out a laptop without waiting in long service-desk lines.  We have a 30-bay unit with 12 Macs and 18 PCs.  The implementation and maintenance does require work and oversight (definitely not plug and play), but overall an excellent use of equity funds.

Equity

In addition to the above, Equity funds for the Library covered an additional 60 laptops, several Proquest databases, book scanners, color printing, wireless printing, and extended library hours throughout the year.

Pathways

The Library is an integral part of the College’s highly regarded First Year Pathways program. We are gearing up to work with the 2,300 students who just started the required College 1 course. The course integrates four online information literacy modules (in Canvas), which include assessments and reflections, plus all students attend a 1.5-hour in-person information literacy session.  Needless to say, we are strategizing how the library can best support the Pathways program as it continues to grow exponentially.

Pierce is participating, for the second year,  in One Book One Campus (OBOC). Our selection this year is I am Malala.  Participation has grown this year with a variety of classes incorporating the book into their curriculum. There are a number of events planned to enrich the experience, including an exhibit, movie screenings, and discussion panels. Details and information can be found on our website, http://library.piercecollege.edu/onebook

1. Saddleback College Library received approval and funding to digitize the college newspaper, The Lariat. The digitized college newspaper will be the foundation of the Saddleback College Digital Archive. Many foundational materials (accreditation reports, budgets, etc.) in the Library collection will be added to the digital archive.

1. This semester the Library is fortunate to have Marie Ingram, an intern from SJSU’s iSchool. Ms. Ingram is learning about community college librarianship and providing support to the digitization project and researching information competency/literacy in the community college system.This fall, Saddleback College Library hired Alicia Zach, as the Online Learning Librarian. Alicia has worked as an adjunct for Saddleback since 2012 and has been with the Orange County Public Library system since 2006. Alicia brings a wealth of professional library experiences including online teaching and she has secured grants that use technology to build services for the public.

1. In a recent exchange on cjc-listserv, a request was made for visuals, or a video of a recently built, state-of-the-art community college library building.

A response from Elizabeth Horan directed readers to a video available on the renovation of the Saddleback College Library at: https://vimeo.com/59597303

Joseph King, Public Services Librarian at San Jose City College Library, retired in June 2016 after 25 years of committed and active service to SJCC and to the profession of librarianship.

In July, San Jose City College welcomed Dr. Susan Hines as Dean of Library, Learning Resources, and Distance Education.  Previously, she was the Associate Vice President of Teaching & Learning Technologies at Chadron State College in Nebraska.  She holds a Ph.D in English Literature from Georgia State University.

CCL Promotes Library Presence in Canvas

Two Santa Rosa Junior College librarians, Phyllis Usina and Erin Daniels, have received CCL support to identify ways commonly available library services and resources can be integrated into the Canvas Course Management System.  This project will explore ways to incorporate LibGuides and search widgets, as well as to establish instructional paths for active librarian participation. It will include implementation actions that librarians can share with college faculty, IT, and Distance Ed stakeholders. 

Scientific American: Special Report “The Top 10 Emerging Technologies of 2016”   “These  articles are part of a special report on the Top 10 Emerging Technologies of 2016 produced by the World Economic Forum. The list, compiled by the Forum’s Meta-Council on Emerging Technologies, highlights technological advances its members, including Scientific American Editor in Chief Mariette DiChristina, believe have the power to improve lives, transform industries and safeguard the planet. It also provides an opportunity to debate any human, societal, economic or environmental risks and concerns that the technologies may pose prior to widespread adoption.”

• We hired a long term temp FT librarian, Halley Little, to work with us this year. We are hopeful we can replace this position permanently in 17/18.
• Our library website was redesigned this summer and, despite some hiccups, we are excited about the change!
• We are continuing with our Intellectual Salon series, provocative conversations facilitated by a faculty member that take place once a month in the early afternoon in the library. Last year our theme was “Time” and this year it is “Love”.

We’ve moved from Midwest to YBP for our book acquisitions.

The Skyline College Library is directly contributing to the college's promise to help students "Get in, Get through, and Get out...on time!" by implementing a lending library for Skyline College Promise Scholarship recipients.

The lending library includes textbooks, calculators, and other required course materials. Funding was attained from a District-level grant to the college. The Library has loaned over 600 items to approximately 100 students in the first few weeks of fall semester 2016.

More information on the Skyline College Promise is available at the college website: http://www.skylinecollege.edu/promise.

Deborah Farber and Parisa Samaie join the LASC Library Staff--Los Angeles Southwest College adds two new full-time tenure-track faculty librarian positions.

Deborah Farber received her BA in Liberal Arts from California Lutheran University and her Master’s degree in Library & Information Science from San Jose State University.  Deborah is also a 2009 graduate of the Project MATCH internship program. Prior to joining the library faculty at Los Angeles Southwest College, Deborah was the solo librarian at Casa Loma College, a non-profit, private vocational nursing and allied health school with campuses in Van Nuys and Anaheim. She co-established library policies and procedures and presented orientations and workshops. In addition, she established DOCLINE membership for the college and served as Liaison with the Physical Therapist Assistant Program. Deborah is active in the profession and has served two terms on ACRL’s Community and Junior College Libraries’ Membership and Communications Committee and co-authored the program proposal for the Community and Junior College Libraries section: “Academic Libraries and Open Educational Resources : developing partnerships”.

When Deborah is not at the library, she enjoys Zumba, yoga and journaling.

Parisa Samaie received her BA from California State University, Long Beach with a major in Sociology and received her Master’s Degree in Library & Information Science from University of California, Los Angeles.

For the past 8 years, Parisa worked as a solo librarian at Koch-Young Resource Center library in Los Angeles, where her main duties included reference transaction, collection development, cataloging and activities for children with special needs. She also worked as adjunct librarian at Long Beach City College and El Camino Community College for the past 3 years, where she was responsible for reference services and instruction of library orientations. Parisa will be presenting this fall at the CLA in Sacramento. She enjoys walking, reading, and blogging in her free time.

The Digital Shift: The Service Continuum is a free virtual conference:

On October 19, 2016, Library Journal, School Library Journal, and

thousands of library professionals from around the world will come together to explore emerging technologies, exciting service models, innovative programming, new ways of sparking learning and engagement, and the evolving publishing ecosystem

The Digital Shift: The Service Continuum will deliver the most relevant and up-to-the-minute information and will provide actionable answers to some of the biggest questions you are facing. This full-day virtual conference will feature a variety of sessions focused on academic libraries

4 Content Tracks

•     Libraries in the Life Cycle

•     Hyperlocal to Global

•     Fast Learning Presentations

•     Poster Sessions: Best Practices from the Field, Curated by Sponsors

Description:  http://goo.gl/dWiOMG

Register here:  http://goo.gl/zKroOn

The Suppression Continues — GVRL Four Years Later by Norman Buchwald, Information Literacy and Technology Librarian, Chabot College

March 17, 2016   In the May 2012 issue of CCL Outlook, I wrote an article describing that some of the E-books that Gale sells in their Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) platform are not 100% full-text.

Read the original article “What! GVRL Text Suppression” /sites/default/files/reviews/Documents/GVRLtextsuppression5_12.pdf 

There were 27 series, each having at least 15 instances of significant blocks of text missing. When found in a search result, the E-book article included the following message: “This text has been suppressed due to author restrictions.” …  

Read the update to this report “The Suppression Continues” at: /sites/default/files/reviews/Documents/TheSuppressionContinues.pdf  

Read the Gale response : Statement to Council of Chief Librarians re: article on content suppression within GVRL. Gale appreciates CCL’s important reviews of products and wants to take the opportunity to provide background, clarity and context on content within Gale Virtual Reference Library(GVRL), our ebook platform. Through GVRL, Gale strives to publish eBooks that include every word and image that appear in the print version of our titles.  As more customers and users transition from print to electronic reference collections, this is an important priority for the company. Gale has been working to improve our licensing and publishing processes and as a result, we have reduced the incidence of content suppressions by 93% over the past four years. Today, just 2.4% of the total titles loaded to our platform since 2012 contain suppressed content.

Read the entire Gale comment here: /sites/default/files/reviews/Documents/GaleGVRLResponseMay2016.pdf 

Adam Murray, Ashley Ireland, and Jana Hackathorn. "The Value of Academic Libraries: Library Services as a Predictor of Student Retention." Abstract | Full Text (PDF).

This study examined the predictive relationship between library use by individual students and their retention status in university settings. The methodology builds on a small number of previous studies to examine library use at the individual level to determine if use of specific library services is predictive of retention for freshmen and sophomores. Binary logistic regression yielded results that indicate a strong positive predictive relationship between library use of any kind with both freshmen and sophomore retention. These results suggest that academic libraries add value to institutional retention efforts.

C&RL College & Research Libraries: September 2016 v.77, no.5

Ken Lee has assumed the duties of chair at the library.

What Were The CCL Executive Board Members Reading?

(contributed at the July 14 Board Retreat in Santa Barbara)

When Breath Becomes Air, by Dr. Paul Kalanithi  -- Meghan Chen (Mt San Antonio)

Redesigning America’s Community Colleges by Thomas R Bailey and Shanna Smith Jaggars -- Pearl Ly            (Skyline)

Freakonomics by Steven D Levitt and Stephen J Dubner -- Leslie Tirapelle (Pasadena)

What We See When We Read by Peter Mendelsund -- Paula Paggi  (LA Pierce)

Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life… by Cheryl Strayed Mary Catherine Oxford  (Sequoias)

What to Expect the First Year by Heidi Murkoff and Sharon Mazel -- James Wiser: (CC Libraries Consortium)

Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap…And Others Don’t by Jim Collins -- Luis Gonzalez  (Oxnard)

Louise’s War by Sarah Shaber  -- Dan Crump (American River)

The Filter Bubble: How the New Personalized Web is Changing What We Read and How We Think by Eli Pariser -- Norman Buchwald (Chabot)

Rosalie Lightning: A Graphic Memoir by Tom Hart -- Matt Magnuson (West Hills Coalinga)

Oaks of California by Bruce Pavlik and Pamila Muick -- Carol Hutte (Chaffey)

Under the Stars: How America Fell In Love with Camping by Dan White -- Doug Achterman (Gavilan)

Mistaking Each Other For Ghosts  (Poetry) by Lawrence Raab -- Mark Stengel (Cuesta)

BiblioTech: Why Libraries Matter More Than Ever in the Age of Google by John Palfrey -- Kerry Kilber Rebman (Cuyamaca)

Silent Coup by Len Colodny  -- Evelyn Lord (Laney)

A Brief History of Seven Killings: A Novel by Marlon James -- Alicia Virtue (Santa Rosa)

Cibola Burn (The Expanse) by James S.A. Corey -- Kenley Neufeld (Santa Barbara)

The Ten Faces of Innovation: IDEO’s Strategies for Defeating the Devil’s Advocate and Driving Creativity Throughout by Tom Kelley and Jonathan Littman – Darryl Swarm   (Feather River)

The Sympathizer: A Novel by Viet Thanh Nguyen -- Johanna Bowen (editor CCL Outlook, Directory, and Web)

An Infopeople short format online course, October 18 - October 31, 2016

Are you a webmaster or blogger by accident or design? We all know that websites are a must for any library, and keeping them fresh and new is important. There are hundreds of widgets, or pieces of code, that can be inserted into a webpage or blog to improve viewer interactivity and provide useful tools for our online visitors.  In this course, learners will discover diverse utilities from calendars and chat widgets, to social media and database add-ons, along with instructions for how to use them.

Instructor: Rita Gavelis

Fee: $75 for those in the California library community, $150 for all others.

For a complete course description and to register go to https://infopeople.org/civicrm/event/info?reset=1&id=613