CCL-EAR Wednesday Webinar

Greetings form the CCL-EAR committee! We hope that you were able to participate in the recent Wednesday Webinar where the CCL-EAR committee presented about the ongoing work of CCL-EAR committee reviewing databases with a California community college lens. As a standing committee of the Council of Chief Librarians, our charge is to review cooperative ventures for electronic information resources and databases. We are committed to doing this work with equity considerations in mind. Our reviews consider the content available on a platform, as well as accessibility, equity statements, representation among content area experts, and vendor responses to CCL values and concerns with respect to equity. The committee can bring DEIA issues to the attention of the vendors and our colleagues and advocate for increased representation of historically-underrepresented groups. Our in-depth reviews also review cost/affordability, usability, support, interoperability, privacy, and usage tracking.  In case you missed the webinar, the recording is now available.

New Review: O'Reilly for Higher Education

The CCL-EAR committee has a new Quick Look review ready for you.  The O’Reilly for Higher Education platform (formerly known as the Safari Tech Book Online) contains over 55,000 items including 45,000 eBooks, videos, and audiobooks. This database is included in the ProQuest offerings from the Community College League of California consortium. Topics include programming, data science, security, business, and design. The content is made available from O’Reilly Media Inc., and includes content from many publishers including Josey-Bass, Packt and the For Dummies series of e-books.  We found that this database is significantly more expensive than other eBooks subscriptions, and similar in price to some streaming media subscriptions. You can read the full O’Reilly for Higher Education review on the CCL-EAR website under reviews.

Continuing Weeding Process of the Shared NetLibrary E-book Collection

CCL-EAR has a continued commitment to ensuring that the shared NetLibrary E-book collection contains materials that are still relevant and useful. The committee has been piloting a new process for reviewing and weeding the shared NetLibrary collection. This process allows us to consider titles for removal on a more frequent basis from the shared collection. The good news is that Pawel Szponar, our network zone manager, is able to delete outdated titles at the network level, and then communicate directly with EBSCO to have them removed from the EBSCO database.

A common reason for suggesting that an e-book be weeded from the collection might be if the book contains outdated information or terminology. The form to suggest a title for deletion is located on the CCL-EAR website.

Requests may be submitted at any time, and the CCL-EAR will review the suggested deletions at their regularly scheduled meetings. In order to give the CCL-EAR committee members time to review suggestions, only titles received two weeks prior to the scheduled meeting will be considered at that meeting.  If you have titles that you like to suggest for weeding, we would ask that you submit them before April 15, 2024. Before any titles are deleted from the shared collection, the CCL-EAR chair will send out a list of the titles through the CCL listserv to allow member libraries the chance to review and appeal any specific titles that they think should be kept in the shared collection. 

If you have any suggestions for books that should be considered for deselection from the shared collection of over 27,000 titles, we invite you to submit them through a brief form. Thank you helping us to keep our shared e-book collection current and useful!

As always, please let me know if you have databases that you would like CCL-EAR to review. 

Dr. Nancy Golz
CCL-EAR, Chair
Faculty Librarian
Merced College
nancy.golz@mccd.edu

By Amy Beadle, Director

Please note the important dates below for the Library Consortium. Please do not submit pricing requests for July l starts between now and March 8th to allow vendors and staff to upload Fiscal Year renewals and new pricing.

*If you have an earlier funding deadline, want to start a new resource prior to July l or have any questions, please email Amy at abeadle@ccleague.org.

Library Consortium Important Spring Dates:

●March 8, 2024: Pricing available in ConsortiaManager
●March 27, 2024: ConsortiaManager overview and updates at the Wednesday Webinar
●May 3, 2024: Fiscal year (July 1) renewals due in ConsortiaManager

Play & Playfulness in Library Instruction

California Conference on Library Instruction

May 31, 2024 | University of San Francisco

In the environment of academic libraries, where there is pressure to be more standardized and efficient, we look for ways to engage and center students while being inclusive and equitable. How can we prepare students to think critically with information literacy instruction? Embracing play and playfulness in instruction is one strategy for building capacity in order to grapple with weighty topics. The act of play can make it possible to gain distance from reality in order to think past the constraints of life, and instead adapt to a task with curiosity and fresh perspective. Incorporating play simply for the sake of engagement is also worthwhile. CCLI seeks proposals about how librarians have utilized play in their instruction to solve information literacy challenges. Examples of the incorporation of play and playfulness into instruction could include games or gamification, creative prompts or scenarios, improv or theater, art or rapid drawing, storyboarding, zines, storytelling, and other multimodal approaches to motivate and create learning with students.

Electronic Resources & Libraries (E&RL) 19th Annual Conference
Austin, TX + Virtual
March 3-6, 2024

A²MEND 17th Annual Summit (African American Male Education Network and Development)
"Affirming Our Own Actions: Advocacy, Urgency, and Liberation"
Hyatt Regency LAX
March 6-8, 2024

CARL Conference 2024
"The Insufficient Librarian: How Justice Fills the Gaps in Our Practice"
San José, CA
April 3-6, 2024

2024 APAHE National Conference (Asian Pacific Americans in Higher Education)
"Radical Hope: Leading with Love, Courage, and Action"
The Marriott Oakland City Center
April 3-5, 2024

Council of Chief Librarians
CCL Annual Meeting (formerly Deans & Directors Meeting)
Sacramento, CA
March 14-15, 2024

California Conference on Library Instruction (CCLI) 2024
"Play & Playfulness in Library Instruction"
San Francisco, CA
May 31, 2024

Online Teaching Conference 2024
"Navigating the Digital Landscape: Setting the Course for Student Success"
Long Beach Convention Center
June 26-28, 2024

Cal OER 2024
Virtual
August 7-8, 2024

Have you created a LibGuide on Generative AI at your college? It will be very useful to see what colleges and districts are doing. Thank you!

Please send a link to your LibGuide to: pd@cclibrarians.org.

Elizabeth Bowman
Council of Chief Librarians LSP Program Manager/Professional Development Pilot Project Coordinator

Librarian Michelle Sánchez led webinar for the Lifelong Information Literacy Online Instruction Show & Tell Series titled "Two-Shots Instead of One: Using the Flipped Classroom to Teach Information Literacy," explaining the use of PlayPosit in a flipped classroom model to promote student engagement.

Webinar: Two-Shots Instead of One: Using the Flipped Classroom to Teach Information Literacy, Michelle Sánchez (she/her), Reference Librarian at Chaffey College, February 7, 2024 (presentation slides | recording)

Abstract

While college faculty reach out to their liaison librarians with requests to teach information literacy to their classes, librarians still face the challenge of presenting a large amount of content within a one-shot session of at most fifty minutes. As a result, students have difficulty absorbing the information and recalling what the librarian presented to them during the in-class session. Therefore, it is important that cognitive offload is done in order to help students retain the information being taught. Research on the flipped classroom model over the past five years has shown to be promising when it comes to engaging college students and getting them to remember such topics as developing search strategies, choosing appropriate databases, and how to find peer-reviewed articles. Having students watch a pre-made interactive tutorial that shows how to use specific research skills prepares them in advance for the hands-on practice that takes place during the librarian's scheduled in-person visit. In my proposed presentation, I will discuss my experience utilizing the flipped classroom model with a sociology research methods course. I will address the collaboration process with the requesting instructor, the creation of the interactive tutorial using PlayPosit, and student engagement with the tutorial and during the in-person follow-up class.

This pilot project is half-way done for the 2023-2024 academic year.  

How’s it working for you?

Introduced by CCL in September, a weekly email goes out to all CCL colleagues to offer information about professional development opportunities in addition to those offered by CCL. We look for a wide variety of choices, from brief vendor training sessions to long-term courses, in online and in-person formats.

Can you share your thoughts about the project so far? 

●    Are you seeing interesting offerings?
●    What other topics of interest you'd like to see in the future?
●    Are there professional development opportunities you regularly attend which are not yet listed?
●    Is there a different format or delivery that would work as well, or better, for you?

If you would like to look at opportunities previously shared, they are available in the CCLibrarians-All listserv archive in Google Groups. If you have staff or colleagues not yet on the listserv, please direct them to request to join.

You are welcome to give feedback now or throughout the year by emailing pd@cclibrarians.org.