Contributed by Dan Crump (American River College) ASCCC Executive Committee,

SB 1052 and 1053 (passed by the Legislature last session) has received funding and the Open Education Resources Council, with three faculty members from each public higher education segment (CCC, CSU, UC) has begun work on the initial task outlined in SB 1052 – assembling a list of 50 lower division courses for which affordable, open source textbooks and related materials can be identified or developed.  For the text of the bills, go to

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/11-12/bill/sen/sb_1051-1100/sb_1052_bill_20120927_chaptered.pdf  and http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/11-12/bill/sen/sb_1051-1100/sb_1053_bill_20120927_chaptered.pdf

At their November meeting, the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges approved three grants with great impact---Online Education Initiative, Common Assessment Initiative, and Educational Planning Initiative.  There are steering committees for each of the initiatives and the ASCCC has appointed faculty to each of them.  For details of the grants, please refer to item 1.2 of the BOG Agenda packet---they are on pages labelled 18-21 in the document.

http://extranet.cccco.edu/Portals/1/ExecutiveOffice/Board/2013_agendas/november/1_2_contracts_grants.pdf

Finally, the ASCCC will be holding its Spring Plenary Session at the SFO Westin from April 10-12.  The preliminary program is on the ASCCC website at http://asccc.org/spring2014/spring-program.  We will also be having elections for the officers and several other positions on the Executive Committee.

LIBRARY AND LEARNING RESOURCES ADVISORY COMMITTEE (LLRAC)---reported by Dan Crump

The Annual Data Survey for the 2012-3 was sent out in mid-October and is now overdue---mea culpa, I haven’t finished mine yet!

The Committee now has appointments from all the constituent groups and hopes to have a meeting in February or March.

LITA's premier program on changes and advances in technology. Midwinter format consists of an informal roundtable discussion amongst library technology experts and thought leaders. The Video archive of the Midwinter Top Tech Trends can be found here: http://www.ala.org/lita/ttt

Get the ALA 2014 Midwinter Meeting highlights! You can download or view the Highlights issue of Cognotes in the most convenient format.

Looking for Midwinter meeting session handouts and slides?
If they're available, you’ll find them here in the Midwinter Meeting scheduler.

Amid Winter in Philadelphia by Ian Chant and Meredith Schwartz is a wrap up of top events and observations written for  Library Journal.  "Snow and cold presented transportation challenges in getting to Philadelphia for the American Library Association (ALA)’s 2014 Midwinter conference, leading some exhibitors to express disappointment in the light crowds on the exhibit floor, though ALA reports attendance of 12,207. This total tops those for recent Midwinters in San Diego, Dallas, and Seattle’s, but the growth came from more exhibitors themselves and exhibitor-invited complimentary attendees. Those hardy, or lucky, librarians that did make it got some good leads and found excitement in a number of places..." http://goo.gl/JFZLiu

Learning and Unlearning Habits of Mind  

"I attended ALA Midwinter last week and there was forum about the upcoming revisions to the ACRL Information Literacy Standards. There was a fair share of angst and anxiety expressed about the upcoming changes. The previous standards were focused on searching for, retrieving, and managing information, while the upcoming changes appear to take a more holistic approach. From the forum it sounds like there will be much more focus on things like metaliteracies, abilities/dispositions, and threshold concepts. These sound a bit different from what we’re used to, and the argument was made at the forum that we are replacing our library jargon with other disciplines’ jargon"... Full Posting Available Here

Marshall Breeding's slide show for his update on Industry, Systems and Discovery can be found at: http://goo.gl/LrjvFV

Notes provided by José Aguiñaga, CJCLS Chair
Regarding the CJCLS Executive Committee meeting, there was discussion of encouraging our colleagues across the country to submit program presentations for ACRL 2015 in Portland,  http://conference.acrl.org/program-pages-166.php

Another item of discussion, was having virtual meetings for Midwinter 2015 in Chicago.  Since traveling budgets may be limited for 2015 with three conferences (2 ALA's and ACRL).
The CJCLS Awards Committee was notifying the selected recipients of this year's program and leadership awards.  This year's award dinner will be on Friday, June 27th in Las Vegas.  Feel free to contact the co-chairs of the Awards Committee, David Wright (wrightd@surry.edu) or Beth Lander (blander@manor.edu) regarding the selected recipients of the CJCLS/EBSCO Program and Leadership Awards.

Regarding the ALA Annual Las Vegas conference, CJCLS and other ALA-related groups will be co-sponsoring the ACRL President's Program, which will be focused on financial literacy, http://www.ala.org/acrl/acrl-president-trevor-dawes-2013-14-presidential-initiative

One final item, David Wright and Mary Carr, have been representing community college libraries and librarians with the NCLR (National Council for Learning Resources: http://nclr.surry.edu/), a council of the AACC (American Association of Community Colleges).  They continue to advocate for community college libraries and librarians to join the NCLR as members.

College of the Sequoias (COS) has added a new full-time tenure track Information Competency Librarian position to start in the fall.  Recruitment is currently open: http://goo.gl/EPKXhC .  Beginning last semester, students will need to take a 1-unit LIBR class or Information Competency Test to graduate. COS also now has Information Competency as a GE requirement. Through a pledge from the COS Foundation to provide funds every semester, the library is making strides to improve our textbook and book collection. This summer, COS will be migrating to OCLC WMS.

We received a report that the trial password used for the consortium program announcement for EBSCO was posted on a public website.  Please ensure that any of the trials set up by the consortium are only shared internally with your faculty and are not posted on a public website. Many vendors are refusing to set up generic usernames and passwords and are instead limiting trials to IP addresses only.

EBSCO has made some changes in territories for their sales staff.  In Northern California  contact  Janeen Gieseke, Senior Account Representative, 800-653-2726 x2380, jgieseke@ebsco.com  In Southern California  contact Dave Watts, Senior Account Representative, 800-653-2726 x2503, dwatts@ebsco.com

We are in the middle of a two year increase in CQ Researcher prices. Expect to see a large increase in your CQ Researcher price this spring. Sage says this is necessary to bring our pricing in line with other groups.  We will not handle the CQ hosting fees this spring as they are unable to split hosting fees. Therefore, you will not have a hosting fee charge on your spring renewal form but we will have renewal pricing for any CQ products that are due for renewal.

The consortium is working on spring pricing and renewal forms. When your renewal form is ready, you will receive an email to check our procurement system.  To print the renewal form, your browser must be set to allow a pop up window. Please contact Sarah at sarahraley@ccleague.org if you have any questions about the procurement system.

Submitted by Smith (San Diego Mesa College), Committee Chair

The CCL-EAR Committee recently completed a comparison review of statistical databases (Rand, Statista, Statistical Abstract of the United States, and Data and Statistics from USA.gov), and one for nursing and health databases (EBSCO CINAHL Complete, EBSCO CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Gale Nursing Resource Center AND Nursing + Allied Health (sold as a bundle), OVID Nursing Database, ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source).  Both are posted on the CCLC website.  Anyone who has experience with these products is encouraged to post comments, suggestions, etc. on the review page.  Reviews currently in progress include Sharpe Online Reference, Ambrose Videos, and a review of upgraded Ebsco products (i.e. Premier and/or Complete versions for Academic Search, Business Source, and Masterfile).

The Committee will undertake a limited weeding project for the 10 shared collections from NetLibrary (Ebsco ebooks).  The draft policy will be posted on Earinfo when it is finalized.  Suggested titles for weeding will be limited to topics where timeliness is a concern (e.g. some health topics, career exam prep, etc.).  Librarians in the field will have an opportunity to suggest titles for possible deselection, the final list will be posted to Earinfo prior to any action taken, and there will be an appeal process.  Anyone interested in serving on the deselection team can contact Jean Smith or Sarah Raley.

As workloads increase and resources decrease, there may be times when the CCL-EAR Committee will need to call upon past members who are familiar with the Committee’s procedures and workflow to assist with reviews or other projects on an on-call basis.  Past members who are interested in serving in this capacity should contact Jean Smith or Sarah Raley.

As always, please send suggestions of databases you would like the Committee to consider to me (jesmith@sdccd.edu), to Consortium Director Sarah Raley (sarahraley@ccleague.org)  or to your regional representative (CCL-EAR Committee Roster).

The next face-to-face CCL-EAR Committee meeting will be May 1st (noon to 5pm) and 2^nd  (8am to 2pm) in San Jose (location TBA).  Guests are welcome; please notify Jean or Sarah if you would like to attend so meals can be provided.

It is the year of the horse. The spirit of the horse is recognized as making unremitting efforts to improve themselves. It is energetic, bright, warm-hearted, intelligent and able. I think is a good omen for us. We have much work to do regarding the ACCJC Standards revisions and other issues facing our community. However, working together we will make our voices heard and foster innovation.

I would like to encourage each library to send someone to the upcoming CCL Deans and Directors Meeting on March 6-7, 2014. This is the one time each year we have the opportunity to meet, connect, and confer with one another. We are extremely fortunate to have funding support one night of lodging at the Sacramento Sheraton and no registration fees for a representative from each College. I look forward to seeing you in March.

Since the last message in late November, most of my time has been devoted to ACCJC Standard revisions. I had the opportunity to address the ACCJC Commission at their January meeting. Several commissioners spoke to me during the break to ask questions regarding the items stated. This is positive. Below is a brief timeline up to this point in time and some important next steps.

• June 2012: Several Council of Chief Librarian Executive Board Members addressed the commission during public comments

• September 2012: Council of Chief Librarian submitted the attached input regarding the Standard revisions.

• November 2013: A resolution was passed by the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges. “Whereas, As of November 7, 2013, the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC) has drafted new Standards to replace the 2002 Standards without incorporating proposals given to the Commission from the Council of Chief Librarians, a group that represents librarians in the California Community Colleges, to strengthen the coordination of student learning among librarians, learning support staff, and discipline faculty;…”

• June 2013: Solicitation by ACCJC staff of preliminary draft was not extended to the library community (Council of Chief Librarians). This was a critical misstep leading to the situation in which a large segment of the field sees the ACCJC Commission as non-transparent and not wanting authentic feedback.

• January 2014: CCL President attends ACCJC Commission to read statement regarding Standard Revisions

Three public hearings will be held prior to April 30, 2014 (no dates/locations posted on ACCJC website) for oral and written input. Furthermore, individual can provide written comments using the comment form on the ACCJC website. http://www.accjc.org/

The most powerful feedback will be input received by member institutions (Colleges). The comment form asks “College affiliation or name of other organization you are representing”. An official response will be submitted by CCL; however, it is critical that we work with our College Academic Senates, Accreditation Liaison Officer, and Vice-president’s to ensure our recommendations are included in the institutional response to ACCJC.

Information regarding CCL responses and recommendations to ACCJC can be view on our website http://www.cclccc.org/resources.html and full-text of the State Academic Senate Resolution is at http://www.asccc.org/fall2013/resolutions. More information will be shared at the upcoming Deans and Director’s meeting in March and via the listserv.

In October, I attended the Telecommunications and Technology Advisory Committee meeting (TTAC). The meeting was devoted to the forthcoming State RFP’s for Online Education, Common Assessment, and Educational Planning. These initiatives have since been awarded to Foothill-DeAnza CCD (Online Ed), Butte-Glenn CCD (Assessment and Ed Planning). More details can be found on the Chancellor’s Office website http://extranet.cccco.edu/Divisions/TechResearchInfoSys/Telecom.aspx

Lastly, in addition to addressing issues that are placed at our door, the CCL Executive Board is diligently making progress on the strategic plan. Much work has been done to accomplish this year’s action steps. Please read the CCL Executive Board meeting minutes for greater detail.

All the best,

Tim

The Impact Survey is an online tool developed specifically for libraries that want to survey their community about public access technology services at the library, and how to improve those services to enable better patron outcomes.

The tool creates an “app-like” link to the survey that libraries can place on their public access computer terminals and their websites. Patrons take the survey. The library receives reports and analysis of their community’s responses, and also gets access to communications tools that can help them share the information with community leaders and decision makers.

Understanding a community’s unique technology needs is essential to providing patrons with the technology services they need. The Impact Survey asks patrons about how they use library technology services like computers, the Internet, digital content, training, as well as use in the following areas:

• Civic Engagement
• eGovernment
• Entrepreneurship
• Employment
• eCommerce
• Health & Wellness
• Education
• Social Inclusion

The Impact survey is FREE for libraries to use until July, 2014. Then, a nominal fee will be charged for the use of some features of the program. The fee will only go to support the maintenance and upkeep of the site. To learn more, please visit http://impactsurvey.org/

Impact Survey is a project of the University of Washington, with generous support from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

The archive at Infopeople includes a recent (January 29th 2014) video of  Absolutely Free (and Practically Unknown) Online Tools You Didn’t Know You Needed - An Overview  Presenter:  Laura Solomo

PROJECT INFORMATION LITERACY RESEARCH REPORT THE PASSAGE STUDIES December 5, 2013
From the Abstract: "This paper presents findings about the challenges today’s college freshmen face, and
the information-seeking strategies they develop, use, and adapt as they make the transition from
high school to college and begin to complete college-level research assignments. Included are
data from a comparative analysis of library resources in 30 US high school and 6 college and
university libraries; interviews with 35 first-term freshmen from 6 US colleges and universities;
and an online survey with 1,941 US high school and college student respondents. Findings
indicate a majority of freshmen find it difficult to effectively search academic library portals. To a
lesser extent, they struggle with reading and comprehending scholarly materials once they are
able to find them and have trouble figuring out faculty expectations for course research
assignments."

SLIS Student Research Journal (Volume 3, Issue 2, Article 2) has an interesting article on stereotypes and traits evidenced in Hollywood's portrayal of librarians.  From the conclusion:  "As the results in this paper have shown, there really has been little change in the image of the librarian in movies in the last 60 years. There is some movement though with the inclusion of technology in library scenes and the characterization of a librarian as a fashionable, regular young woman, like Emily in The Station Agent (2003). As more of
these progressive images are included in movies, the collective perception of the librarian will
begin to change. The tired portrayal of the stern countenance, the bun and spectacles, will be
replaced by a dynamic, engaging and real person…who just happens to be a librarian.

News from Trade Tech Library

• We have moved into our new Library in Mariposa Hall.
• We're excited to have two new librarians on board, Lauren McFall and Sally Romero.  Each has talents and skills that will add so much to our Library.
• 

A day in the sun awaits long-suffering librarians: The American Library Association (ALA) has approved the new Lemony Snicket Prize for Noble Librarians Faced With Adversity, proposed and funded by the “Series of Unfortunate Events” author himself, Daniel Handler.

The prize is designed to honor “a librarian who has faced adversity with integrity and dignity intact,” according to the award proposal. ALA council gave the prize a thumbs-up at the ALA Midwinter Meeting held in Philadelphia January 24-28, 2014.

The annual award—granted only if a suitable candidate is found—comes with a cash prize of $3,000 from Snicket’s book earnings, plus an additional $1,000 for travel expenses.  In addition, Snicket, will provide the winner with “an odd, symbolic object from his private stash” and “a certificate, which may or may not be suitable for framing.”

The deadline for applications is May 1. The winner will be announced at ALA’s Annual Conference in Las Vegas.

ALA’s online application can be found at: ala.org/awardsgrant/lemonysnicket

Strengthening Ties between Classroom Teaching & Academic Support Services

3CSN, the professional development branch of the CCCCO’s Basic Skills Initiative, has several LINKS 9 events scheduled this semester that will likely be of interest to those of you in California's community colleges.  Beyond the Classroom:  Strengthening Ties between Classroom Teaching and Academic Support Services, is scheduled for Friday, 2/21/2014 at Cerritos College, Friday, 2/28/2014 at San Jose City College, and Saturday, 3/22/2014 at Merced College. Representative effective practices, challenges, and opportunities for collaboration will be explored in three key academic support areas:

• libraries,
• peer-assisted learning, and
• noncredit.

This event has been scheduled at three locations to encourage broad participation. We hope to see you there.  College teams are encouraged to attend as this event is ideal for faculty (credit & non-credit), counselors, department chairs, program coordinators, BSI coordinators, deans, professional development leaders, learning center professionals and librarians.

We also have a link to the event flyer, which provides event details and the EventBrite registration links for all events. Please share this information with your campus colleagues and contact either one of us or your regional coordinator (see list below) if you have any questions.

John Koetzner shared this: I have a nice little story:  A former student worker, Robert Parmenter,  who worked for me my first couple of years at Mendocino College, attended UC Berkeley and took a B.A. in History , and then most recently got his MLIS at San Jose State University, has joined the Mendocino College Library as a Reference Librarian part-time. Robert is also part of the Mendocino County Library, working the Bookmobile. He’s looking forward to becoming a full-time librarian in an academic setting preferably. He’s getting experience where he started working just over a decade ago in fall 2003.  He appreciates the new pay scale too.

Modesto Junior College (MJC) moved into their newly-remodeled East campus Library & Learning Center on January 13, 2014. It is a wonderfully-synergistic center that combines research instruction and tools along with the academic services of tutoring, including a writing center, subject-specific tutoring, and supplemental instruction. Several group study rooms have been added and there are over 170 computers. One student commented, “The new library makes me feel proud to be an MJC student. It feels like a real university library.”

Staffing changes at MJC include, Brian Greene, a new full-time librarian who works in the West campus center handling research instruction, collection development, and liaison responsibilities; and Jillian Daly, a new Dean of Library & Learning Center and Literature & Language Arts. Before becoming dean, Jillian Daly was a tenured-faculty member of the Literature & Language Arts Division and the President of our Yosemite Faculty Association.

Both Columbia College and MJC are in the process of implementing OCLC’s WMS ILS.

The Shatford Library suffered a flood in late December. There was damage to all three floors of the library and over 1,800 books were permanently damaged. It would have been much worse if not for the quick response of Facilities, Campus Police, and the library staff – many of whom changed their holiday vacation plans to assist.  Facilities have repaired the water line and cosmetic damages, library staff are working hard on books on finding and acquiring replacement titles.

Mary Ann Laun (retired director from Pasadena)  is retiring yet again -- with no plans to continue picking up interim positions. For now she works with Infopeople as a consultant in the area of the Eureka program for librarian leadership development serving as a mentor for the last two years and now a grant monitor.  She also works on special projects as assigned such as the Library Leaders Memory Project which is conducting interviews of senior librarians in the field regarding their words of wisdom about their careers and leadership development. She  babysits her grandson Cosmo who just turned one this weekend!  What a joy he is!  She connects with people on Facebook as well as by email at maryannlaun@yahoo.com.

Live Webcast March 11, 2014  11 a.m. Pacific --- 90 minutes

Description: Precision Googling: Techniques to Extract Exactly What You Want from the Largest Search EngineGoogle changes its search interface and algorithms periodically, and knowing current and deprecated search functions will make your searching - and your patrons’ searching - faster and smarter. This interactive webcast will include a review of advanced search techniques, syntax, and operators; explanation of recent changes to the search interface; hands-on practice with advanced search operators and tools; and real-time exploration of and discussion of the algorithms that generate user-specific results.

Learning Outcomes:

• Participants will compile a list of search operators that are likely to be useful in developing future searches.
• Participants will compare search results in order to acquire a deeper understanding of how Google’s algorithms affect the results they see.
• Participants will utilize advanced search syntax in the basic search screen.

Presenter(s): Amanda Izenstark, Associate Professor, Reference & Instructional Design Librarian, University of Rhode Island

Technical Requirements: ACRL Webcasts are held in an Elluminate virtual classroom. Speakers or a headset for listening to the presentation are required. You may ask questions through text-based chat or a microphone.  You will be prompted to download a java-based application (Elluminate) before being able to enter the classroom.  Elluminate works on both PC and Macintosh platforms.  The minimum PC requirements are a Pentium II 266 Mhz with 64MB of memory and a sound card. The minimum Mac requirements are a G3 233 Mhz with 64MB of memory when using OS 9.0 - 9.2 or 128MB of memory when using OS X.

Tech Check: If you'd like to perform the Elluminate tech check on your computer, please go to:www.learningtimes.net/techcheckell.html.

Registration fees: ACRL member: $50 ALA member: $75 Nonmember: $90

Register For The Annual CCL Deans And Directors  Meeting

Thursday & Friday, March 6 & 7, 2014

Sheraton Grand Hotel

230 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

SAVE THE DATE:

CCL announces the Spring 2014 workshops for California Community College Librarians.Technology Tools:  Power Searching and Instructional Design

Ontario (South) Workshop on April 23

Walnut Creek (North) Workshop on April 24

Registration will open on the CCL Website after the Deans and Directors Meeting

My colleague Sheila Bonnand and I invite you to submit a proposal for a chapter in the upcoming book,Innovative Solutions for Building Community in Academic Libraries, that we are editing for IGI Global. This book will feature those innovative projects, both physical and digital, that inspire users to not just use but engage with their academic libraries. Possible topics for chapters include, but are not restricted to:

Building community through traditional instruction and liaison programs:

Building community online through web conferencing, tutorials, pathfinders, etc;

Value-added library services to meet technology and other emerging needs (workshops, partnerships with campus information technology, writing centers, etc.);

Social engagement (media);

Marketing/outreach efforts;

Activities and events;

Involving campus constituencies, such as student government;

Staying relevant as a physical space.

For full details and to submit a chapter proposal, go to http://www.igi-global.com/publish/call-for-papers/call-details/1254.Proposal submission deadline is February 28, 2014.

From the Tech Crunch Blog comes a rundown of interesting new Apps for Mobile devices. Of particular interest to librarians is the new Oyster (iOS only) subscription for Books App which follows the Netflix model of a montly fee that gets you unlimited reading access to about 100,000 titles. http://goo.gl/XsQb8z

Registration is now open for another UNCONFERENCE* for all California Community College Librarians [submitted by Elizabeth Bowman, Assistant Professor]
Saturday May 3 from 9:00am-4:00pm
Santa Barbara City College Luria Library 

This Unconference connects community college librarians from around California in a low-cost, high participation professional collaboration.  Attendees will collaborate online prior to the Unconference to identify community college librarianship topics they’re interested in presenting to the group or facilitating a discussion about. Everyone will be both teacher and learner.

1. Presentations that last 7 minutes with 5 minutes for questions/feedback. Presentations will either be about a project an attendee has done that they think other librarians would be interested in or an idea they have for a library-related project that they’d like feedback on (or to find possible collaboration between colleges) from the audience. There will be 2 of these sessions during the day.

 

2. Group discussions on topics that last 50 minutes. There will be 3-4 different discussion groups going on during each of three discussion periods. The goal is to allow everyone to contribute to the discussion.

Additional experiences: Recess! Improv! Good coffee! Beautiful views! Laughter!

Registration is free and will be taken on a first-come-first-served basis for up to 50 attendees. Organizers will help you find reduced motel rates and shared housing with local colleagues.

Follow the Unconference 2014 website for updates, information on how to register and collaborate.*What is an Unconference?
The ALA definition: “An unconference is a participant-guided experience that actually brings the unstructured conversations people usually have between conference sessions into the conference itself. Unlike most conferences where a group of leaders determine what will be discussed, the participants make those decisions at an unconference, and usually either on the day of the unconference or shortly before.”

West Hills College Coalinga hired Jessica Fernandez as new library technician in November.  Jessica is currently enrolled in the MLIS program at San Jose State.

The Yuba College Library / Learning Resources Center reopened on January 13, 2014 after two-and-a-half years of transition. The remodeled 44,262 sq ft building features include 9 group study rooms, a cyber lab with an increased number of computers from 50 to 80, a training center and a lab, power and data access throughout the building, and open and welcoming spaces both for collaboration and individual study. Students describe the new facility as "spacious," "quiet," and “beautiful.” The $14M project was funded 50/50 by the Measure J bond and the state of California. Now all three campuses at Yuba College (Clear Lake, Sutter, and Marysville) have had their libraries built or remodeled within the last two years.