“Worth Going if You’re an Electronic Resources Librarian”

By Norman Buchwald

In November, 2016, as Chair of CCL-EAR, and with support from CCLCCC, I attended the renowned Charleston Conference with the deceptive subtitle, “Issues in Book and Serial Acquisition” (which for many years has really been about electronic resources and trends).  The Charleston Conference is famously known to be a venue where librarians and vendors sit side by side, present together, and is a professional conference for learning and insight not just for the librarians from various fields, but also for the vendors.  The reason why I attended the conference is I was strongly hoping during my first year as CCL-EAR chair to learn as much as I can further of vendors’ products, how libraries have used them, and current trends in electronic resources.  Overall, not only did I find this a very useful conference for this purpose, but I would strongly recommend any electronic resources librarian to strongly consider this conference over a more general one as this sharply focused venue provides tremendous opportunities to meet vendor representatives outside the usual standard exhibition hall, and attend a number of sessions truly relevant to the areas of electronic resources trends, acquisitions, and studies.  For a list of the sessions I attended (with links to their descriptions), please look at http://tinyurl.com/kxhpdjh   For all videos that were taped at the conference (finally up in late March, 2017), go to: http://www.charlestonlibraryconference.com/video/

Below is a quick list of highlights:

1.  Tips for attending the conference
   1. Book your hotel early and to get the most of the conference, book within a mile and a half of the hotels and convention center.  While the conference did provide a shuttle service, you would have the flexibility to walk through relatively safe Old Town Charleston which is quite beautiful to walk through.
   2. While there’s complimentary breakfasts (bagels or breakfast burritos), the conference’s “lively lunch” events may be lively, but are really brown bags (in other words, bring your own food and drink to such events).
   3. Plan to book your flights so you arrive Tuesday night or early, Wednesday morning as the exhibit hall  only exists the Wednesday afternoon (so vendor representatives can attend or present at sessions during the regular conference).
   4. The two hotels and the convention center are close enough to each other that during the breaks between sessions there is adequate time to walk from one place to another, meaning you can plan to attend back to back sessions in most cases.
   5. There is a reception one night and a dine around another night.  For last year’s conference, electronic sign-up was not available, to be sure when you register to ask for the location and sign-up if you are interested in meeting colleagues for dine-around night.
   6. Yes, each morning the plenary sessions open with an organizer ringing a school bell.  Consider it a trademark of Charleston.  J
2.  On the Orbis Cascade Alliance and E-Resources Reviews Presentations
   1. Charleston Adivsor will soon have more dynamic reviews available through the Choice Reviews platform.  And they are always looking for people to write reviews on new databases and similar electronic products.
   2. Orbis Cascade Alliance(consortium of academic libraries in the Pacific Northwest region) still has a shared E-books collection, although they have moved from the patron driven access from Proquest’s Ebrary to an enterprise driven access model with one publisher, John W. Wiley (where an institution would have one year of unlimited simultaneous access for one year, and then after that year purchase ebooks based on use, which would provide considerable  savings).  My own research of the Boston Library consortium’s share E-books program, likewise has also shown that consortium moving away from Ebrary and instead favoring a patron driven access model with JSTOR and Taylor-Francis.   It appears the days of shared ebook collections with the choice of acquiring from a grand number of publishers may be over.  Instead, favoring arrangements with academic publishers via a group (JSTOR) or through individual publishers (John W. Wiley, Taylor & Francis).
   3. The presentsers of Orbis Cascade Alliance admitted there really is not a weeding policy in place for their shared E-book collection.  I have thus recommended the past members of CCL-EAR that were involved in the deselection process to pursue a professional article on this important topic, as I suspect they and many other consortia that have or have had shared collections could learn a lot from what CCL-EAR has done.
3.  On the Ebook studies
   1. It appears the Pew 2016 Ebooks study that claimed 92% of undergraduate students preferred print over electronic may be the exception than a rule that this overwhelming majority stands, as surveys presented at this conference demonstrated instances where students definitely preferred ebook format for certain homework and study purposes in both University of Tennessee's  Library’s survey  and ProQuest’s Global Ebooks survey.
   2. I am still waiting to receive a copy of the global ebooks survey and results that ProQuest presented (in the meantime, please take a look at the pictures they allowed me to take of their session).
4. Charleston conference has an annual presentation called The Long Arm of the Law on legal trends regarding electronic resources at libraries and academic institutions at large.  Most noteworthy are:
   1. Last summer the Department of Justice notified that UC Berkeley was in violation of the ADA in its MOOCs, leading to the question can MOOCs survive ADA compliancy.
   2. As of 2014, the U.S. court of Appeals in Atlanta have ruled in favor of Georgia State University for faculty members to have 10% of an ebook, or even a whole chapter in their online course behind the respective Learning Management System—they believed that was what constituted fair use given the non-profit nature of the educational institution.  Publishers are horrified and are appealing.
   3.  As of last September, a trial court in India rejected a contest from publishers against Delphi University where hard copy of course packets were being created.
5. One session I was not able to attend due to a conflict but I think it is important we all take a look is the one titled Running Start: A Crowd-Sourced Database of Due Diligence to Invoke Section 108.”    With the VHS format being discontinued, there is a splendid opportunity under section 108 of 17. U.S. code for institutions to create 3 digitized copies of the old VHS tape that can stay in the Library.  The Due Diligence 108 project is creating a database to help libraries reduce duplication efforts.  From our point of view as California community college librarians, we would be interested in finding out if duplication efforts can include closed captioning, and that DVD’s in this database include indexing that clearly identifies closed captioned or subtitled titles.  Perhaps we can participate given our own work in closed captioning which may have included changes from VHS to DVD formats.

(ASCCC), reported by Dan Crump

ACADEMIC SENATE FOR CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY COLLEGES (ASCCC), reported by Dan Crump

The ASCCC will be holding its Spring Plenary Session in San Mateo from April 20-22.  I will report on the proceedings---breakouts, resolutions (approved and not) and the Executive Committee elections---in the next Outlook.

LIBRARY & LEARNING RESOURCES PROGRAMS ADVISORY COMMITTEE (LLRPAC), Reported by Dan Crump

As chair of the LLRPAC, I am working with Stephanie Ricks-Albert (Chancellor’s Office) in putting together a meeting of the LLRPAC before the end of this academic year.  I will have more to report in the next Outlook.

In addition, the Annual Data Survey for 2015-16 will be sent out in the next several weeks.  I am working right now to get the correct contact information for each of the colleges (i.e. contacting the names I have from last year and seeing if they are still current---you’d be surprised at the number of retirements and reassignments that occur each year!  I should have that completed in the next week or so and the Survey can then be sent out.  Thanks so much for your patience.

NOTE:  The value of your participation and the value of the multi-year aggregation of data can be readily seen by examining these analytical reports prepared for CCL:

California Community College Library / Learning Resources: Survey Report for 2007-2008 thru 2013-2014

California Community College Library / Learning Resources : Survey Data With Pivot Tables 2005/06 through 2013/14

An in-brief wrap up of the 2017 conferences held by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) and Electronic Resources & Libraries (ER&L), in March and April respectively, covered trends ranging from diversity to emerging technology.

http://lj.libraryjournal.com/2017/04/events/conference-catch-up/

Conference Proceedings: At The Helm, Leading the Transformation March 22-25, 2017, Baltimore Maryland.

Individual Papers [  http://www.ala.org/acrl/conferences/acrl2017/papers ]are available in individual PDF format only.

A complete version of the proceedings is available online as an open access publication (19.7 MB).

ACRL Global Perspectives on Information Literacy: Fostering a Dialogue for International Understanding (March 13, 2017) https://goo.gl/3u6uT7

The Association of College and Research Libraries' (ACRL) Student Learning and Information Literacy Committee (SLILC) announces the publication of a new white paper, Global Perspectives on Information Literacy: Fostering a Dialogue for International Understanding. The paper includes chapters written by information literacy experts from around the world, including Africa, Canada, Europe, Oceania, Asia, Latin America, and the Middle East, and seeks to share individual international perspectives that demonstrate how information literacy is viewed, taught, and conceptualized internationally.

The white paper is divided into thirteen chapters covering several topics from each author’s regional and/or cultural perspective:

• Research trends: What kind of IL-related research is being done in your country or region that has impacted your approach to teaching?
• Models of information literacy: What standards / frameworks / models / learning theory / pedagogy or specific paradigms do you most often use for inspiration in your teaching?
• Theory and practice = praxis: Describe the connection between information literacy and student learning from your position or perspective. Alternatively, what is your teaching philosophy?
• Role of librarians: What is the role of librarians in the higher education landscape of your country or region? How were/are you trained to become a teaching librarian?
• Future visioning: Think about the future of information literacy for your region and share your vision for what you think that might look like in the next 5–10 years.

A final reflection explores themes presented by the authors, including an overarching shift to an increasing conceptual approach to information literacy; a growing enthusiasm for the teaching role of librarians; a responsibility to prepare our students to live and work in intercultural settings; a growing focus on the intersection of critical pedagogy and information literacy; and the challenges presented by translating information literacy work into multiple languages.

Jack Pond, Vice President of ACCJC 

Peer evaluation is unique to higher education in the United States, and it relies on a pool of qualified individuals with expertise in areas included in the Accreditation Standards and required to meet U.S Department of Education regulations. Each year, approximately 250 individuals are needed to staff external evaluation teams. 

A basic evaluation team generally includes at least three faculty members, a CEO, chief instructional officer, student services officer, researcher, business officer, and librarian or information specialist. Other positions may be added as needed to provide evaluator expertise in distance education, learning assessment, information technology, administrative service, human resources, governance, and the types of programs the institution offers, such as career and technical education, basic skills or pre-collegiate education, or baccalaureate education.

Evaluators are nominated by the presidents/chancellors of their colleges or districts/systems. Individuals may also self-nominate by sending a letter directly to the ACCJC office (accjc@accjc.org). The letter should give the individual’s name, current position, areas of expertise, reasons why he/she wishes to serve on an evaluation team, and current contact information. Letters of self-nomination, must be accompanied by two letters of reference, at least one of which should be from a college administrator from the applicant’s institution. All evaluators are expected to be objective and unbiased; able to apply ACCJC Standards to the institution they are evaluating; work together as a team; be good writers and able to use technology for producing and editing the team report; be analytic thinkers; and able to commit to the time required before, during, and after the visit.

Team members serve on a volunteer basis with the Commission covering all direct costs for team training and the evaluation visit.  Evaluators are expected to complete the Accreditation Basics Course, available on the ACCJC website at http://www.accjc-accreditationcourse.org/ prior to their first team experience.  Evaluators are required to attend a training workshop each time they serve on an evaluation team.  A New Evaluator Training (offered twice per year) is highly recommended and may serve to “fast track” an evaluator’s opportunity for team service.   The ACCJC has redesigned their website and there is now a web link to self nominate yourself to be a visiting team member. http://accjc.org/announcement/become-a-visiting-team-evaluator/  

Cabrillo College has hired a Technology Services Librarian, Aloha Sargent, who will start her new position in fall 2017. Aloha is filling the position vacated by Stephanie Staley's retirement in spring 2016. She will primarily be providing coordination for the library's technology resources as well as oversight for our Technical Services operations - among many, many other things, of course!  Aloha comes to us with an extremely wide exposure to the community college world, as she is currently employed as a librarian and instructor part-time at Cabrillo College, Gavilan College, West Valley College, and Mission College!

Aloha also brings a richness of local and statewide experience to her new role, including: chair of Cabrillo's Distance Education Committee, Cabrillo's Canvas co-coordinator, chair of the library's Online Presence Committee, overseer of the library's LibGuides implementation, certified course evaluator for the statewide Online Education Initiative, and instructor for the statewide @One online training program. Considering what Aloha has contributed already as a part-time librarian, we are looking forward to seeing what she does as a full-time librarian!

The 2017 Deans and Directors Meeting was attended by over 90 librarians.

From the opening luncheon on Thursday to the closing luncheon on Friday, interesting speakers followed interesting speakers and attendees made every effort to connect with each other.

Even if you could not attend this year you can still follow the activities by examining the Agenda which includes links to the speakers’ PowePoint presentations and notes from the Regional Discussion Groups.

http://www.cclccc.org/documents/2017/deans-directors/DD-2017-Agenda.docx

City College of San Francisco launched Ebsco's discovery layer (EDS) fall term.  Librarians have been teaching the CCSF community how to effectively search in a discovery environment.  The Library is preparing to bring an OER initiative to to the College and is engaged in an effort to launch a STEAM focused makerspace.  We have seven faculty retirements - six are full-time librarians and the other is the chair of the small Library Information Technology (LIT) program.  Additionally the Coordinator of Ed Tech (distance learning) is retiring.  We are expecting a number of classified retirements over the summer and in early fall.  We hope that some of you will apply for our new positions!

Librarians Brian Greene (Modesto Junior College) and Elizabeth Horan (Coastline Community College) are contributing a chapter to an ALA book about Library Services for Commuter Students. The librarians surveyed students at each college about their study habits and were surprised at some of the findings.  It has opened up new discussions about Library Services, Library Design, and the best way to evolve the library to support students more effectively.  Early data has been fascinating and we look forward to sharing more information with CCL in the Fall.

The College of the Desert has posted a job for a ft librarian:  https://tinyurl.com/ka9peje

Description

Strive towards student success through supporting the College of the Desert's Librarian services. The Reference Librarian will enable student success in a team-based environment by providing outreach, instruction and in-depth reference assistance.

WORKING CONDITIONS
Library environment.  Constant interruptions.  May require some evening and weekend responsibility.

Spring renewal forms are available in the CCLC procurement system, and the deadline for returning these signed forms to the CCLC office is Friday, May 12^th.  Renewals are not conveyed to vendors automatically; while I will send reminders to those colleges for whom I have not received forms, after May 12th I will begin working with vendors on contracts and if your form was not sent to the League office I will not be renewing your library’s databases.  If you have difficulty accessing or printing out your renewal forms, please let me know and I’ll be happy to help. Please note that a number of colleges have invoices that are well over 90 days overdue.   I will be following up with each library in the coming days, but I encourage each of you to log in to the CCLC Procurement site to see if you have any invoices listed as “invoiced” and not “paid.” New offers for the spring term are updated and are live on the Consortium web site.  Note that the deadline for placing any new orders is also May 12th, though we can usually prorate any new subscription to align with the League’s contract term.  This spring we are pleased to introduce four new offers to the CCL community:

• New York Times
• Bloomsbury Publishing
• Adam Matthew Digital
• ExLibris (campusM)

To learn more about these offers, visit the consortium website at https://cclibrarians.org/consortium and use the generic username (“cclibrary”) and password to access the current offer.  If you do not know the password to access the offer, feel free to send me an email. As always, if you have any questions, concerns, or suggestions for possible new database offers, please contact me.  Have a great summer! Respectfully submitted, James      [PICTURE] Electronic Access to Resources (EAR) Committee Report. — Norman Buchwald (Chabot College) Committee Chair       Hello, everyone and hope you have enjoyed your Spring breaks!   The CCL-EAR Committee has actually had quite a busy semester, continuing to work on reviews, have active discussions on databases and technology issues across campuses, and continue to represent all of our constituents.  Since the January meeting, we have been working on at least six reviews, two of which are already published at: http://cclibraries.org/reviews/  A comparison review on information literacy tutorials and a Quick Look review on Sage Humanities and Social Sciences Journals.  We are currently working on two comparison reviews:  Test preparation products (Prep Step, Gale Testing and Education Reference Center and Mometrix) and a large video streaming comparison review, which includes Films on Demand, Swank, Kanopy, Ambrose, Intelecom, and NBC Learn.  A regular review on New York Times and a Quick Look preview on Bloomsbury are also in the mix, and by this Fall, a Quick Look review on PressReader.   We had a teleconference meeting on March 6^th and have our next teleconference meeting on April 28^th.  Three committee members, Brian Greene of the East Central region, Sally Chuah of the West Central Region, and Stephanie Rosenblatt of the Southcoast region will be rotating off and new members Nancy Golz and Yvonne Reed have already been approved by the board to replace Brian and Sally, and a Southcoast region nominee has been forwarded to the Board for approval (who will replace Stephanie).   CCL-EAR alum, Tamara Weintraub is working with both past and present members of CCL-EAR to author an article on our ambitious EBook de-selection project as we became aware that other consortia who have had either present or past shared collections have not pursued much up to this point on a de-selection policy.  The plan is to submit it to a traditional, professional publication such as College and Research Libraries News, once written.   Finally, I am sure you are aware of CCL-EAR’s recommendation last Fall for ADA Compliancy from all of our vendors and how CountyWatch, unfortunately, admitted they could not guarantee they could even strive toward that goal (and as announced at the Dean and Directors meeting, the statewide subscription will cease on December 31^st).  For information on how to effectively learn current Web accessibility standards, the committee did follow up with an inquiry to Sean Keegan, Accessibility Consultant of the California Community Colleges Technology Center and he suggested that the best site to learn is from the University of Washington: http://www.washington.edu/accessibility/web/  .   Sean also wrote an article for the CCL Outlook last November on current ADA Compliancy standards and how to address vendors on this issue at: http://cclccc.org/outlook/2016/11/letter-to-ccl-sean-keegan-accessibility-consultant/  

Mark Stengel retires:

At the end of May, I will complete the California portion of my career in librarianship when I retire as director of libraries and distance education at Cuesta College.

The long and winding road has taken me to public libraries in Missouri and California, and to academic libraries in Washington, Tennessee, Idaho, and California.  In California, after a brief stint at Santa Barbara and Lompoc public libraries, I began working my way up through the ranks of public higher education, from the UC (Santa Barbara) to the CSU (San Luis Obispo and San Marcos), and finally to the community colleges (Cuesta.) All along the way I have been fortunate to work with smart and interesting people who made me a better librarian.  In the community college world I was honored to serve on the CCL board, whose members’ knowledge and experience were invaluable in helping me navigate, if not understand, this strange new (to me) world of community colleges.  I will miss them, as I will miss my colleagues from around the state.  I have always treasured the annual opportunity to hobnob with fellow wizards at the Deans and Directors meeting, and I appreciate the good work this organization does for us all and for our students.

In June it’s out to pasture for me, as I join my wife Anne and the animals in our new home in the hills just a bit south of Fayetteville, Arkansas.

PS:  Cuesta will fill the position.  We tweaked the job description, which is now awaiting approval.  Expect to see an announcement, possibly in April, more likely in May.

Kari Wergeland will be retiring from Cuyamaca College on June 30, 2017 after 16 1/2 years of service.  Kari has served as the electronic resources librarian by establishing and maintaining the library’s website.  She most recently did a great deal of work on setting up the library’s presence in Canvas, the new Course Management System we are adopting.  Kari also piloted our embedded and guest librarian services and oversaw collection development.  A number of years ago, she and Patty Morrison, a Grossmont College colleague, worked together to develop LIR 110, Research Methods in an Online World. Kari will be spending time working on her writing and enjoying life.  Her chapbook, Breast Cancer: A Poem in Five Acts, has recently been accepted by Finishing Line Press.  For more information, please visit: kariwergeland.com.

De Anza College Library launched a series of seven Information Literacy videos in Fall 2016.  The Library partnered with the Speech Communication Department to create the content.

From Fall 2016, all students seeking a degree at De Anza fulfill an Information Literacy requirement by taking one of two mandatory Speech courses.  The videos supplement library orientations and are available to all students as a link on the Library’s web page.

In just two quarters, the videos have been viewed more than 13,000 times. http://www.deanza.edu/library/infoliteracy.html

The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

Although the focus is urban public libraries there are many issues addressed in this report that are of common interest to libraries everywhere

“Today, libraries are more important than ever to American democracy. At a time of unprecedented public distrust in institutions, people still believe that libraries have an essential role to play in our communities. As we search for new ways of improving the flow of accurate information, of connecting with one another, and preparing ourselves for an ever-more digital future, libraries are being called on to do more and more. We hope this document advances libraries’ ability to fulfill that mission.”

https://goo.gl/vc2wB6

— Norman Buchwald (Chabot College) Committee Chair  Hello, everyone and hope you have enjoyed your Spring breaks!

The CCL-EAR Committee has actually had quite a busy semester, continuing to work on reviews, have active discussions on databases and technology issues across campuses, and continue to represent all of our constituents.  Since the January meeting, we have been working on at least six reviews, two of which are already published at: https://cclibrarians.org/consortium/reviews 

A comparison review on information literacy tutorials and a Quick Look review on Sage Humanities and Social Sciences Journals.  We are currently working on two comparison reviews:  Test preparation products (Prep Step, Gale Testing and Education Reference Center and Mometrix) and a large video streaming comparison review, which includes Films on Demand, Swank, Kanopy, Ambrose, Intelecom, and NBC Learn.  A regular review on New York Times and a Quick Look preview on Bloomsbury are also in the mix, and by this Fall, a Quick Look review on PressReader.

We had a teleconference meeting on March 6^th and have our next teleconference meeting on April 28^th.  Three committee members, Brian Greene of the East Central region, Sally Chuah of the West Central Region, and Stephanie Rosenblatt of the Southcoast region will be rotating off and new members Nancy Golz and Yvonne Reed have already been approved by the board to replace Brian and Sally, and a Southcoast region nominee has been forwarded to the Board for approval (who will replace Stephanie).

CCL-EAR alum, Tamara Weintraub is working with both past and present members of CCL-EAR to author an article on our ambitious EBook de-selection project as we became aware that other consortia who have had either present or past shared collections have not pursued much up to this point on a de-selection policy.  The plan is to submit it to a traditional, professional publication such as College and Research Libraries News, once written.

Finally, I am sure you are aware of CCL-EAR’s recommendation last Fall for ADA Compliancy from all of our vendors and how CountyWatch, unfortunately, admitted they could not guarantee they could even strive toward that goal (and as announced at the Dean and Directors meeting, the statewide subscription will cease on December 31^st).  For information on how to effectively learn current Web accessibility standards, the committee did follow up with an inquiry to Sean Keegan, Accessibility Consultant of the California Community Colleges Technology Center and he suggested that the best site to learn is from the University of Washington: http://www.washington.edu/accessibility/web/

Sean also wrote an article for the CCL Outlook last November on current ADA Compliancy standards and how to address vendors on this issue at: http://cclccc.org/outlook/2016/11/letter-to-ccl-sean-keegan-accessibility-consultant/

The FLC Library put on an inaugural event called Crafitivism on April 4 and 5. It was a great success. Here is some more info on it:

Craftivism, a term emerging near the beginning of this millennium and associated with Betsy Greer, is a concept connecting the arts and crafts movement personalized activism in an endeavor to effect social change. By advocating the use of creativity for the improvement of the world, craftivists worldwide have taught knitting lessons, sewed scarves for battered women's shelters, knitted hats for chemotherapy patients, or even dropped positive message called "love bombs" throughout their communities.

Through this DIY approach to making the world a better place, the FLC Library encouraged guests to create items that share a message of love and support. The Folsom Lake College library set up various crafting stations throughout the library for students, employees and community members to join together and create. Stations included paper crafts, embroidery and fabrics, beading, drawing and more.

With enormous creativity and compassion, participants created over 60 items in the form of jewelry, bookmarks, mini books, stuffed dolls, hand-stitched messages, cards, and other kind messages of love and encouragement. All craftivism items are being donated to a local group Opening Doors, whose mission is to empower refugees, immigrants, human trafficking survivors, and underserved Sacramento area residents to achieve self-sufficiency by accessing opportunities to mainstream economic and social systems.

At Glendale Community College, our colleague Nancy Getty is retiring.

On the heels of fifteen years as a reference and instruction librarian at the University of California, Riverside’s Rivera Library, Nancy came to Glendale College as an adjunct librarian in September 2002.  After two and a half years providing reference service, teaching library workshops, course-related orientations, and our credit course, Nancy was hired as a full-time tenure-track faculty member in February of 2005.  It was then that she added to her responsibilities the coordination of the workshop program which now serves an average of 2,000 students per semester.

Nancy has also served as the Library’s liaison to the Health Sciences, Language Arts, and Visual and Performing Arts Divisions.

For several years she co-chaired, then chaired the Research Across the Curriculum Committee (RAC), a subcommittee of the Library and Information Competency Committee, of which she is also a member.  As part of RAC, Nancy developed and co-facilitated three information competency colloquia for interested GCC faculty members.

For a number of years Nancy led the Library’s participation in the One Book One Glendale College programs.

In 2013 Nancy wrote the successful Gateway Grant proposal: Re-visioning the College Library: a Plan for Space and Usage, and coordinated the consultant’s visits to campus as he assessed the Library and met with the various stakeholders. Will Baty’s report was instrumental in spawning the updates and upgrades that we’ve seen—and continue to look forward to—in the Library over the past couple of years.

Nancy has also participated in governance.  She was elected to two terms in the Academic Senate as a senator-at-large, during both of which she served on the Academic Senate Executive Committee as First Vice-President and currently as Treasurer.  She also served for several years on the Sabbatical Committee.  During the most recent accreditation cycle she was a writer/researcher for the Standard III-A team.  She continues to serve on the Guild Elections Committee and is currently also on Team A.

Grossmont College is searching for a permanent Dean of the Learning & Technology Resource Center. The Dean in this position oversees the Library, Instructional Computing & Media, Tutoring, and Distance Education. The supervisors of Technology, Tutoring, and Library services report directly to the Dean. The posting is available at:

https://jobs.gcccd.edu/applicants/jsp/shared/position/JobDetails_css.jsp?postingId=149842

Las Positas College Library hosted a National Library Week celebration on April 11^th.  Students cheerfully posed for pictures. Students were also asked why they use the library and one of the responses is attached here.

The Center has identified Trends relevant to Libraries and librarianship. Trends are organized into seven categories - Society, Technology, Education, the Environment, Politics (and Government), Economics, and Demographics

This collection is available to help libraries and librarians understand how trends are developing and why they matter. Each trend is updated as new reports and articles are made available.

http://www.ala.org/transforminglibraries/future/trends

The Center also produces the Library of the Future Blog:  a weekly wrap-up of news and articles to help library professionals think about the future of our collections, spaces, services, partners, and roles in the community. The blog roll can be accessed at:

http://www.ala.org/transforminglibraries/future/blog/

Subscribe to email notification of the latest  “Read for Later” at:

http://www.ala.org/transforminglibraries/future

In honor of national poetry month, on Wednesday, April 19th, the Los Angeles Southwest College Library, Reading Program, and Student Success Committee, are hosting “Read-In at LASC”. This event focuses on readings from Tupac Shakur’s book “The Rose That Grew from Concrete.” Also on the program, additional poetry will be read by students, faculty and staff, surrounding themes such as Love, Military, Social Justice, Identity and Grief. The event includes discussion, a student poetry contest, and a slide show with previously taped interviews with Tupac Shakur. The event takes place on the main floor of the newly refurbished Library located in the Cox Building.  Light refreshments will be served. Students who attend will receive a copy of “The Rose that Grew from Concrete.”

The College Library in collaboration with the college’s English Department will be celebrating National Poetry Month in April.

Thursday, April 20th at 2:00 pm at the library Poetry Reading with Teresa Mei Chuc and Student Poets.

Teresa Mei Chuc was born in Saigon, Vietnam and immigrated to the U.S. under political asylum with her mother and brother shortly after the Vietnam War while her father, who had served in the Army of the Republic of Vietnam, remained in a Vietcong "re-education" camp for nine years. Teresa, a fellow and teacher consultant of the Los Angeles Writing Project (a chapter of the National Writing Project), teaches literature and writing at a public high school. Teresa has a bachelor’s degree in philosophy, professional teaching credentials in primary and secondary education, and a Masters in Fine Arts in Creative Writing (poetry) from Goddard College in Plainfield, Vermont. She was nominated for a Pushcart Prize in 2012 for "Truth is Black Rubber," a section of poems in her collection Red Thread, and Teresa was nominated for a Pushcart Prize in 2016 for her poem "Quan Am on a Dragon."

Thursday, April 27th All day Poem in Your Pocket Day 

The Academy of American Poets and the League of Canadian Poets has designated April 27th as “Poem in Your Pocket Day”.  Every April, people celebrate by selecting a poem, carrying it with them and sharing it with others throughout the day.  Students are encouraged to drop by the library any time on April 27th  and choose a poem to  share it with their friends and family. There will be poems written by classic, contemporary and student poets provided.

Membership Report

As the last few membership payments come trickling in, I'm tempted to predict this year's final membership number. 

Membership payments still coming in?

Yes, I know that most of you wrapped it up by December.  But after the D&D meeting, I always check back in with the colleges from whom nothing has been received to see what the situation might be.  Yes, there are cases where the college simply can't pay (and that's not the choice of the library).  BUT it may be that the payment is still sitting in the Business Office (it happens), or that the transaction vanished electronically (yep, that has happened), or that it never made it out of the Library (administrative or clerical turn-over).  And it may be that the check was sent, but never received by CCL.  Once in a while that happens, too.  

I know that there are late payments in the mail, or at least in the process.

Thanks to all who responded so quickly!

So, my prediction:  108 paid memberships (this would be our highest ever!). And I'd love to have guessed too low!

Regards -- Gregg Atkins, CCL Executive Director

The Merced College faculty librarians are partnering with the BSSOT Grant on campus to design and plan for a new Interdisciplinary Literacy Center on campus.  As part of this effort, Karrie Bullock and Joey Merritt are enrolled in a six-week Reading Apprenticeship train- a- trainer training.  This gives them an opportunity to partner with discipline faculty to design research sessions incorporating the techniques they have learned such as personal reading histories.  Dee Near is part of a Habits of Mind team, and is helping design a First Year Experience course for the campus which will include information literacy as well as habits of mind for a college student. Merced College library is also excited to sponsor our first Poetry Slam on May 5.

1)     Myla Stokes Kelly, San Elijo Campus Librarian, will be retiring at the end of June 2017 after 29 years of service at MiraCosta College.  Myla was hired in 1988 as the founding librarian at the new San Elijo Campus.  She has been pivotal not only in developing and sustaining that library, but her influence has also been felt throughout the entire San Elijo Campus .  Ever focused on student needs, she has been a tireless champion for improvement, within and outside the library.

Over the years, Myla has served in various capacities at the College including Library Department Chair, curator of the Mingei Collection, as well as numerous library exhibits, member of the Academic Master Plan and Sustainability Committees, and mentor and advisor to many librarians.  She will end her tenure at MiraCosta as co-chair of the district-wide Budget and Planning Committee.  Myla’s colleagues wish her well in retirement, and look forward to hearing about her new achievements in that arena!

2)     The MiraCosta College Library has a major exhibition on display this spring.  Uncommon Ground: Behind the Barbed Wire – a 75^th Remembrance of Japanese American Internment brings together students, faculty, staff and the community to remember this dark period of American history.  A major part of this exhibition is at the Oceanside campus and features a large scale model of both Manzanar and a guard tower created by students in the MiraCosta Design club; writing from MiraCosta English students and staff; historical pieces loaned from the Japanese American Historical Society of San Diego; an installation of the Poston piece from Wendy Maruyama’s Tag Project and many other items.  A smaller scale display is featured at the San Elijo and Community Learning Center campuses.  The filmmaker Claudia Katayanagi recently visited the Oceanside campus to screen her film A Bitter Legacy and the San Elijo campus will host a panel discussion with former internees later in April.  Please visit our companion website at http://miracosta.edu/9066 for more information.

Librarians Brian Greene (Modesto Junior College) and Elizabeth Horan (Coastline Community College) are contributing a chapter to an ALA book about Library Services for Commuter Students. The librarians surveyed students at each college about their study habits and were surprised at some of the findings.  It has opened up new discussions about Library Services, Library Design, and the best way to evolve the library to support students more effectively.  Early data has been fascinating and we look forward to sharing more information with CCL in the Fall.

Napa Valley College and community partners will host the travellingt Smithsonian Institution exhibit:  "Bittersweet Harvest: The Bracero Program 1942-1964."   The exhibition will be on display at the Napa Valley Museum this September 2 - November 12, 2017. An accompanying exhibit, will feature the legacy of the Bracero Program in Napa and draw attention to the untold story of its importance in the development of Napa's wine industry and the Latino community. Over the past two years, Napa Valley College Library, in partnership with Student Services, has supported the effort to bring Latino History to the college by first working with students to learn information literacy (research as inquiry) in a work/study class and to present a Latino History Community Program; collaborated with History Professor on revising archived Local History Course; wrote a Napa History-Bracero Libguide http://napavalleycollege.libguides.com/c.php?g=586243 to support student research and arranged for students to use the Library's media studio to record oral histories of Bracero's family members.

At its March meeting the CCL Executive Board elected Dr. Doug Achterman of Gavilan College to a two-year term as the next President of CCL. He will assume these duties in July.

The outgoing president Meghan Chen, Mt. San Antonio College will remain on the Board as the Immediate Past President.

Kenley Neufeld, currently serving as the Immediate Past President, will rotate off the Board.

The Board also welcomed Marlene Forney from Palomar College as the new Representative for the San Diego/Imperial Region.

And your loyal editor, Johanna Bowen

(Cabrillo College Library Director 1995-2010) (CCL Past President 2002/2006) has decided to step down from her Ex Officio Board position as editor for the CCL Website (since 2002), the Directory (since 2012),  and the CCL Outlook newsletter (since 2007).  Johanna led and directed … counseled and advised … created and organized … held it together and helped forge new paths … she has been a key participant in all of the major work of CCL in the last 15+ years.  Her passion has always been for better libraries, empowered and engaged librarians, students and classroom faculty served well, and for a strong and active community college librarians organization.  Her colleagues at the Deans & Directors meeting gave her a strong standing ovation in recognition.  She will be keenly missed.

What is on the five-year horizon for academic and research libraries? Which trends and technology developments will drive transformation? What are the critical challenges and how can we strategize solutions?

These questions regarding technology adoption and educational change steered the discussions of 77 experts to produce the NMC Horizon Report: 2017 Library Edition, in partnership with the University of Applied Sciences (HTW) Chur, Technische Informationsbibliothek (TIB), ETH Library, and the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL).

Six key trends, six significant challenges, and six developments in technology profiled in this report are poised to impact library strategies, operations, and services with regards to learning, creative inquiry, research, and information management. The three sections of this report constitute a reference and technology planning guide for librarians, library leaders, library staff, policymakers, and technologists. View the work that produced the report on the project wiki.

Download the report  (PDF)

http://cdn.nmc.org/media/2017-nmc-horizon-report-library-EN.pdf

Participate in Identifying the future of the California Community Colleges. Strategic Vision for the California Community College System

“The Chancellor's Office, with support from the Foundation for California Community Colleges, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, The James Irvine Foundation, and College Futures Foundation, is developing a strategic vision for the California Community College system - a long-term, ambitious vision grounded in the needs of the state. The purpose of the project is to articulate the importance of the Community Colleges, identify clear goals for the system, and provide broad recommendations for how to accomplish those goals. The hope is that the resulting document will serve as a guide for the Chancellor's Office and Board of Governors over the next several years.”

Share your thoughts through a Virtual Town Hall. 

Go to: https://foundationccc.org/Strategic-Vision-2017

“We want to hear your thoughts as a part of this process. Provide your feedback for any or all of the following questions before May 31, 2017. We will read every response and use it to inform the development of the strategic vision for the California Community Colleges.”

In support of the One Book One Campus project, and in keeping with our theme of empowering women this year, we are honoring Malala and her efforts to help educate girls around the world; a legacy of advocates. Dressed in authentic attire, meet the Living Statues in the Lobby and/or Patio area 45 minutes114 2017 before the concert.

By John Carey and Ajatshatru Pathak in Evidence Based Library and Information Practice 2017, 12.1

https://goo.gl/P9ZXdb

This study augments the existing literature on user perceptions of reference services by not only analyzing the reference medium preferences of students from different academic disciplines, levels, and demographic groups but also by comparing the preferences of students from two year institutions against those of four-year college students.

Results

Nearly 75% of respondents expressed a preference for face-to face reference, while only about18% preferred remote reference services (online chat, email, text message, and telephone). Close to 84% of the participants cited remote reference services as their least preferred modes and

slightly more than 10% said this of face toface. The data reveal a widespread popularity of face to face reference service among all types of participants regardless of institutional affiliation, age, gender, academic level, field of study, and race or ethnicity.

Conclusion

This study suggests that given the opportunity academic library users will utilize face-to-face reference service for assistance with research assignments. Academic libraries at both two-year and four-year institutions might consider assessing user views on reference modes and targeting support toward services that align with patron preferences.

We had a 13% improvement in responses compared to last year’s Dean and Directors meeting, meaning a lot of us had a lot to say, and it was mainly praise.  Members were mostly satisfied with the two day workshop with high praises for the CSU ILS presentation, Tim Karas’ talk on leadership, James Wiser’s talk on updates on consortium offers, and Dr. Karen Brown, our keynote speaker.  Also general appreciation for regional meetings, although one requested that more time be allowed for this portion in the conference.  Comments included not only praise for the speakers for also the opportunity for colleagues in this environment and there was actually requests for even more time in this area. One stated with enthusiasm, “I thought this was the best meeting of all of the previous meetings I attended.”

Wishes for improvement included more time for colleagues to talk with one another, more breaks, and a general wish that the event was longer.  There was a request that FACCC also have someone there to give a presentation, persons at a higher level of the Chancellor’s office to attend,  and people originally to be scheduled from the state show (instead of last minute replacements).   Ideas for future topics include “strategies for increasing budgets,” “library security and staffing issues,”  “how libraries can integrate with Canvas,” “more specific examples (case studies) of libraries leading [the] OER effort,” “add a mini workshop on assessment,” and in general, time for “more audience participation.”

EBSCO California Community College Focus Group – South
Adele Enright worked with EBSCO to provide a location on the Rio Hondo College campus to host Southern California Community College Librarians Forum. EBSCO's representatives included two V.P.s several product managers and technical managers as well as our local sales representative, Janet Lerch.  EBSCO wanted to hear from community college librarians and our unique perspective on serving community college students and what is needed to enhance students library and learning experiences.

EBSCO listened to the librarians concerns, answered questions, and provided an overall view of how they plan to proceed with new products, updated features, improvements, and with investments in open source products, in particular FOLIO; collaborative open source application for libraries.

Dean, Library and Instructional Support
The Rio Hondo College Board of Trustees appointed Dr. Jose Aguinaga, Dean, Library and Instructional Support, to begin on July 1, 2017.  Dr. Aguinaga's most recent position was at Glendale Community College, AZ.

Retirements

Stephanie Wells, Librarian for 28 years at Rio Hondo College Library

Adele Enright, Librarian for 27 years at Rio Hondo College Library

Riverside City College’s Rotella Library is seeking outstanding candidates for one full-time, tenure track Outreach Librarian position. Announcement and application information:

https://jobs.rcc.edu/applicants/Central?quickFind=57107

Closing date is May 5, 2017

Approximately 100 students and faculty attended the workshop, "Fake News: Navigating the Seas of Misinformation," which was hosted separately at the two campus libraries in early April. Librarian Canon Crawford guided the conversation with discussion focused on combatting fake news, critical thinking, media bias and filter bubbles. A research guide was provided for continued review of related themes and resources.  Fake News Library Guide: http://libguides.santarosa.edu/fakenews

The work of faculty colleagues Nancy Persons (Library) and Laura Larque (History) is featured in the final report from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the American Library association. Nancy and Laura presented 4 programs funded by the NEH/ALA grant Latino Americans: 500 Years of History during the 2015-2016 academic year. A digital copy of the final report can be accessed at http://www.ala.org/la500-final-report

Sami Lange, Outreach and Exhibits librarian at Santa Rosa Junior College, has been accepted in to the Online Phd program at the University at Buffalo, New York, in Curriculum, Instruction and the Science of Learning. She begins the program in Fall 2017.

The San Jose State Library and Information Science (LIS) Publications Wiki has an analytical entry for the CCL Outlook Newsletter at: https://goo.gl/CQmNMf

If you’re part of the LIS world and want to share your knowledge and ideas through your writing, you’ve come to the right place.

This wiki gathers information about publications you can contribute to, whether you want to reach your colleagues or your community.

Are you a librarian or information professional, an LIS educator or researcher, or an LIS student looking for the best venue for your professional writing?

The wiki can lead you to opportunities you may not have known about. Start your search here: http://ischoolwikis.sjsu.edu/lispublications/

Dennis Wolbers will be retiring from Skyline College at the end of Spring 2017 semester. During his 24 year career at Skyline, Dennis has been an important asset to the library and the college. As a Reference and Instruction Librarian, he played a leadership role in establishing a graduation requirement in Information Literacy, which is a combination of research skills, critical thinking skills, and computer skills essential for academic success, effective functioning in the workplace, and participation in society as knowledgeable citizens.  In order to measure the effectiveness of the library’s Information Literacy instruction program, Dennis created and implemented the Skyline College Information Literacy Assessment Plan.  In another key role, Dennis served as the library’s Collection Development Coordinator, in which he guided the selection and management of the library’s books, periodicals, and online databases to ensure that these resources met the evolving information and education needs of Skyline students, faculty, staff, and the broader community.

Dennis has also been very active in participatory governance by serving on many college committees, including the Curriculum Committee (as chair and co-chair), the Academic Senate, the Student Learning Outcomes and Assessment Committee, the General Education Committee, and the Accreditation Steering Committee. The primary theme and overarching goal of Dennis’s career has been to support and encourage independent, lifelong learning and the intellectual growth of Skyline students.  In 2013, Dennis was honored with the Skyline Shines College Award in recognition of his efforts to support and enhance the teaching mission of the College.

Systems and Technology Librarian Yvonne Read has been appointed to serve as the West Central representative for CCL-EAR from 2017-2020.  We are excited about the opportunity to become more involved with the consortium and our librarian colleagues.  VVC completed its ACCJC accreditation site visit at the beginning of March, we were pleased to have SBVC Librarian Dr. Celia Huston on our visiting team.  We are in the process of transitioning our information competency online tutorial from GOTS (Guide on the Side) software to the LibGuides' LibWizard module.  This tutorial is used to meet the college's information competency requirement for students enrolled in online sections of English 101.  As a result of organizational restructuring, the library now reports to the Dean of Instruction, Distance Learning and Library Services (we were formerly under the Dean of Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences.)

Cynthia Mari Orozco has been hired as the Librarian for Equitable Student Services Cynthia comes to ELAC from CSU Long Beach, where she worked primarily with first-generation college students, transfer students, and international students. As Librarian for Equitable Services, Cynthia hopes to improve access to library resources and services to non-traditional students at both the Monterey Park and South Gate campuses.

Ken Lin has been hired as the User Experience Librarian. His Interests include music, storytelling, science, engineering, and how people interact with resources and the library as place.