FREE Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from San José State University (SJSU) School of Information, aims to explore the impact of new technologies while introducing participants to important issues, emerging trends, and the skills necessary to plan effectively for the future. As a participant, you will experience an interactive online learning environment via a wide range of tools and diverse materials (e.g., freely accessible readings, recorded presentations, and online videos), and you’ll have an opportunity to:

• Explore the current technological environment
• Become immersed in the literature and practices of current futurists
• Select appropriate resources to use in planning for new technologies
• Discuss key impact factors and trends affecting our personal and global existence
• Engage with peers and instructors, heightening their learning and taking full advantage of this professional development opportunity
• Earn badges and MOOC certification on completion of activities related to each of the modules

Sign Up Now  The “Emerging Future: Technology Issues and Trends” MOOC is open to everyone as a professional development opportunity. The MOOC does not offer academic credit. The class will run from Sept. 22, 2014 to Nov. 2, 2014. Participants will be registered on a first-come, first-served basis.

(Sponsored by the School of Library and Information Science at San Jose State University). The fourth annual global conversation about the future of libraries is scheduled for October 8-9, 2014. The conference will once again be held entirely online around the clock in multiple languages and time zones. Everyone is invited to participate in this free forum designed to foster collaboration and knowledge sharing among information professionals worldwide. This fully online, participatory conference presents a unique opportunity to showcase the excellent research and work that you do every day. How does your library manage digital collections? Is your library mobile friendly? Do you have a story to tell about maker spaces? Your participation as a presenter will steer the global conversation about the future of libraries. Learn more about participating in this great event at www.library20.com.

reported by Dan Crump

ALA 2014: Anticipatory Discovery and One-Click Server Installs Among LITA Top Tech Trends. The event was reported for Library Journal’s Digital Shift by Matt Enis on July 14. Find the article at: http://goo.gl/8cfj0K

ALA 2014: OCLC’s Symposium keynote address at ALA Annual 2014: The Internet of Things is now available on youtube.com at http://goo.gl/tzpS44

The Library has Fewer Books, More Study Spaces. The number of students coming to the Cabrillo College Library has continued to increase over the past several years, as emphasized by one of our current mantras, "we've never been busier." To help accommodate this growing use, this summer we completed the first major but careful “refresh” of our book collection in more than 20 years, removing from the collection over 8,000 outdated or unused books. This enabled us to replace a large section of bookshelves with 30 additional study spaces for our students. We expect that a more current and compact physical collection will be more useful to – and used by – our students. As of the start of our Fall semester two weeks ago, students have already found the new study spaces - most have been in use every day!

ALA, ACRL file network neutrality comments with FCC

American Library Association (ALA) and the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) urged the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to adopt the legally enforceable network neutrality rules necessary to fulfill library missions and serve communities nationwide. The ALA and ACRL joined nine other national higher education and library organizations in filing joint public comments (pdf) with the FCC.

The joint comments build on the ALA resolution adopted by Council at the 2014 Annual Conference and align with the 2014 legislative agenda developed by ACRL. They also provide greater detail for the network neutrality principles released July 10 and suggest ways to strengthen the FCC’s proposed rules (released May 15, 2014) to preserve an open internet for libraries, higher education and the communities they serve. For instance, the FCC should:

• explicitly apply open Internet rules to public broadband Internet access service provided to libraries, institutions of higher education and other public interest organizations;
• prohibit “paid prioritization;”
• adopt rules that are technology-neutral and apply equally to fixed and mobile services;
• adopt a re-defined “no-blocking” rule that bars public broadband Internet access providers from interfering with the consumer’s choice of content, applications, or services;
• further strengthen disclosure rules;
• charge the proposed ombudsman with protecting the interests of libraries and higher education institutions and other public interest organizations, in addition to consumers and small businesses;
• continue to recognize that libraries and institutions of higher education operate private networks or engage in end user activities not subject to open Internet rules; and
• preserve the unique capacities of the Internet as an open platform by exercising its well-established sources of authority to implement open Internet rules, based on Title II reclassification or an “Internet reasonable” standard under Section 706.

The joint comments mark another definitive statement on behalf of all types of libraries and the communities we serve, but are simply one more step in a long journey toward our goal.

The Electronic Access & Resources Committee, a standing committee of the Council of Chief Librarians, California Community Colleges (CCL), is charged to explore ways in which the resources of the community college libraries could be maximized through cooperative ventures for electronic resources, databases and information. The Committee evaluates information from the members of the community college libraries and provides input to the Executive Committee of CCL and the Community College League of California, which acts as the fiscal agent for the community college consortium. California Community College librarians are encouraged to contact the regional representatives.  The Committee meetings are open to additional attendees. A list of Committee representatives/members and the geographic areas they represent can be found at: https://cclibrarians.org/committees/electronic-access-and-resources-committee#members Reviews by the committee of the strengths and weaknesses of various online products are available at: https://cclibrarians.org/consortium/reviews Meetings: 2014 - 2015 Sept. 12, 2014: Phone Conference Oct. 2 & 3, 2014: Meeting in Ontario, CA. Nov. 14, 2014: Phone Conference March 13, 2015: Phone Conference April 30 & May 1, 2015: Meeting in Oakland, CA.

Contributed by Sarah Raley, Consortium Director We are offering several new vendors/products this fall. See the program announcements on the consortium website https://cclibrarians.org/consortium for details.

JSTOR has announced that this will be the last time they offer a waiver of the Archive Capital Fees to the community colleges. Currently the Archive Capital Fee ($1000) is waived for orders through the consortium but beginning with the July 2015 orders, the fee will be collected.

Sage is offering State Stats, Local Stats, and US Political Stats this fall for a January start. The trial information is posted. They are also offering a nursing collection (both ebooks and journals). Look for both offers on the consortium website on the Sage page.

Boopsie provides library-branded native mobile apps that are affordable, easy to deploy and maintain, and enable academic libraries of all sizes to provide 24/7/365 mobile access to digital resources on any device.

Credo is offering three months free (October to December 2014) with a confirmed purchase for the calendar year.

Docuseek2 is a new streaming platform for independent documentary and social issue films. Docuseek2 features premium exclusive content  from leading educational distributors such as Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Kartemquin Films, Collective Eye Films, The Fanlight Collection, Terra Nova Films, KimStim and dGenerate Films. We are only offering their closed captioned collection.

Oxford is offering bundles of your choice for Reference titles. You will own these titles. Deadline for this offer is October 31, 2014.  See the announcement on the Oxford webpage.

Salem Press is offering five electronic collections (three literature, one history and one career).

Springshare is now offering a product suite which includes CMS, Mobile Site Builder, LibAnswers Platform, LibCal 10/10/10, LibAnalytics 5 and LibStaffer (less than 30 staff). See the fall announcement for details.

Trend Council offers a new resource for fashion forecasting. They are an affordable design and merchandising tool for designers, buyers and manufacturers. All renewal forms will be posted on the procurement site. You will receive an email when your renewal form is ready. New products can be added using the procurement system and renewal forms can be submitted electronically if your college allows an order to be placed without a signature. 

Alternately, there are order forms included in the program announcements which are posted on the consortium website. Order forms can be faxed along with your renewal form.

Megan Kinney is the new Electronic/Audiovisual Services librarian at Contra Costa College. Megan received a BA from Eugene Lang College in Liberal Arts and a MLIS from San Jose State. Before going full-time, Megan was part-time at the college, Sonoma State University, and the Oakland Public Library.

Cypress College welcomes Dr. Treisa Cassens as their new Dean of Library and Learning Resources, effective July 1, 2014.  She was formally the library director, periodicals and reference librarian, and an SLO coordinator at Golden West College. She was at Golden West College for 13 years - worked there as instruction librarian, then public services librarian, library chair and the last few years as library director. She also worked at Huntington Beach Public Library and Orange Coast College.

Third Draft for Comment Expected Release November 1

http://www.acrl.ala.org/acrlinsider/archives/9058

The members of ACRL’s Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education Task Force are no doubt struggling with the feedback to the June 17^th revised draft.  They have extended their timeline and are addressing recurring questions/concerns in the FAQ section of their website at http://acrl.ala.org/ilstandards/?page_id=201

[There is to date only one Response to these FAQ’s in the form of a thoughtful letter from Esther Grassian.]

Eric Hanson assumed the duties of Dean, Library and Learning Support Services on Monday 9/15/14. Eric is returning to California after serving as the Knowledge and Information Management Officer/Reference Librarian for the United Nations, Food and Agriculture Organization in Rome, Italy. Prior to joining the UN organization in June 2010, Eric served as Emerging Technologies and Access Services Librarian and Instructor at Pasadena City College for three years. Eric has a bachelor’s degree in History from UC San Diego, a master’s degree in Italian Literature from the University of Virginia, and a master’s degree in Academic Librarianship from UCLA. Eric will provide administrative coordination, support, assistance, and leadership to faculty and staff assigned to the library, the learning resource center, distance education, student and faculty learning resource centers, and faculty professional development. He will report to the Vice President of Instructional Services (previously, the library administrator reported to the VP of Student Services).

A one hour archive of the presentation “Going Beyond Google” is available at http://americanlibrarieslive.org/blog/archive-going-beyond-google

The panel included:

• Joanna Burkhardt, Professor and Head Librarian at the University of Rhode Island (URI) Branch Libraries in Providence and Narragansett
• Nikki Krysak, Head of Instructional Services, Norwich University in Vermont
• John McCullough, Product Manager, Discovery, OCLC
• Beth McDonough, Research and Instruction Librarian, Western Carolina University

Taylor Ruhl is “back in the saddle” as the Interim Dean of Learning & Technology Resources at Grossmont College after a year of retirement from Imperial College.

NMC HORIZON REPORT > 2014 LIBRARY EDITION <http://goo.gl/YYyeuJ>

The New Media Consortium (NMC) released a first ever edition of the Horizon Report that delved specifically into the realm of academic and research libraries in a global context. Six key trends, six significant challenges, and six emerging technologies are identified across three adoption horizons over the next one to five years, giving library leaders and staff a valuable guide for strategic technology planning.

KEY TRENDS:

The NMC Horizon Report > 2014 Library Edition identifies “Increasing Focus on Research Data Management for Publications” and “Prioritization of Mobile Content and Delivery” as fast trends driving changes in academic and research libraries over the next one to two years. The “Evolving Nature of the Scholarly Record” and “Increasing Accessibility of Research Content” are mid-range trends expected to accelerate technology use in the next three to five years; and “Continual Progress in Technology, Standards, and Infrastructure” and the “Rise of New Forms of Multidisciplinary Research” are long-range trends that will be impacting libraries for five years and beyond.

SIGNIFICANT CHALLENGES PRESENTING BARRIERS:

“Embedding Academic and Research Libraries in the Curriculum” and “Rethinking the Roles and Skills of Librarians” are perceived as solvable challenges — those which we both understand and know how to solve. “Capturing and Archiving the Digital Outputs of Research as Collection Material” and “Competition from Alternative Avenues of Discovery” are considered difficult challenges, which are defined as well understood but with solutions that are elusive. Described as wicked challenges are “Embracing the Need for Radical Change” and “Maintaining Ongoing Integration, Interoperability, and Collaborative Projects,” which are complex to define, much less address.

IMPORTANT DEVELOPMENTS FOR LIBRARIES:

Additionally, the report identifies “Electronic Publishing” and “Mobile Apps” as technologies expected to enter mainstream use in the first horizon of one year or less. “Bibliometrics and Citation Technologies” along with “Open Content” are seen in the second horizon of two to three years; “The Internet of Things” as well as “Semantic Web and Linked Data” are seen emerging in the third horizon of four to five years.

 Download the NMC Horizon Report > 2014 Library Edition (PDF)

The August 2014 edition of Keeping Up With…, ACRL’s online current awareness publication featuring concise briefs on trends in academic librarianship and higher education, is now available.  This issue features a discussion of Net Neutrality by John Jackson.

Keeping Up With… is available on the ACRL website and each issue will be send via email to ACRL members. Non-members  can visit the email subscription page to sign up to receive Keeping Up With

Autumn Sullivan is the new Access/Collection/Technical Services Librarian at Laney College.  Autumn brings extensive experience from the Oakland Public Library system as well as several years of service at Laney College, including one year as acting Acquisitions Librarian.

Angela McGowen, part-time Reference Librarian at Laney College, completed her MLIS from San Jose State University over the summer.  Angela took part in the faculty internship program at Laney College in spring 2014.  She is also employed at Berkeley Public Library.

Under the leadership of Reference/Instruction Librarian Phillippa Caldeira, Laney College Library is launching an experimental in-house eReference project.

The library is connecting eReference to a service that allows students to text the librarian about noise problems in the library.  Librarians will be monitoring an email account for both reference queries and noise complaints.  Laney Library's layout--it is spread out over four floors--provides added challenges as the staff strives to create a quiet study environment.

The Laney College President's Office, which occupied the library's third floor study rooms for several years while the administrative building was undergoing renovation, moved out of the library last spring.  As of fall 2014, all library study rooms have been returned to student use.

CCL President, Tim Karas

Hello,

The start of a new academic year brings changes to many of our institutions and to us. I find myself transitioning to a new role at a new College. The Board has also seen changes. The Board says adieu to members with whom it has been a privilege to serve and welcome new members whose important contributions we look forward to.

Outgoing members:

• Cherry Li-Bugg (Santa Rosa)
• Andy Kivel (Diablo Valley)
• Jean Smith- CCL-EAR Chair (Mesa)

Incoming members:

• Pearl Ly (Marin)
• Darrel Swarm- CCL-EAR Chair (Feather River)
• Please note that we are looking for a new Representative from the SanFrancisco/East Bay Region, (Alameda, Chabot, Contra Costa, Diablo Valley, Laney, Las Positas, Los Medanos, Merritt, Ohlone, San Francisco, Berkeley City College)

We successfully completed year-one of our 2 Year Strategic Plan and we have transitioned to our year-two goals. At the Board retreat July 17-18 we finished the work plan for the current year. It is now time to develop our next 2 Year Strategic Plan for 2015-2017. The Board will be working over the next several months to formulate a draft plan to bring to the Deans and Directors Meeting in March 2015 for feedback and direction from the field.

At our retreat the Board endorsed an official submission to the FCC supporting the American Library Association’s position on Net Neutrality.

Instructional Equipment and Library Materials (IELM) has been funded again this year. However, there is a significant change. The State budget allocation put IELM and deferred maintenance funding into one line item. Local Districts have been given the flexibility to allocate funding between the two elements at their discretion. Further information can be found at: http://www.ebudget.ca.gov/2014-15/pdf/Enacted/BudgetSummary/HigherEducation.pdf

I encourage our libraries to share on the ccl-exec  listserv any local developments with reference to the presence/absence of library funding within the IELM pot.

The Chancellor’s Office has launched several initiatives this year. A major initiative with millions of dollars of funding concerns College Equity Plans. To be eligible for these funds Colleges must submit plans by November 2014. College student equity plans focus on increasing access, course completion, ESL and basic skills completion, degrees, certificates and transfer for students. General information is located on the Chancellor’s Office website at http://extranet.cccco.edu/Divisions/StudentServices/StudentEquity.aspx

CCL is a solid organization that is making a difference for our colleges. We have advocates in the Community College System and the Chancellor’s Office. Board members provide a voice for the library community in many settings, including CCCCIO Executive Board, Library and Learning Resource Programs Advisory Committee (LLRPAC), and Telecommunications and Technology Advisory Committee (TTAC). These committees play a vital role in the future of libraries in California Community Colleges. We look forward to working together to provide the best opportunities for our students to learn, engage, and create.

Early in the Fall you should receive information regarding the Annual Data Survey. This is a critical survey, which informs the Chancellor’s Office and the public on the use of our facilities, collections, and programs.

Here’s to a fruitful semester. Welcome back!

Tim

reported by Dan Crump

The Annual Data Survey for 2013-14 should be sent out to all the CCC libraries within the next month (fingers crossed).  LLRAC and CCL will be reviewing proposed changes (minor, I promise) before it is sent out.

We all want to make as much use possible of the data that is collected each year.  It could be useful for such purposes as comparisons with CCC libraries that are similar to you in size or location.  And there are possible uses in the institutional research for accreditation studies.

To that end, CCL has contracted with a researcher to work on making the collected data available in Excel---ALL data (or most of it) for ALL the colleges.

And we hope to go back in time with this.  The researcher will first be working on the data collected for the 2011-12 and 2012-13 academic years.  And when the data for the 2013-14 is collected, that will be included.  And hopefully, we will be able to go back in years and provide data back to 2001.

On the Chancellor’s Office website (www.cccco.edu -- System Operations/Division/Academic Affairs/Library and Learning Resources

there is currently a file that covers several data points (library print and electronic expenditures, FTES, and library hours) for the 2011-10 academic years.  As I mentioned, the plan is to expand that file to include all the relevant data points.

Timeline---completion by the end of the year (holiday present for me) and, definitely, presentation at the CCL Library Leadership Meeting in March.

Sandy Thomsen retired after being chair for 19 years.

The new Chair is Donna Ayers, who has been at Mission for 13 years as a reference/instructional librarian.

Mission will be hiring a new librarian and the job listing has posted on the LACCD website, https://laccd.peopleadmin.com/postings/search.

The college is taking on the challenge of “One Book, One College”, and Donna Ayers and Sheila MacDowell are working with other faculty to pick the first new book for the campus to read together.

We announced the winners of our first annual LATTC Library Bookmark Competition.

Sally Romero is our new Information Literacy /Student Success Librarian. Sally has a BA in Communications with an emphasis in advertising from CSUFullerton, and an MLIS from SJSU. She comes so us with many years of public and academic library experience.

We are offering an on-going series of workshops for students, Research Like a Pro. These workshops have been very popular.

Our Current (Sept 15 – Oct 15) Library display “Hispanic Heritage Month” focuses on cultural highlights in and around Los Angeles including posters from East Los Streetscapers, the Frank Romero Studio,  the Museum of Latin American Art in Long Beach, and original artwork from the Ave. 50 Studio in Highland Park.

Meghan Gaynor Cason is the new librarian for bibliographic instruction and electronic databases. Meghan received her B.A. from Arizona State University, and her M.L.I.S. from UCLA. She began working as a community college adjunct in 2008, first at Glendale Community College as a reference & instruction librarian, and later at Mt. San Antonio College as a systems and electronic resource librarian. Meghan is also the program director for Access Books, a nonprofit organization that refurbishes inner-city school libraries. She is a retired skater for the LA Derby Dolls where she skated for seven years under the nom de guerre Judy Gloom.

The Libraries recently joined the Marin Automated Resources and Information Network (MARINet), a consortium of seven Marin County public libraries and Dominican University (http://marinet.lib.ca.us). MARINet members share an integrated library system/library platform, Sierra (Innovative). In addition to borrowing materials from any partner library, patrons can also access shared electronic resources and free or discounted museum tickets through the Discover & Go program. Read more about it at http://www.marin.edu/News/press_release/08272014.htm

As of July 1, 2014, the position of the Dean of the Library at the Moreno Valley College, one of the three colleges in the Riverside Community College District, has been eliminated.  The library is now under the direction of the Dean of Instruction office. While not intending to end her career as a library administrator, the Moreno Valley College Library is extremely happy Ms. Cid Tenpas has chosen to take her retreat rights and rejoin her colleagues as a full time Public Services Librarian.

There is a new full time Librarian hire at Mt. San Jacinto College - San Jacinto Campus: her name is Adrienne Walker. Previously she worked at Temecula Public Library and the Menafee campus of MSJC.

She replaced retiring Librarian David King.

OCLC's most recent membership report was designed to explore emerging trends that impact libraries and librarianship. The takeaway from this report is the key assertion that “Tipping Points are Opportunity Points”

Fueled by mobile devices, new learning platforms and economic incentives, learners are trying and achieving success with new learning models. The information consumer has become an online education consumer. Nearly half of the online population has participated in online learning. See how trends and triggers are reshaping education and lifelong learning—and the opportunities and challenges this shift brings to libraries.

·  Habits and perceptions of online learners

·  Expectations for the future of online learning

·  Top-of-mind perceptions of a college education

·  Factors influencing the college choice

·  Library use by online learners

·  MOOCs—a massively interesting case study on the future of education

·  The library brand

·  Implications and opportunities for academic and public libraries.

Download the PDF of the entire report here: http://www.oclc.org/content/dam/oclc/reports/tipping-point/215133-tipping-point.pdf

Leslie Tirapelle is the new Interim Dean of Library & Learning Resource Centers at Pasadena City College. She served as PCC's systems librarian from 1998-2010 and as PCC's Interim Associate Dean of Distance Education & Weekend College from 2010-2014.  She is ecstatic to be back in the world of libraries and looks forward to collaborating with new and former colleagues around the state.

Fall semester is in full swing. We have started a weekly white board topic.Students have enjoyed having the opportunity write their thoughts on the weekly topic.

Two of our Library Technicians have retired, Cathy Lam and Joann Romanski. They were at Pierce for many years. We welcome Elizabeth Valenzuela and Gilbert Salas to our library team. Michael Habata, our cataloguing librarian made Tenure last June.

Rio Hondo College welcomes new full-time tenure track librarian, Irene Truong.  Irene is a recent UCLA grad (2013).  Irene has worked as adjunct librarian at East Los Angeles College, Pasadena City College, and Marymount College.

When a recent online article in Newsweek stated that 91% of American adults own cell phones, it came as no surprise to the library staff at Riverside City College. For years, students have been scouring the library – perimeter walls, floors, bathrooms – in search of spare outlets with which they could recharge their phones and other electronic devices. Out of sympathy for the students, some staff would allow charging at public service desks, but the security of the devices was always a concern. Results from the 2013 RCC Library Use Survey revealed that 88.1% of the library users felt that having electrical outlets near seating areas was an important or very important library service. When asked to “briefly list what we can do to improve library resources and services,” 27 of 188 responses indicated that library users wanted greater access to electrical outlets.

These results were discussed at a library department meeting, and the library faculty subsequently discussed finding a more secure alternative to providing charging that did not require staff assistance. The librarians agreed that purchasing a self-service goCharge station may lead to improvement in this area – a prime example of service area assessment and data-driven decision making in action!

While many configurations are available, RCC selected a unit that includes lockers for 8 phones (both iPhone and Android) and 2 tablets. Use of the station is free and is completely self-service. A bypass key comes with system in the event that a student forgets his locker code. Customized wraps are available for an additional fee. The system is a bit pricey, but it does draw quite a bit of attention. For more information go to http://gochargenow.com/

The library is thrilled to welcome Karen Tercho as a tenure-track Public Services Librarian. Karen has an MLIS from the University of Rhode Island and was most recently an online librarian at Bryan University. Karen will be working in a number of areas at SCC, among them coordinating our library orientation program.

Dr. Rhonda Rios Kravitz is retiring from her post as Dean of Learning Resources at Sacramento City College on October 1. Rhonda joined SCC in 2007 and has been a strong advocate for library services college- and district-wide. Rhonda received the Carnegie Foundation/New York Times I Love My Librarian! award in 2011, is active in a number of regional, state and national organizations, and is known for her activism in support of social justice, diversity and student equity. The library wishes her well.

Kenley Neufeld is the co-author of a chapter in Management and Leadership Innovations (Advances in Librarianship, Volume 38 2014) Emerald Group Publishing Limited.

Stephanie Beverage , Kathleen DeLong , Irene M. H. Herold , Kenley Neufeld (2014), Mindful Leadership Defined and Explained, pp.21 - 35

Abstract

From the perspective of library leaders, this chapter charts a path to mindful leadership by providing key definitions, theories, and organizational and cultural applications of mindful leadership. The four authors bring personal experience and knowledge to the topic by outlining practical examples of applying mindfulness in the workplace and in leading the library profession. The chapter considers the College Library Directors’ Mentor Program from the College Libraries Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries as a case study for mindful leadership in this successful leadership development program.

SRJC Librarians Loretta Esparza and Alicia Virtue’s chapter entitled “Art Meets Education through Technology,” was recently approved for publication in the 2015 book “E-Learning Innovations in Academic Libraries.”

Inspired by digital museum tours, Esparza and Virtue discuss their efforts to increase the practical quality of each student encounter with artworks found in SRJC’s Doyle Library by developing e-learning tools and creating “interactive, multimedia art enrichment zones” through a successful outreach project called Art Talk.

Art Talk takes the physical art pieces, created by faculty and staff, and supplements them with e-learning tools. These components build an aesthetic experience leading to deeper understanding of the art. Using smartphones, students scan a QR code to watch videos of more than 100 artists giving firsthand explanations of their inspirations for each piece, methodology in the creative process, and special advice for students. Some artists also provide glimpses into their sketchbooks. Coupled with artist statements, biographies and links to relevant library resources, these enrichment zones create a personalized and accessible environment. Art Talk can also be accessed through the SRJC library website at www.santarosa.edu/library/.

W. Cherry Li-Bugg, Dean III, Learning Resources and Educational Technology at Santa Rosa, and a long time member of the CCL Board has accepted the position of Vice Chancellor, Educational Services and Technology at North Orange Community College District.

Sabrina Pape  has replaced Brian Haley as the new Dean.  She reports that  “for the past 18 years, I was the Director of the Library at Vassar College in Poughkeepsie, NY, a small (2400 students, all undergraduates) elite private liberal arts college. (And, yes, Vassar is co-ed, has been since 1969!). My budget for library materials alone was $2.7 million (yes, quite different from my acquisitions budget at Sierra!). Prior to that, I served as Associate Library Director, and as Music Librarian, all at Vassar. At Vassar I was responsible for a number of initiatives. Chief among those was a large addition and renovation of our library building, a beautiful collegiate gothic building built originally in 1904 (if you Google Vassar images, the library will come up for sure, as it is the iconic Vassar building) and my involvement in a consortium project with other private NYS academic libraries that started ConnectNY

(see: http://connectny.org/). Personally, accepting this new position is a huge change, literally across the country, but I have family in northern California and am beyond excited about not facing snow, ice and freezing temps in the winter ever again!!”

This day-long conference  held in May 2014  was dedicated to the exploration of innovative practices related to teaching and learning in libraries.  This was the first such meeting.  Hosted by Radford University, the conference offered the opportunity for participants to share new and exciting ideas.  The presentations are available at: http://innovativelibraryclassroom.blogspot.com/p/2014-presentations.html

This new blog expressly focused on two year libraries is off to an impressive start! Readers and Contributors are sought.

The URL for the blog is http://twoyeartalk.wordpress.com/

To be set up as a blog author, go to http://wordpress.com/ and create an account.  Then send your WordPress username or e-mail address to Kristin Snawder at ksnawder@nvcc.edu. When you submit a post for publication, it will go into “Pending” status until an editor reviews it and “Publishes” it.

There is also a Two Year Talk Google Group, which works as a forum to discuss issues, concerns, topics, etc.  (I think this was because no-one in our crowd knew how to set up a listserv. If anyone wants to set up a listserv, anecdotally I’ve noticed that participation/responses seem to be greater via email than via the Google Group.) To join the Google Group, contact: Brad Matthies [bmatthies@caspercollege.edu].

Join ACRL for the free "ACRL Presents" webcast, "An Update on the New IPEDS Academic Library Component," on Wednesday, October 1, 2014, from 1:00 - 2:00 p.m Central time. This webcast will bring participants up to date concerning the reintegration of the NCES Academic Library Survey into IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System). Implications of revised library data elements for academic libraries will be discussed. Submit your free registration online by September 30. The webcast will be recorded and made available on the ACRL webcast shortly after the live event. Register here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/5RC2QWG

Oracle Bones: A Journey Through Time in China by Peter Hessler -- Matt Magnuson (West Hills - Coalinga)

Mrs. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – Sarah Raley (CC Consortium)

Coyote by Allen Steele -- Jim Matthews (Chabot)

The Trlgger: Hunting the Assassin Who Brought the World to War   by Tim Butcher  – Gregg Atkins (CCL Executive Director)

Toms River: A Story of Science and Salvation  by Dan Fagin – Johanna Bowen (CCL Outlook, Web, Directory)

Blood Matters: From Inherited Illness to Designer Babies, How the World and I Found Ourselves in the Future of the Gene  by Masha Gessen           – Jean Smith (Mesa)

Dawn (Xenogenesis, Bk 1)  by Octavia Butter – – Kenley Neufeld (Santa Barbara City College)

This is How You Lose Her  by Juno Diaz – Pearl Ly (Marin)

The Mismeasure of Man  by Stephen Jay Gould – Meghan Chen (Mt. San Antonio)

The Circle  by Dave Eggers – Andy Kivel (Diablo Valley)

All God’s Children Need Traveling Shoes    by Maya Angelou – Lisa Foley (Lake Tahoe)

Swamplandia by Karen Russell AND Shop Class as Soulcraft: An Inquiry into the Value of Work by Matthew Crawford – Doug Achterman (Gavilan)

The Poisoner’s Handbook: Murder and the Birth of Forensic Medicine in Jass Age New York by Deborah Blum – Paula Paggi (L. A. Pierce)

That Uncertain Feeling  by Kingsley Amis AND The Way to Love: The Last Meditations of Anthony de Mello – Peter Sezzi  (Ventura)

Frog Music  by Emma Donoghue  AND The Keys to the Jail (American Poets Continuum) by Keetje Kuipers – Mark Stengel (Cuesta)

Think Like A Freak  by Steven Levitt & Stephen Dubner AND Call to Action by Jimmy Carter – Kerry Kilber Rebman (Cuyamaca)

George Washington’s Secret Six: The Spy Ring That Saved the American Revolution  by Brian Kilmeade & Don Yaeger – Dan Crump (American River)

In May 2014, Elena Heilman earned a Doctor of Education degree from Drexel University. Her dissertation is on the composition of students' research experiences at a rural community college. Dr. Heilman currently serves as Interim Dean of Humanities at Yuba College; she continues to oversee the library, in addition to several other academic divisions.