CCL has been busy these past months, devoting substantial energy to two statewide projects: the RFP and selection of a database vendor to provide a set of core databases for all California community colleges similar to what EBSCO provided over the past five years, and the creation of an RFP for a statewide purchase of a library services platform.

Academic Senate For California Community Colleges (ASCCC)

By Dan Crump

The ASCCC has established a task force on Open Educational Resources (OER), chaired by Dave Dillion from Grossmont College.  The Task Force hosted two workshops on OER---one in the North (College of Marin) on September 15 and one in the South (MiraCosta College) in the South on September 16.  The workshops are intended to update faculty regarding the status of OER in our colleges and to inform faculty at all levels in their OER experience, from the novice seeking to identify OER for their classroom, to the advanced user looking to facilitate OER adoption at the college.  (note: this article is being composed even as the workshops are occurring, so I will provide more information in the next Outlook).

With the passage of the $150 million allocation in the state budget, the Chancellor’s Office is in the process of implementing the Guided Pathways Award Program. This effort will continue into the fall term with the role out of the application process and workshops designed to assist colleges in completing the assessment tool and to provide information and resources for local implementation of guided pathways. Information on the program, including the statute requirements, videos, presentation materials, and other resources, may be found on the IEPI Guided Pathways website (http://iepi.cccco.edu/guided-pathways). The ASCCC is working in collaboration with the Chancellor’s Office and other partners, including the Career Ladders Project and the Research and Planning Group, to support colleges as they explore and decide whether to implement the guided pathways framework.  Additionally, the Academic Senate is committed to ensuring strong faculty participation and leadership as the guided pathways effort moves forward.  To assist in this effort, the ASCCC is requesting that local senates establish a Guided Pathways liaison position to facilitate information sharing between local senates, faculty, and the ASCCC.  It very important for the library and librarians to be in contact with local senate leadership to keep informed about Guided Pathways.

The First Friday update is a periodic news brief to chief instructional officers and chief student services officer colleagues and a great source of information for all of us. I send it out on several of the librarian listservs and you can also access it yourself by going to the Chancellor’s Office website, www.cccco.edu, click on System Operations/Divisions/Academic Affairs, and look under Notes and News. (on the left side of the page)

Upcoming ASCCC Events
Area Meetings (pre-Session)	October 13	Sierra College
	October 13	Santa Rosa Junior College
	October 14	Moorpark College
	October 14	Fullerton College
CTE Regional Meetings	October 20	College of Alameda
	October 22	Chaffey College (Fontana Tech Center)
Civil Discourse and Equity Regional Meetings	October 27	Solano College
	October 28	Fullerton College
Fall Plenary Session	November 2-4	Irvine Marriott
Curriculum Regional Meetings	November 17	North---TBA
	November 18	South---TBA

Community College Library Consortium Report

By James Wiser, Consortium Director

I hope your summer has been relaxing and you’re settling in to gear up for the upcoming fall semester.  It’s been a busy summer for the Library Consortium, and here are a few updates to keep in mind as the fall semester continues:

New Offers We’re pleased to announce new offers from four new vendors for this fall.  To find out more information about them, visit the consortium website at https://cclibrarians.org/.  The new vendors are: HeinOnline: https://cclibrarians.org/providers/heinonline NBC Learn: https://cclibrarians.org/providers/nbclearn STAT!Ref: https://cclibrarians.org/providers/statref Wiley (Cochrane Library): https://cclibrarians.org/providers/wiley   Remember that the username to see each offer’s details is “cclibrary;” email me for the password if you don’t know it.

Updated Offers Most of the fall offers from existing vendors have been updated. As the statewide RFP delayed getting pricing from EBSCO, Proquest, and Gale, those offers will hopefully be updated by October 1.

Fall Renewal Forms Normally I try my best to get renewal forms for your Jan 1-Dec 31 subscriptions generated by October 1, but because of the statewide database RFP renegotiation, this fall the forms will be delayed by two weeks to October 15.   Note that the deadline for returning them will be Friday, November 10, so the window will be a bit tighter than normal for this cycle.

Library Consortium Website The CCL website and the Library Consortium website are currently being redesigned and merged, so to speak, but that site won’t go live until after the fall offer period ends in mid-November.

Listservs and Mailing Lists When we launch the new website later this fall, we will also be eliminating the legacy mailman listservs and moving everything to Google Groups.  No action will hopefully be needed on your part, but know that the CCEARINFO list where you received this email will be ending in November or December.

Electronic Access to Resources (EAR) Committee Report

By Norman Buchwald (Chabot College) Committee Chair

Welcome to a new semester, everyone. The CCL-EAR Committee has already met on September 14 and 15 in Sacramento to discuss current electronic issues and trends, and to plan and begin work on new reviews.

New to the Committee are Nancy Golz from Merced College representing the East Central Region, Yvonne Reed from Victor Valley College representing the West Central Region, and Debra Moore from Cerritos Coilege representing the SouthCoast Region. We strongly welcome them to the group and look forward to their contributions.

Reviews on the horizon include a test preparation database comparison review, an aggregated ebooks comparison review, and individual product reviews on New York Times.com, EBSCO’s Curriculum Builder, and Noodle Tools. Later this Fall, we will be submitting a new survey to see what you would like reviewed for calendar year, 2018.

Regarding statewide offers, I am sure you are aware that the CCL-Exec Board in cooperation with the California Community College Technology Center did put together a Statewide Database RFP Task Force and over the summer and early Fall of 2017, that Task Force did create and put out a new RFP and did look at submissions by vendors, and did interview and see demonstrations from the top three contenders. Based on that work, the intent from the Technology Center is to award the contract to EBSCO. After contract negotiations and Butte Community College District Board of Trustees approval, we should know more specifics by late October. The subscription is guaranteed for five years, from January 2018 to December 2022. Please do not confuse this announcement with the separate future RFP for a statewide ILS.

Once formally announced, CCL-EAR is planning to in some more proactive way keep an eye on what will be the statewide database package. As it will be the common feature all California Community college libraries will have, we hope to continue to see that its quality hopefully persists or even improves during our next five years with them. We still need to work out how that will be, so please take a look at our agendas and minutes of our future meetings.

Speaking of statewide subscriptions, I hope you caught the announcement last May that CountryWatch, now under new management, did come back to Council of Chief Librarians and have now stated clear intention to bring their product to WCAG 2.0 AA compliancy within eighteen months. With this new change in intentions, the Exec Board reversed its earlier decision and have now approved a subscription renewal of the product which will happen in January, 2018. So in addition to the EBSCO database package, we will also have CountryWatch, which we hope are welcoming additions or continuations into your current college database suites.

Speaking of keeping any eye on vendors and trends, last May, the committee did learn about JSTOR’s new Topic Pages feature which includes Wikipedia articles serving as overviews on topic (subject) links students click on from search results. The Committee did contact the vendor and after the vendor chose to remove shorter entries of 150 characters or less and did say that they are also looking at alternatives, they are still at this time featuring their Topic Pages which include a list of relevant entries from JSTOR, with a Wikipedia article on top. The vendor has invited feedback from CCL-EAR and once they have stated how they would like us to participate we are certainly planning to provide additional feedback or testing they say they would like from us on the Topic Pages issue. If you have any concerns, in addition to contacting James Wiser or I, our JSTOR representative, Gregory Bodkin is available at gregory.bodkin@ithaka.org . Keep in mind that CCL-EAR has never asked for the removal of the Wikipedia articles and only expressed concern based on those voiced from teaching faculty.

Below is the schedule of the remaining CCL-EAR meetings for the rest of the academic year. We welcome anyone from a California Community College Library to be a guest to our meetings.

Telephone Conference October 27, 2017
Telephone Conference December 8, 2017
Telephone Conference January 26, 2018
Burbank Face-to-Face February 22-23, 2018
Telephone Conference April 27, 2018

Executive Director's Reports

By Gregg Atkins, CCL Executive Director

Membership:  I’m making a list and checking it twice … oops, no, that’s Santa.

Instead, I am going carefully through my list of the CCL membership invoices and getting them ready to send out to each library by the end of September.  No change in cost (still $150), and easily the best bargain in the state!  In fact, last year 111 CCC libraries paid their invoices (and, yes, that’s the best number ever!).

You can help me with this:  check the CCL Directory for your library’s listing, and verify that the contact name is correct.  Why?  I pull that information off the Directory to use with the invoices and address labels.  Not correct?  Email me ASAP and tell me the correct contact name (and after that CCL will help you update your directory listing).

The invoices arrive in the mail, and each is marked INVOICE ENCLOSED.  And you know what to do after that!

What a year this will be!  A successful completion to the statewide database contract renewal is a great accomplishment!  And we’re powering up to launch our incredible statewide ILS project!  Many thanks for your continued support of CCL and the work it does for everyone.

Saying Goodbye to Johanna: 

In the life of CCL, people come and go – job changes, retirements, other new opportunities.

And some stay involved and engaged -- for more than 22 years, Johanna Bowen has participated, chaired, led and served to keep CCL strong, relevant and focused.

Johanna came to Cabrillo College (Santa Cruz) from New York (SUNY) in 1995 to be the new Library Dean. Struggling to right a badly off-the-rails new library building project, she discovered CCL and saw its possibilities for statewide work and especially for engagement with the CCCCO.

The CCL we have now owes much to her participation:

· Southwest Bay rep 1997-2002
· CCL-EAR Chair 2000-2002
· CCL President 2002-2004 and 2004-2006
· Web manager 2000-2017
· Outlook editor 2007-2017
· Directory editor 2011-2017

What hasn’t she helped shape?! She’s been involved in the consortium purchasing project, the facilities standards project, Title 5 controversies (that we won), the ILS proposal, accreditation standards revisions, the first Ebsco contract and much more. She has testified before the Board of Governors and helped convince State Chancellors. She helped shape a stronger relationship with the CIO group and the Academic Senate.

And Johanna has supported colleagues on the CCL Board throughout those 22 years. Always prepared, always informed, always ready with suggestions and comments to help shape policy and set priorities and get results.

Johanna actually retired from Cabrillo in 2010. It occurred to her to step away from CCL then, but CCL said no. Now, it seems, is finally the time.

Those who have worked and served together with Johanna … well, we raise a glass.

In particular, I want to acknowledge the privilege I have had working with her all these years. My work as Executive Director has been informed, guided and supported by her dedication to libraries, to the students and faculty we serve, to librarianship. She has shared wit, wisdom and candor generously.

Library & Learning Resources Programs Advisory Committee (LLRPAC)

By Dan Crump (Chair)

LLPRAC held its first meeting in several years on May 31.  We made changes to the Committee Mission and Goals statement which is on the Chancellor’s Office website-- www.cccco.edu---LLRPAC page is under the Academic Affairs division.  Major changes included deletion of “Collection Development” and inclusion of “Student Equity & Success.”

The Committee made changes to the Guide, mostly to reflect organizational changes in the field, and also to clarify the following items:

•           Role of each constituent group in the committee

•           Role of librarians and the work libraries are doing

•           Role of learning resources programs (especially tutoring)

•           Input from the committee on statewide issues, e.g. Student Equity, Student Success & Support Program, Strong Workforce Program, Basic Skills Initiative

Other items discussed included the role of libraries and learning resources programs in the use of Open Educational Resources (OER) materials on campuses, and the impact of these programs on student success, and get library and learning resource programs involved in student success initiatives at the college level.

In addition, the Annual Data Survey for 2015-16 was sent out with a deadline of August 31---there are still about eight colleges that need to submit.

Work groups from both the Committee and CCL are working on changes to the survey so that the questions can be asked in the most effective manner.  It is planned that the Annual Data Survey for 2016-17 will be going out very soon, but not until changes have been reviewed and implemented.

Los Angeles Region Update

Members of the Los Angeles region gathered for their bi-annual meeting at the Tam O’Shanter on August 17.  Leaders from the eleven colleges were able to attend. In addition to sharing updates from each college, the group discussed the upcoming redesign of the CCLCCC web site, library participation in various statewide initiatives (SSSP, Equity, Basic Skills, OER, OEI, Guided Pathways and Strong Workforce), integrating library services in Canvas, resource offerings from the Professional Learning Network, progress on the statewide ILS for CCs, and the upcoming ACRL Framework workshops at Pasadena City College and Diablo Valley College.  The group will meet again in February 2018, and will communicate/collaborate virtually in-between these gatherings.

CCL 2017 Fall Regional Workshop – Engaging with the ACRL Framework

Registration available at the CCLCCC.ORG website

 

Locations:

South CA Workshop: 

Friday October 13, 2017

Pasadena City College

Circadian

1570 E. Colorado Blvd.

Pasadena, CA 91107

 

North CA Workshop:
Friday November 3, 2017

Diablo Valley College

Diablo Room

321 Golf Club Rd

Pleasant Hill, CA 94523

 

Description:

Throughout this workshop participants will explore concepts and pedagogical approaches outlined in the Framework and their significance to their own instructional work. Attendees will apply their learning and reflection to creating instruction plans for their local contexts and considering possibilities for growing teaching partnerships.

Registration and Complete Description and Schedule are available at the CCLCCC.ORG Website.

Library 2.017 Explores the Value of Makerspaces

Event: Web Conference
Date: Wednesday, October 11, 2017
Time: 12 - 3 p.m. Pacific Daylight Time
Location: Online at https://goo.gl/vnEg13

Cost: Free

Summer may be conference season, but we have one more conference coming up in the fall that we want to make sure is on your calendar. The Library 2.017: Makerspaces web conference will be held from noon to 3 p.m. Pacific Daylight Time on Wednesday, October 11.

Join the San Jose State University School of Information and our collaborators for this inspiring conversation about makerspaces in libraries. You’ll be sure to get some new ideas and come away energized. The conference is free to attend. Register now!

Abstract: Makerspaces are popping up at libraries more and more these days. The creative outlets for tinkering, collaborating, problem solving, and learning provide a new dynamic for library services. Just like the individual projects made, no two library makerspaces are the same. During this free web conference, attendees will investigate how library makerspaces can foster community partnerships and provide a space for patrons to innovate through hands-on learning.

Report: American Library Association Annual Chicago June 2017

Cognotes: Highlights, updates and news can be found at: http://2017.alaannual.org/cognotes

Report: CCLI 2017 Conference May 2017

New Directions in Library Instruction and Scholarly Communications

College and university libraries are taking an increasing role in guiding scholarly communications activities on their campuses. As scholarly communications have evolved in the direction of open access and sharing of data, information literacy instruction continues to evolve in order to adapt to a rapidly changing research environment. These major shifts offer ripe territory for collaborative innovation at the crossroads.

A program with links to the video of Keynote speaker and Presentation Slides for all speakers is available at: http://www.cclibinstruction.org/2017-conference/

TechKnowledge: Virtual Conference – Creating Equity Through Technology

Presented annually by Library Journal and School Library Journal, the 7th annual TechKnowledge (formerly The Digital Shift) is a dynamic, day-long, complimentary virtual conference that brings together thousands of library professionals and leaders from around the globe and leaders in digital transformation to discuss its impact on libraries and their communities, as well as identify the latest solutions, opportunities and innovations.

This year's theme, Creating Equity Through Technology will address how technology solutions are supporting equity and inclusion within and among libraries’ diverse communities. Our expert speakers and panelists will present innovative ideas and tools for and from libraries of all types.

REGISTER  NOW 

For October 18, 2017, from 10 AM - 5 PM ET for this complimentary virtual conference: no traveling costs, no accommodation costs, no attendance fees. ALL CONTENT. It’s a must for anyone who has a role in their public, academic, or school library setting.

Top Tech Trends – 2017 Annual

Panelists

• Margaret Heller (Moderator) @margaret_heller
• Emily A. Almond @libalmondtech
• Marshall Breeding @mbreeding
• Tara Radniecki @tmradniecki
• Vanessa Hannesschläger
• Veronda Pitchford @vjpitch

Summary of Trends can be found at: http://www.ala.org/lita/ttt

 

A Textbook Dilemma: Digital or paper?

Do we learn better from printed books than digital versions? The answer from researchers is a qualified yes

Claudia Wallis of the Hechinger Report, In Her Science of Learning Column reviewed the research report on the difference between digital and print books.

http://hechingerreport.org/textbook-dilemma-digital-paper/

ACRL…Keeping Up With … Mindfulness by Julie Artman

Mindfulness has become the de rigueur everywhere you look, including academic libraries. At its core and quite simply, mindfulness is being present and aware moment to moment with ease. What does it mean for librarians and why should we consider its positive transformative potential?

http://www.ala.org/acrl/publications/keeping_up_with/mindfulness

Keeping Up With… is an online current awareness publication from the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) featuring concise briefs on trends in academic librarianship and higher education. Each edition focuses on a single issue including an introduction to the topic and summaries of key points, including implications for academic libraries.

Each issue of Keeping Up With... is send via email to ACRL members. Non-members can visit our email subscription page to sign up to receive Keeping Up With… and a variety of other ACRL awareness publications including the ACRL Update newsletter and table of contents alerts for C&RL and C&RL News.

Documenting the Conversation: A Systematic Review of Library Discovery Layers

Jenny S. Bossaller and Heather Moulaison Sandy* in C & R L College & Research Libraries  v. 78, No. 5 (2017) http://crl.acrl.org/index.php/crl/article/view/16714/18221

This article describes the results of a systematic review of peer-reviewed, published research articles about discovery layers, user-friendly interfaces or systems that provide single-search box access to library content. Focusing on articles in LISTA published 2009–2013, a set of 80 articles was coded for community of users, journal type, research method, and results. The findings suggest sustained and potentially a converging professional interest in discovery layers over time. They also demonstrate what has not been studied, finding very little research about how discovery layers affect public libraries or children.

Nine Student Needs Academic Librarians Need to Know

By Steven Bell on August 9, 2017. From the Bell Tower

Undergraduates are not the only user group of concern to academic librarians, but they consume significant amounts of our time and energy. Knowing these nine emerging needs of future students could better inform our service planning and design.

If asked what skills the typical college student needs to succeed academically as as well as after graduation, most academic librarians would likely focus their response on information- or research-related competencies. Given our areas of expertise, that makes sense. No doubt we would point to other emerging areas of interest too, such as privacy and data literacy, critical thinking, a growth mindset, or social justice awareness, where we could contribute to the development of a well-rounded skill set. To what extent would our list of students’ needs match up with those our colleagues in other academic units might highlight? A project called Student Needs 2025+ yields some insight into what future student needs will be beyond our library and information perspective. The short-term, possibly disruptive, future in which student lives will evolve is expected to create significant challenges for higher education.

Read full article here:   https://goo.gl/rXqAqh

Report from the Library Leadership Institute for Academic Librarian (LIAL)

I was finishing up my first year in a new position at Coastline Community College when I saw an announcement from CCL about a Library Leadership Scholarship they had available.  As a solo librarian at Coastline I had found myself in new leadership roles across the campus and I needed some help with my juggling act. The CCL Library Leadership Scholarship allowed me to attend the Leadership Institute for Academic Librarians (LIAL) this last summer at Harvard.

Yes, that Harvard. LIAL is held each summer at Harvard’s Graduate School of Education. Elizabeth Bowman (SBCC) attended LIAL in 2016 and her report in the CCL Outlook covers the nuts and bolts of the program.  You can read about it at this link: http://cclccc.org/outlook/2016/09/library-leadership-scholarship-winners-report-elizabeth-bowman/
LIAL was one of the best professional development opportunities I have ever participated in. The Graduate School of Education at Harvard knows it’s stuff.  They started by creating a very safe environment.  The motto was, “What happens at Harvard, stays at Harvard.”  While we all laughed at this, it created a really safe environment for people to talk about some crazy stuff that was going on at different institutions.  Crazy stuff happens in libraries with patrons, co-workers, and administrators.  It’s alright librarians, you are not alone!

I think the leadership institute  had two main strengths.  The first was the tools presented to be more effective leaders.  Most of the institute was structured around the “Four Frames” from the book, Reframing Academic Leadership by Bolman and Gallos.  And who was one of our LIAL instructors?  Joan V. Gallos, the author of that book!  I will admit it took me awhile to drink the “Four Frames” Kool-Aid, but it was a good tool to structure leadership.  For reference the four frames are not related to the ACRL Framework and can be distilled to the structural frame, innovative frame, human resources frame, and political frame. During the program each person takes a quiz to figure out which frames they are strong and not as strong in.  Kind of like a frames personality test.  The frames are used in an organizational management kind of way because it helps each leader look at different aspect of their institution through a “frame”.  There was also a very reflective aspect to the institute and the frames and that created lots of “ah ha!” moments for multiple people in the program.  The most beneficial tool to me was the “stakeholders’ map.”  One of our lectures was a case study where we created a stakeholders map of everyone related to the case. The person / program was in the center and every person or thing that was a stakeholder was surrounding the center.  Communication paths were drawn to show how stakeholders received information. It was my “ah ha” moment when I created my own stakeholder map because it really showed where I should be focusing the majority of my energies when it came to being a library leader at Coastline. It showed I should be focusing a lot more time on faculty as my primary stakeholders as opposed to administration. My communication path is working with administration pretty effectively.  It was cool to realize I was working well with administration and humbling to see where I needed to improve with faculty.

The second big strength was the relationship building that happened and that was facilitated really well by the small groups each of us was placed in. The leadership institute was a little less than a week, but you met with your small group at least once a day.  These could be structured around content in the lectures or be free form.  My group (Group 1) was the best by far, but I think each group thought their group was the best so that was a good sign.

The library leaders who came to this institute were from all kinds of libraries, but mostly from (big) four year / graduate university libraries.  There were only three of us from Community Colleges and two of us were from California!  I went into this institution with no expectations and took it with a grain of salt when some of the content was big library university focused. Which really only happened once because the majority of the program applied to everyone.  I also swelled with pride when some of the leaders pointed out the big universities were losing track of the students and librarians needed to focus on them again like we do in the community colleges.

I left the leadership institute like a wet dog saturated with all my new knowledge and I had to be careful not to shake it all over everyone around me. The bottom line is that I left with new colleague and friends from “Group 1”, the tools I needed to be a more effective leader, and a Harvard sweater.

I am happy to gush about this program and answer any questions you might have.  Thanks again to CCL for the scholarship that helped support my attendance!

Antelope Valley

Scott Lee is the Scholar in Residence at Antelope Valley College for the 2017-2018 academic year.  This is the highest award given to faculty by our Academic Senate.  Scott is actually the second librarian to win the award.  Carolyn Burrell, the Electronic Resources Librarian, won it for the 2009-2010 academic year.

Butte

We welcome Dr. Carrie Monlux as the new Dean of Instruction to Butte College. Carrie has 26 years of teaching experience and is known for her ability to foster strong community partnerships. She will oversee the Library Services as well as Foreign Languages, Sociocultural Studies, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Study Abroad, and Technology Mediated Instruction. Carrie will be a great addition to CCL and the Northeast Region.

Cabrillo.

OPENSTAX ONLINE TEXTBOOK REVIEW COLLECTION

In an effort to encourage adoption of open education resources, the Cabrillo College library recently purchased a print set of 20 core open education textbooks from OpenStax, one of the main providers of free peer-produced and peer-reviewed online textbooks. Subjects include biology, history, chemistry, physics, political science, psychology, sociology, and math. These textbooks can be checked out by faculty for one week, and were featured in our fall Faculty newsletter as well as in our fall FLEX open house. We have already had one of our Psychology instructors tell us she is allowing her students to use the OpenStax textbook as an option, and she is considering adopting it for next semester. Also, our new Technology Services librarian, Aloha Sargent, put together an informative LibGuide for faculty to use. (Full disclosure: this was a borrowed idea - a colleague sitting at my table during this year's Deans & Directors Meeting in Sacramento mentioned their purchasing a fairly inexpensive OpenStax "starter set" for their faculty to review, and I really liked the idea!)

City College of San Francisco

• City College of San Francisco Library has a lot going on this academic year.  Here are a few highlights from fall semester:

• The Library has committed to spending a year studying the collection with an eye towards providing highly student-centered collections.
• As of fall semester, the Circulation Department has implemented a food for fines program.  Information about this program is accessible from the Library's website.
• The College is in the early stages of engaging withe the OER (Open Educational Resources) movement.  Librarians will be key to making this a success at the College.
• CCSF joined LINK+ this summer and is excited to contribute to this regional network.
• The College received a development grant to develop a District-wide Maker Sphere.  The Media Center (located in a Library building) will become one hub of the maker environment.
• City College Library has revamped its acquisitions processes with the eye to being keenly focused on supporting student and faculty needs.

College of San Mateo

Elnora Kelly Tayag is the newly hired Director of Learning Commons. Elnora will support the integration of the Library, Learning Center, and other instructional services and programs within the Academic Support and Learning Technologies Division (ASLT).

Elnora is an American Library Association (ALA) Spectrum Ph.D. Fellow at the School of Information and Library Science at the University of North Carolina (UNC), Chapel Hill.  Her research interests include digital humanities, museum curation, social justice, and community engagement. Prior to attending UNC, Elnora was an Associate Librarian and Outreach Coordinator at the California State University, Channel Islands.  She has extensive experience in Library services, including expertise in information literacy. And she has teaching experience, having taught an undergraduate critical thinking course.

She published Filipinos in Ventura County, as part of the Images of America series by Arcadia Publishing (2011) and has previously served on the Board of Directors for the Filipino American Library and the UCLA Pilipino Alumni Association. Elnora earned her Master of Library and Information Science from University of California, Los Angeles, Master of Arts in Religion from the Claremont School of Theology, and Bachelor of Arts in Art History with a minor in Religious Studies from University of California, Irvine.

College of the Desert

• Updates :

• We recently hired a new Reference and Instruction Librarian, Hye Chin An-Dunning.
• The Director of Libraries recently took on the role of supervising a new Distance Education and Instructional Design Coordinator, Matthew Calfin.
• The libraries began participating in Question Point during the summer semester.
• We have expanded our service hours at the Indio Campus Library, with reference service M-F

Glendale

Glendale Community College has a new one year contract Technical Services Librarian, Rebecca Cooling.  We have also completed the redesign of our main floor and are working to complete the rest of the library

Laney

In March, Dominique Dozier joined the library staff as the new Evening Reserve Technician.  A graduate of Laney College and CSU East Bay, Dominique worked at San Leandro Public Library for three years prior to coming to Laney.

Public Services Librarian Reginald Constant has been appointed to serve on the City of Oakland’s Library Advisory Commission.

Merced

Wayne Altenberg is a new reference and instruction librarian at the Los Banos campus of Merced College.  Wayne completed his M.L.I.S. degree at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver.  He also has a B.A. in music composition from the University of California, Santa Barbara and a Master’s degree in music theory from the University of Texas at Austin.  His work, volunteer, and internship library experience has been at public schools, Bellevue College in Washington, and public libraries including a volunteer internship at the Central Library of Dublin City Public Libraries in Dublin, Ireland.  Wayne provides reference help to students, information literacy instruction to classes, and will contribute to collection development.  Wayne is thrilled to be working at the Los Banos campus of Merced College.

MiraCosta

Lauren McFall is the new Web Services & Emerging Technologies Librarian at MiraCosta College.  Lauren has experience at both the community college and university level, having worked as a librarian at St. Mary's College of California, CSU East Bay, LA Trade Tech, and most recently at Southwestern Community College.  She was also a knowledge engineer at Ask.com for nearly 5 years and a former community college student herself.  Lauren holds an MLIS from San Jose State University and a BA & MA in Linguistics from UCLA.
In addition to reference desk and instruction duties, Lauren will lead the library’s efforts to enhance its virtual spaces and website including virtual reference, discovery tools, social networking applications, mobile services, cloud services, instructional technologies, and a whole lot more!

Ohlone

The Ohlone Library is running a book curation project called “10 by 10.”  Every month, ten Ohlone employees and students select 10 books they enthusiastically recommend from the library's collection. The books are displayed in the library and are available to checkout. You can view the project at http://libguides.ohlone.edu/10by10

Pasadena City College Update

Since the last Outlook, we have been very busy at Pasadena City College!

June 2017

The team participated in “library style” at commencement, with books balanced on our mortarboards -- celebrating 900 students who crossed the stage to celebrate their completion of their degree or certificate programs.

Also in June, we celebrated 17 students who received their Certificate of Achievement in Library Technology.  Since 2000, 303 students have earned this certificate — with many successfully earning their associate degree or finding employment in libraries. Great work! https://pasadena.edu/library/classes-certificates/library-technology.php

 Some certificate earners with Librarian/Library Technology Program Coordinator, Krista Goguen.

July 2017

Starting July 1, 2017, Danielle Rapue and Mary Wahl started as our new full time librarians!  They replaced the vacant positions of Judy Ohye and Dorothy Potter.

• Mary is serving as our Technical Services librarian, overseeing cataloging, processing, strategic stacks management and archives.  Mary has been a librarian at Cal State Northridge since 2013 as a Digital Materials Cataloger and Digital Services Librarian.  She has also worked as a conservator at the Getty and as an archives technician at the National Archives. 
• Danielle is serving as our Systems and Assessment librarian.  She has been an adjunct librarian at the College of the Sequoias and West Hills College.  She has experience as a Public Services Library Technician at Reedley College and was a researcher for a private market research firm prior to entering the library arena. Both Danielle and Mary have done a fabulous job diving right in to their new roles!  

Also in July, Debbie Smith, Acquisitions Library Technician, retired from the library after 35 years of service!  She was celebrated at several events/parties, received college-wide awards, and was recognized at Commencement for her dedication and service to students.

 Debbie Smith receiving the college Risser Award

August 2017

We celebrated 11 Certificate of Achievement awardees for our Digitization Skills Certificate program in August.  This is a newer program that has quickly gained interest, and has strong enrollment by paraprofessionals and librarians alike.  https://pasadena.edu/library/classes-certificates/digitization-skills.php

The week prior to the fall term, all library staff participated in orienting hundreds of students, and new faculty, about library programs and services.  This year there were 2,500 Pathways students, 26 new faculty, and over 5,000 new students that we began to work with through our participation at Student Success Day (college welcome event), New Faculty Orientation and Pathways Orientation (where we have an integrated Information Literacy program in the 1st year experience course).

In order to help engage new students with the library, we ran the  “Library Matchmaker” button and book matching game again, for a chance to win two $50 college bookstore gift cards.  See our Facebook page to see the student winners!  https://www.facebook.com/shatfordlibrary

 Mary Wahl and Jennifer Jung (the library’s indispensable Admin. Assistant), manning the library booth at Student Success Day

 

We had a great kick-off to the year with our annual library retreat.  This year we spent the day brainstorming and goal-setting at the University Club of Pasadena, right next to Fuller Theological Seminary in Pasadena.  We also had an interesting tour of the Fuller Library, where we are all pictured on their lovely library terrace.

September and Ongoing Activities:

Mane Hakopyan retired after 18 years of service to the library as a technician.  She has been a quiet force on our team – in particular, she supported the college Archives working with librarian Linda Stewart to make our vast amount of college history available in digital format and/or findable by the public.  Like all of our retirees, she received a silver Shatford Star in recognition for her years of service.

A college counselor continues to serve in the building Monday-Friday during open hours. They are available to all students on a walk-in basis.

This past year, our Acquisitions Librarian, Walter Butler lead the acquisition of $80,000 in major statewide grants to implement OER (Open Educational Resources) at our college. More information about OER at PCC can be found at: http://libguides.pasadena.edu/oer

Librarians continue to actively participate across campus in critical initiatives including Equity, Guided Pathways, Workforce Development, campus-wide professional development, distance education, and in student programs including the college’s Food Pantry (https://pasadena.edu/campus-life/lancer-pantry/index.php and Safe Zones for our DACA, Undocumented and LGBTQ students.  https://pasadena.edu/campus-life/safe-zones/daca-faq.php

We are looking forward to another productive, innovative and fun year supporting our students!

Leslie Tirapelle
Dean of Library

Riverside

Riverside City College hired an Outreach Librarian, Daniel Slota, who started Fall 2017. Daniel is an Inland Empire native. He grew up in Bloomington, CA, and later moved to Riverside where he currently resides with his 6-year-old daughter, Paige. Daniel began higher education at San Bernardino Valley College, transferred to SJSU to complete an undergraduate degree in Social Sciences, and completed the MLIS via the SJSU/Cal State Fullerton satellite program. Daniel has 15 years of experience in public libraries including Riverside Public Library and as head of Adult Services for the City of Redland’s A.K. Smiley Library. Daniel has also served as an associate/part-time librarian at Crafton Hills College.  Please join us in welcoming Daniel to Riverside City College.

Santa Barbara City College

ACRL Circle of Friends Insider has a Spotlight on Kenley Neufeld:

Past President, President, Regional Representative and ongoing positive CCL member for many years… http://www.acrl.ala.org/acrlinsider/archives/14277

Sierra

Kacey Bullock is the new Librarian at Sierra College. Kacey graduated with an AA from Sierra College, a BA from William Jessup University, and an MLIS from San Jose State University. She formerly worked at William Jessup University’s library and has also worked as a part-time librarian at Sierra since 2016. She’ll be responsible for reference, instruction, and collection development. We’re happy to have Kacey on board!

West Valley

A new hire for West Valley College Library. Jasmine Colón began as our Digital Services Librarian in February 2017.  She has her B.A from UC Santa Cruz and her MLIS from San José State.

American Libraries Live Webcasts

Interactive  discussions on pressing issues in modern librarianship. American Libraries Live webcasts cover the full spectrum of library topics and give the ALA community a chance to learn about and discuss issues it deals with daily. Each program lasts 60 minutes.

Summer 2017 Archived Episodes:

June 16: Mindfulness for Librarians

July 7: ALA Annual Tech Wrap-Up

July 24: Driving Decisions with Data

August 4: Revamping Your Space—Creating a Modern Media Center

Framework For Information Literacy Toolkit Released June 2017

The ACRL Framework Advisory Board (FAB) is pleased to announce the launch of the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy Toolkit.

The Toolkit is intended as a freely available professional development resource that can be used and adapted by both individuals and groups in order to foster understanding and use of the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. The ACRL Framework Toolkit is available on the ACRL LibGuides site.

Librarians can use the ACRL Framework Toolkit resources in a variety of ways:  for their individual professional development needs; to form a community of practice with their colleagues around the Framework and information literacy; and to develop workshops and professional development opportunities in their libraries and also for local, regional, and state-level events and conferences.

The ACRL Framework Toolkit contains four modules: Finding Time to Engage the Framework, The Framework’s Structure, Foundations of the Framework, and Strategies for Using the Framework. A fifth module, Collaboration and Conversations with the Framework, is currently in development.  Each module includes essential questions, learning outcomes, and active learning resources such as guided reading activities, discussion prompts, and lists of key readings.

Review: We the (library card carrying people) of ‘Ex Libris’

By Manohla Dargis, New York Times, September 12 2017

“In his magnificent new documentary “Ex Libris: The New York Public Library,” Frederick Wiseman takes his camera into those same halls as well as into more humble city branches. He sweeps into atriums and down corridors, pauses in reading and meeting rooms, and lays bare this complex, glorious organism that is the democratic ideal incarnate.

Mr. Wiseman never states outright what the library’s mission is; he doesn’t have to. It’s as clear as the recitations from the Declaration of Independence in one scene and in a passionate discussion of a racist textbook’s misrepresentation of the American slave trade in another. It is a soaring, Utopian mission in a documentary that builds with intellectual force and deep emotion as it shows, again and again, citizens — interested, questioning, seeking — joining together to listen to one another and to learn from one another. In “Ex Libris,” democracy is alive and in the hands of a forceful advocate and brilliant filmmaker, which helps make this one of the greatest movies of Mr. Wiseman’s extraordinary career and one of his most thrilling.”

Read the full review from the New York Times here: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/09/12/movies/ex-libris-new-york-public-library-review.html

The Library Assessment Cookbook

ACRL announces the publication of The Library Assessment Cookbook, edited by Aaron W. Dobbs. This new addition to the ACRL Cookbook series compiles lessons and techniques for academic librarians to adapt, repurpose, and implement in their libraries.

Assessment examines how library services and resources impact and are perceived by users, and guides strategic planning discussions and development of future acquisitions and services. Assessment is fundamental to positioning your library within your organization and effectively demonstrating how it furthers your institution’s goals. And it can be more of an art than a science, using the qualitative and quantitative data available to you to show your library’s alignment with the needs and mission of your organization.

The Library Assessment Cookbook features 80 practical, easy-to-implement recipes divided into nine sections:

• Data Preparation for Assessments
• Traditional and Online Collections Assessments
• Instruction Programs Assessments
• Outreach and Programming Assessment
• Assessments Assessment
• Strategic Planning Assessment
• Service Points and Services Assessment
• Equipment, Building, and Space Assessment
• Website and Web Services Assessment

This Cookbook will help librarians of all levels of experience measure and demonstrate their institutional value.

The Library Assessment Cookbook is available for purchase in print and as an ebook through the ALA Online Store and by telephone order at (866) 746-7252 in the U.S. or (770) 442-8633 for international customers.

Accessibility and Universal Design Winter 2017

Tips and Trends, Winter 2017

The ACRL Instruction Section, Instructional Technologies Committee, has published their latest Tips and Trends article, “Accessibility and Universal Design,” written by Bonnie L. Fong, Elizabeth M. Johns, and Becka Rich. Tips and Trends introduces and discusses new, emerging or even familiar technologies that can be used in library instruction.“Accessibility and Universal Design” is freely available at : bit.ly/tipsandtrendswi17

Instagram: Effective Use for Libraries – a Webinar, by David Lee King

On September 13 David Lee King gave a webinar on using Instagram for libraries. Here are the slides: https://goo.gl/LuFvdm

Pew Research Center: Internet & Technology

The Internet of Things Connectivity Binge: What are the Implications

June 2017 -- Despite wide concern about cyberattacks, outages and privacy violations, most experts believe the Internet of Things will continue to expand successfully the next few years, tying machines to machines and linking people to valuable resources, services and opportunities

Test Your Mobile Site Speed with Google

Get your mobile site up to speed. When website visitors lose patience, you lose business. One out of two visitors expect your mobile site to load within a couple of seconds. You can check your speed and get simple suggestions for fixes to keep more visitors at:

TEST MY SITE