By CCL President Doug Achterman
The Library Services Platform project is in high gear, as eleven colleges--Allan Hancock College, City College of San Francisco, Cypress College, East LA, Foothill College, Long Beach City College, Oxnard College, Pasadena City College, Pierce College, Santa Rosa Junior College, and Shasta College—are completing a trial run of migration and testing a “production environment” with the new system this semester. Their experience will inform the process put in place to guide other participating colleges—now a substantial majority—as we begin a year-long process of preparing data for migration, undergoing extensive training, and finally implementing our new system in December 2019 or January 2020
The ASCCC Spring Plenary Session was held at the San Mateo Marriott from April 12-14. Elections for the Executive Committee for 2018-19 were held with the following results:
|
Executive Committee, 2018-19 |
||
|
President |
John Stanskas |
San Bernardino Valley |
|
Vice President |
Dolores Davison |
Foothill |
|
Secretary |
Craig Rutan |
Santiago Canyon |
|
Treasurer |
Ginni May |
Sacramento City |
|
Area A |
Geoffrey Dyer |
Taft |
|
Area B |
Conan McKay |
Mendocino |
|
Area C |
Rebecca Eikey |
Canyons |
|
Area D |
Sam Foster |
Fullerton |
|
North |
Cheryl Aschenbach |
Lassen |
|
North |
Carrie Roberson |
Butte |
|
South |
Anna Bruzzese |
Los Angeles Pierce |
|
South |
LaTonya Parker |
Moreno Valley |
|
At-Large |
Mayra Cruz |
De Anza |
|
At-Large |
Silvester Henderson |
Los Medanos |
Special thanks to outgoing President Julie Bruno for her outstanding guidance and support in fostering a more established relationship between the ASCCC and the library/librarian community.
In addition to a wide variety of breakout topics, the Session delegates also vote on resolutions which guide the work of the ASCCC and provide guidance to the ASCCC leadership in their work with CCC partners (e.g. Board of Governors, Chancellor’s Office, CEOs, CIOs, CSSOs, CBOs, Student Senate). Resolutions discussed, debated, and voted upon by the delegates included such issues as the new Funding Formula, the Fully Online Community College, AB 705, and Guided Pathways. The text of the resolutions can be found on the ASCCC website (asccc.org) under Events/Plenary Sessions/Spring 2018/Resolutions.
The ASCCC recently held a highly successful Academic Academy on the topic of Guided Pathways. The resources and presentation materials from the Academy can be found on the ASCCC website under Events/Past Events/Academic Academy. I tried to mention libraries as much as possible and shared the materials from the CCL April workshops on Guided Pathways with several participants. Speaking of GP, congratulations to Cynthia Orozco, librarian from East Los Angeles College, who is a member of the ASCCC Guided Pathways Task Force.
As noted by Laura Hope, Executive Vice Chancellor of Education Services and Support, the Chancellor’s Office is establishing a regional support network to enhance guided pathways implementation.. This approach began in the Central Valley, already connected through the Central Valley Higher Education Consortium (CVHEC), and for the last six months, this area has benefitted from collaborative efforts between the colleges there and a Central Valley Guided Pathways Coordinator. As evidenced by the pilot in the Central Valley, the Chancellor’s Office is seeking six additional coordinators in the remaining regions: Bay Area, Los Angeles/Orange County, North/Far North, San Diego/Imperial, Inland Empire, and South Central Coast.
Primarily, the regional coordinators will function as connectors, leaders, trainers, and supporters in the regions to which they have been assigned. Guided pathways implementation will prompt unique challenges and opportunities for every college engaged in this effort. The coordinator is positioned to know those challenges and opportunities, animate resources, engage experts, facilitate collaboration and learning, and support progress. These appointments should be announced in the next month or so.
Upcoming ASCCC Events
|
Upcoming ASCCC Events |
||
|
AB 705 Regional Meetings |
September 20 |
San Bernardino Valley College |
|
ASCCC Executive Committee Meeting |
September 28-29 |
San Diego |
|
AB 705 Regional Meeting |
October 6 |
Cosumnes River College |
|
Area Meetings |
October 12 |
College of the Sequoias (Area A) |
|
October 13 |
Compton College (Area C) |
|
|
ASCCC Plenary Session |
November 1-3 |
Irvine |
I hope your summer has been relaxing and you’re settling in to gear up for the upcoming fall semester. It’s been a busy summer for the Library Consortium, and here are a few updates to keep in mind as the fall semester continues:
All renewal forms should be available for your library in the CCLC Procurement System no later than October 1. The deadline for returning these renewal forms will be Friday, November 9th.
The annual CCL 2019 gathering of Library department chairs, coordinators, head librarians, managers, directors and deans is now on the calendar!
There will be (as always!) plenty to talk about, plenty to learn about, plenty to share. Don’t delay – get this on your calendar now! More info and registration arrangements follow in January 2019.
MEMBERSHIP INVOICES FOR 2018-19 ARE IN THE MAIL (AND NO CHANGE IN COST)
The annual CCL Membership Invoices have been mailed out to each college library.
And the price ($150) has stayed the same – how do they do it?
Questions, problems, etc.? Contact Gregg Atkins, CCL Executive Director (greggatkins@cclibrarians.org)
On September 10, the Chancellor’s Office sent a memo to contact person at each college with information about the 2017-18 Annual Library Data Survey with an anticipated return date of October 31, 2018. For questions about the survey, e-mail Erin Larson at elarson@cccco.edu. Ensure the email subject line is formatted as: College Name, Question about 2017-18 Annual Library Data Survey.
The MiraCosta library is pleased to showcase two exhibits in commemoration of Latinx/Chicanx Heritage Month and in collaboration with the annual Latino Book & Family Festival taking place on September 15, 2018, at the Oceanside Campus.
Voces Americanas: Latino Literature in the United States is a celebratory survey of works by Latinos in the past thirty years. This exhibit presents images of authors, books, movie stills, public presentations, and illustrations. It is based on an original exhibition at the University of Houston Library that documented a quarter century of Hispanic publishing in the United States. The exhibit will run until the end of September and is located in the Oceanside Campus Library lobby.
The Spanish and Portuguese department, its student association (SELACH), and MA Spanish students from San Diego State, University present an exploration of bilingualism and Spanglish in the United States. The exhibit includes information on the role that Spanglish plays in today’s society, its influence in forming Hispanics/Latinos’ sense of identity, and attitudes towards bilingual behavior such as code-switching. It also provides current demographic information of Spanish in the US, myths and fears about bilingualism." This exhibit, Bilingualism and Spanglish in the United States, is located on the 2nd floor of the Oceanside Campus Library and will run until the end of October.
1st Library Shark Tank and Hive Mind
October 12-14, 2018
Monterey, CA
Join other thinkers, doers, misfits and bad-ass librarians at the Asilomar Conference Grounds right beside the Pacific Ocean near Monterey, CA.
Internet Librarian 2018
October 16-18
Monterey CA
More info: http://internet-librarian.infotoday.com/2018/
Technology in Education Conference
October 16, 2018, 9:00 am -3:00 pm
CSU, Dominguez Hills, Loker Student Union Conference
More info: https://at.csudh.edu/conference/
California Conference on Library Instruction 2019: Reimagining Student Success: Approaches That Increase Participation, Representation, and Relevance.
Proposal deadline: October 22, 2018
Conference: Friday, May 3, 2019
University of San Francisco
Please submit your CCLI 2019 proposal at: https://goo.gl/MzLYPY.
California Library Association Conference
November 9 - 11, 2018
Santa Clara, CA
More info: https://conference.cla-net.org/2018/
Los Angeles Trade-Technical College Library held a naming event and dedication on April 12, 2018. Sponsored by the Black Faculty and Staff Association and the campus Library Department, the campus officially named the Library Reference Desk in a lunchtime ceremony after the late campus librarian Joyce W. Livingston. Joyce worked at Trade Tech as a librarian for 33 years, fourteen as department chair and was active throughout campus, at the District, statewide and in the community. She served for years as the college’s reference librarian and helped countless students with their work and their educational direction. She passed away in August of 2012, less than two months after her retirement. We were honored to have Joyce Livingston’s three children with us (Deanne, Ron and Kevin), as well as former librarians and many who cherished her and her work. After the dedication, many of the attendees joined for a reception sponsored by Black Faculty and Staff Association to share more stories.
Collaborative work spaces within academic library settings are becoming increasingly important as libraries consider their roles in the 21st century. Full-text at https://crl.acrl.org/index.php/crl/article/view/16888
The Sierra College Library just finished a remodel, turning the 1990s era space into a modern library and learning commons. All of the circulating books were moved upstairs to open up the main floor into a learning commons. The Writing Center and computer lab were moved to this floor, joining the learning commons desk (which now handles book checkout, reserves, student IDs, and technology help) and research help desk. Additional group study rooms, outlets and comfortable seating were added to both floors. A few other special features added during the renovation are a coffee shop called Stacks Café, and a meditation room.
You can view the transformation on our Renovation Guide
A collection of articles about migrating to Ex Libris' Alma/Primo products. Know of anther one that should be added to the list? Email CCL Communications Manager Brian Greene at greeneb@yosemite.edu.
D’Amato, K., & Erb, R. A. (2018). The Road from Millennium to Alma: Two Tracks, One Destination. The Serials Librarian, 74(1-4), 217-223. Full-text at (paywall): https://doi.org/10.1080/0361526X.2018.1428475
Fu, P., & Carmen, J. (2015). Migration to Alma/Primo: A Case Study of Central Washington University. Chinese Librarianship: an International Electronic Journal. Full-text at: https://digitalcommons.cwu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?referer=https://scholar.google.com/&httpsredir=1&article=1030&context=libraryfac
Grant, E. M. (2017). One Cataloger’s Action-Packed Adventures with Alma Migration. Georgia Library Quarterly, 54(1), 7. Full-text at https://digitalcommons.kennesaw.edu/glq/vol54/iss1/7/
Kutulas, A, Kim, M., & Flanagan, S. (2016). Life Post-ILS Migration: How Far Have We Come Since Our "Go Live" Dates and Where Do We Go From Here?. Against The Grain, 28(2), 62-63. Full-text at https://docs.lib.purdue.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?referer=https://www.google.com/&httpsredir=1&article=1799&context=charleston
Shadle, S., & Davis, S. (2016). Wrangling Cats: A Case Study of a Library Consortium Migration. Serials Librarian, 70(1-4), 116-120. Full-text (via EBSCO) at http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lxh&AN=116415420&site=ehost-live
Zhongqin (June), Y., & Venable, L. (2018). From SirsiDynix Symphony to Alma/Primo: Lessons Learned From an ILS Migration. Computers In Libraries, 38(2), 10-13. Full-text (via EBSCO) at http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lxh&AN=128568942&site=ehost-live
The MiraCosta College Library has recently started circulating laptops and mobile hotspots to our students. In planning for this new service, we received significant advice from librarians at College of the Sequoias and Chabot College. Additional information is available at http://www.aacc21stcenturycenter.org/article/making-internet-connections/
This year’s Banned Books Week theme is “Banning Books Silences Stories. Speak Out!” Activities are being planned around the country — and across the world — that shed light on censorship. It's too late to order print materials, but digital materials can be ordered anytime at https://bannedbooksweek.org/
This study examines the relationship between library instruction and graduating students’ four-year cumulative grade point averages for the classes of 2012-2015. After normalizing the GPAs by departments to account for differences in departmental grading, a two-tailed t-test indicated a statistically significant increase in GPA among graduating students who were enrolled in classes in which at least one library instruction session was held (n=1,265) over students who were enrolled in no classes with library instruction (n=115). Librarians are using the results to demonstrate the relationship between the library and student success, and to promote library instruction on campus. Full-text at https://crl.acrl.org/index.php/crl/article/view/16824/18994
Just what are faculty looking for when it comes to library outreach? With relatively little formal research available that asks faculty directly about their needs and preferences when it comes to outreach activities, I decided to ask the faculty of a rural community college this question directly using a formal, but low-stakes, survey. Full-article at https://crln.acrl.org/index.php/crlnews/article/view/16934/18636
Did you drink the “Guided Pathways” Kool-aid yet? Coastline College jumped in with both feet and wanted the “Library” to be involved. That was great, but I was pretty confused what Guided Pathways would mean at my college. Lucky things seem to be working out.
Coastline had a few growing pains but ultimately looked at Guided Pathways through the Student Lifecycle and this was a breath of fresh air for me. A call went out college wide for volunteers to be part of different workgroups and the Library became a member of the “Student Academic Persistence” work group. There are six workgroups total. A two day workshop in mid-August allowed each team to create work plans and goals for Fall 2019 and to see how the plans worked with each group. It was effective and even got me a little excited for Guided Pathways!
College of the Canyons hired two new full-time librarians this past summer. Jennifer Thompson and Sara Breshears started on July 2.
Mt. SAC is happy to announce the hire of Esteban Aguilar as our newest full-time librarian. Esteban graduated from Cal State Fullerton with a BA in American Studies and earned his MLIS from San Jose State University. Most recently he worked at the UCLA Library as their Data Collections Analyst. He has held positions at the Claremont School of Theology, the Rancho Cucamonga Public Library, and continues to serve as a consulting librarian for Claremont Lincoln University where he has built their digitally born library. Esteban's began his new position this past July and he will serve as our Electronic Resource Librarian.
Norma Drepaul received her BA from Texas A&M Commerce with a double major in English and Spanish Literature. She received her Master’s Degree in Library Science from the University of North Texas. For the last ten years, Norma worked as the Emerging Technologies Librarian at Lone Star College-North Harris, in Houston, Texas. In addition to reference and library instruction responsibilities, she led her previous library in the deployment of various innovative technology projects such as 3D printing, an educational maker space, Virtual Reality, and the creation of an IMLS grant-funded interactive multidisciplinary collaboration space. In her free time, she enjoys science fiction and riding her trike at the beach with her Maltese terrier in tow.