Welcome to the first issue of the Outlook published on cclibrarians.org, the integrated website of the Council of Chief Librarians and the Community College League of California Consortium. We welcome your feedback on this new format for the Outlook as well as the website in general.
Brian Greene,
Columbia College Librarian &
CCL Communications Manager
|
LIBRARY RESOLUTIONS ADOPTED AT THE ASCCC FALL PLENARY SESSION, November 4, 2017 |
|
*+9.04 F17 Inclusion of Information Competency in College Institutional Learning Outcomes Whereas, The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges adopted the following definition of information competency for California Community Colleges: "Information competency is the ability to find, evaluate, use, and communicate information in all its various formats. It combines aspects of library literacy, research methods, and technological literacy. Information competency includes consideration of the ethical and legal implications of information and requires the application of both critical thinking and communication skills" (Resolution 16.02 S98); Whereas, Resolution 9.04 S08 directed the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges to urge local senates to ensure that students demonstrate information competency and to provide advice and assistance to local senates that seek to institute new requirements in information competency; Whereas, Standard II.A.11 of the Accreditation Standards of the Accreditation Commission for Community and Junior Colleges states that “The institution includes in all of its programs, student learning outcomes, appropriate to the program level, in communication competency, information competency, quantitative competency, analytic inquiry skills, ethical reasoning, the ability to engage diverse perspectives, and other program-specific learning outcomes;” and Whereas, Many, but not all, California community colleges have a statement of information competency fundamental to their institutional learning outcomes; Resolved, the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges urge local colleges to include information competency in their institutional learning outcomes. |
|
*+16.01 F17 Updating of ASCCC Papers on Library Faculty and Libraries in the California Community Colleges Whereas, The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges has adopted the paper Library Faculty in California Community College Libraries: Qualifications, Roles, and Responsibilities (adopted Spring 1996); Whereas, Specific standards for library services have appeared piecemeal in various regulations and guidelines, but nowhere have these standards been collected, reviewed, and presented systematically with specific application to the roles of librarians in the California community colleges, and, in response to this concern, the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges adopted the paper Standards of Practice for California Community College Library Faculty and Programs (adopted Fall 2010); Whereas, The 2010 paper Standards of Practice for California Community College Library Faculty and Programs illustrates how libraries and library faculty play a significant role in supporting college curriculum and helping students succeed academically and the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges has several resolutions (including Resolutions 16.01 S08, 2.02 S12, and 7.01 S12) encouraging the inclusion and involvement of library faculty in the student success initiatives, including the Basic Skills Initiative, and the Student Success & Support Program, and by inference, later initiatives such as the Stronger Workforce Program, and the California Community College Guided Pathways Award Program; and Whereas, Advances in the libraries, including the current statewide collection of electronic databases and the upcoming Library Services Platform, have greatly benefited the students and faculty of the California community colleges; Resolved, That the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges explore methods to update and expand the content of the papers Library Faculty in California Community College Libraries: Qualifications, Roles, and Responsibilities and Standards of Practice for California Community College Library Faculty and Programs to illustrate the vital and important role that libraries and librarians can, and do, play in contributing to the success of our students. |
|
*+17.09 Inclusion of Library Faculty on College Cross-Functional Teams for Guided Pathways and Other Student Success Initiatives Whereas, California community colleges continue to engage in numerous student success initiatives, including California Community College Guided Pathways Award Program, Student Equity, and Basic Skills Initiative; Whereas, The importance of libraries for student success has not been fully recognized or explored in the language or implementation of such initiatives, and often library faculty have not been encouraged to participate in developing the corresponding plans; Whereas, Numerous studies demonstrate that students who use the library are more successful in college; they earn better grades and are more likely to complete their courses and programs of study, and studies show that collaborative academic programs and services involving the library enhance student learning, and information literacy instruction strengthens general education outcomes; and Whereas, The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges has several resolutions (including Resolutions 16.01 S08, 2.02 S12, and 7.01 S12) encouraging the inclusion and involvement of library faculty in the student success initiatives; Resolved, That the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges urge local senates to ensure library faculty are included on cross-functional teams for student success initiatives and guided pathways frameworks. [1] Association of College and Research Libraries. Academic Library Impact on Student Learning and Success: Findings from Assessment in Action Team Projects. April 2017. URL: http://www.ala.org/acrl/sites/ala.org.acrl/files/content/issues/value/findings_y3.pdf See also: Association of College and Research Libraries. Assessment in Action: Academic Libraries and Student Success Website URL: http://www.ala.org/acrl/AiA [1] Ibid.
|
The First Friday update is a periodic news brief to chief instructional officers and chief student services officer colleagues and a great source of information for all of us. I send it out on several of the librarian listservs and you can also access it yourself by going to the Chancellor’s Office website, www.cccco.edu, click on System Operations/Divisions/Academic Affairs, and look under Notes and News. (on the left side of the page)
|
Upcoming ASCCC Events
|
||
|
ASCCC Exec Board meeting |
December 1-2 |
Sacramento |
|
ASCCC Exec Board meeting |
January 12-13 |
Riverside |
|
ASCCC Exec Board meeting |
February 2-3 |
Costa Mesa |
|
OER Regional Workshops |
February 8 & 9 |
TBD |
|
Accreditation Institute |
February 22-23 |
Garden Grove |
|
ASCCC Exec Board meeting |
March 2-3 |
Chico |
|
CTE Regional Workshops |
March 9 & 10 |
TBD |
|
Area Meetings |
March 23 & 24 |
TBD |
|
ASCCC Spring Session |
April 12-14 |
San Mateo |
|
Curriculum Institute |
July 11-14 |
Riverside |
January Renewals Thanks to everyone for their patience as the renewal of the statewide database package created a bit more of a bumpy ride than usual for this fall’s renewals. All renewal orders have now been placed, and the invoices for your college’s renewals are now available to be downloaded and paid. I appreciate your prompt attention to these invoices. If you are having difficulty accessing a renewing resource or a new resource you’ve ordered, please let me know. For new subscriptions that begin on January 1, 2018, you’ll want to be on the lookout for activation emails from vendors at some point during December.
New Website On December 1, CCL and the CCLC Library Consortium launched a new website at https://cclibrarians.org/. You’ll now notice that the consortium’s website is embedded within CCL’s website, which better reflects the organizational structure of our consortial purchasing program. Many thanks to the CCL Communications Committee for all their help with this new website, and thanks as well to Biscuit Technologies in Los Angeles for the work they did for us.
CountryWatch Earlier this year we announced that we would not be renewing Countrywatch for our colleges, as Countrywatch had refused to make upgrades to become appropriately web accessible. After we notified Countrywatch of this decision, they changed their minds, and now they have provided a sufficient road map for their compliance with expected web accessibility guidelines. Therefore, students and faculty in all of the California community colleges will continue to have free access to CountryWatch. This database, which is a major resource tool for businesses, consultants and researchers, contains up-to-date economic, political, and social data about every country on the globe. The Council of Chief Librarians and the Community College League are continuing their joint commitment to full coverage of the cost. This is the sixteenth year that the resource has been provided to our colleges at no cost. Both organizations – partners in the cooperative purchasing program for online resources for CCC libraries – use a portion of the fees generated by the program to provide the database to every college regardless of the level of participation in the purchasing program. CCL and the League see this as an opportunity to use the program to benefit the colleges over and above the main focus of the purchasing program.
Happy holidays,
James Wiser
By Norman Buchwald (Chabot College), Committee Chair
Dear librarians:
We want to thank you for your input to the CCL-EAR Committee, including answering our survey for our potential future reviews in 2018. When we meet in December as we are finalizing our Fall reviews, we will also plan our Spring reviews and plan to go forward via the direction you gave us.
Given that, based on your comments I should point out that we have recently written a thorough comparison review on video streaming services, which include streaming services that do not work with consortia such as Kanopy. We are as a committee currently investigating the lack of some closed captioning in Films on Demand videos, especially those in the World Languages discipline and are talking with the vendor and hope to provide an update by early spring via the Outlook.
During the EAR Committee’s October teleconference meeting, in addition to discussing Films on Demand we did also discuss the issue of dated and outdated ebooks in ebook subscriptions. This will likely move to a spring project, potentially a new review to address the content and content trends in Ebook subscriptions. This should not be confused with an upcoming review on the platforms and usability of Ebook databases as that review analyzes multi-publisher platforms that may contain subscriptions or only perpetually owned or patron driven materials. That review is currently being worked on and should be published by this Spring.
Please participate, if you can, in our future meetings! Our calendar through the rest of the year is below. Look for email announcements with details on how to join the meetings.
Telephone Conference December 8, 2017
Telephone Conference January 26, 2018
Burbank Face-to-Face February 22-23, 2018
Telephone Conference April 27, 2018
I don’t have to tell you that it has been a busy Fall! You live in the middle of all the change – Guided Pathways, Student Equity, ACRL Information Literacy Framework, a new State Chancellor who is certainly getting everyone’s attention! And what about FLOW? Oh, and just that little thing about teaching and serving students in the library … !
My busy Summer and Fall? It included a lot of groundwork for the statewide Library Services Platform Project (think ILS with a new and more up-to-date name): a preliminary workplan, first stab at a budget, and first draft of the job announcement for a consultant to help us develop the RFP.
Despite a very crowded convention calendar in Sacramento this Spring, I finally found a place for the annual meeting – and you’ll love it! We’ll be at the Embassy Suites Tower Bridge – right there at Old Sacramento. Mark your calendars for March 8-9, 2018!
And I managed to squeeze in the creation and mailing of this year’s CCL invoices … and thanks to all of you who got.right.on.it! 73 colleges have sent in checks! You can check your college’s status online on the CCL new website. That’s 70% participation – thanks for taking the time in the middle of the frantic moments to support CCL with your “o.k. to pay” on that paperwork!
Gregg T. Atkins
CCL Executive Director
Reported by Dan Crump (chair)
LLPRAC met on September 25 at the Chancellor’s Office in Sacramento. Much of the meeting was spent in reviewing proposed changes to the Annual Library Data Survey, based on input from both the Council of Chief Librarians and LLRPAC. The changes will be incorporated into the next survey (2016-17) which should be sent out in the near future.
Minutes for the May 31 and September 25 LLRPAC meetings should be on the LLRPAC pages very soon---Chancellor’s Office website-- www.cccco.edu---LLRPAC page is under the Academic Affairs division.
CCL Regional Meeting Notes
San Francisco / East Bay Region
Friday, Sept. 22, 2017, 10:00 am – 2:00 pm
City College of San Francisco, Rosenberg Library
ATTENDANCE:
Evelyn Lord (Laney), Tina Inzerilla (Las Positas), Vivian Kobayashi (CCSF), Michelle McKenzie (CCSF), Wendy Owens (CCSF), Chad Stephenson (CCSF), Nghiem Thai (Merritt), Lisa Velarde (CCSF), Anthony Costa (CCSF), Yi Liang (CCSF)
Discussion (10:00—12:00)
1. CCL Updates
· Statewide Database Renewal
The CCC Technology Center posted its intent to award the statewide database contract to EBSCO. More details will be available in the coming weeks.
· Library Services Platform RFP
Last week the Board of Governors approved the release of funding for the statewide library services platform. Tim Calhoon of the CCC Tech Center will call the first meeting of the committee which will hire a consultant to help draft the RFP. Amy Carbonaro will be the Project Manager. The RFP development process will proceed over the coming months and will involve opportunities for input from CCC libraries.
· Engaging with the ACRL Framework (Nov. 3 @ DVC)
Reminder to register. Space is filling up fast.
· CCL Outlook
Send news about your library directly to the new CCL Communications Manager Brian Greene (greeneb@yosemite.edu).
· Other
New CCL website expected to go live this fall.
2. Future SF/East Bay Meeting : Library Host?
Merritt College will host the fall 2018 CCL SF/East Bay Region Meeting.
3. Group Photo for CCL Outlook Newsletter
4. Other
Special thank you to CCSF Dean Donna Reed and Department Chair Anthony Costa for making arrangements for today’s meeting at the Rosenberg Library and lunch at the Pierre Coste Dining Room.
5. Round-the-table
Materials Funding
Generally there seems to be substantially less funding for library textbooks this year, perhaps as a result of fewer restrictions on categorical funds such as Student Equity, etc. this year.
Las Positas is requesting $300,000 annually funds for library materials as part of the recent capital bond that was recently passed by their district.
CCSF has been able to secure generous funding from the campus lottery allocation. CCSF also has a 3-year Equity allocation totaling $700,000.
Laney, Merritt and Las Positas all reported receiving little or no allocation for library materials so far this year.
Libraries and Guided Pathways
Teams of at least 10 people from each college will be attending the training in October. Librarians from the colleges in attendance reported on efforts to make sure that a librarian is included as part of the initial team.
Staff News
CCSF has nine new part-time librarians, with an additional four starting next month. There has been a 70% increase in credit enrollment. Merritt, Laney and Las Positas all reported that they are fully-staffed. Las Positas has requested a Student Equity Librarian. Merritt is using student equity funds to pay for additional staffing support in the library.
Other
There was substantial discussion about OER and the role of librarians. Librarians have been very active in OER from the start. With OER and Canvas (OEI) initiatives, there will be growing interest and an opportunity for librarians to lead. There was discussion about the possibility of a regional workshop on the role of libraries and OER. If not a North/South workshop, could this be a possible joint venture between SF/East Bay Region and Northwest Region? Suggestion to invite Cable Green, Creative Commons.
6. Lunch
Delicious gourmet fare produced by CCSF students at Pierre Coste Dining Room.
7. Library Tour
The day ended with a tour of the library by Anthony Costa. The library is looking at using some of its space in new ways, including updating the Media Center. The college received a maker-space grant and one of three maker-space hubs will be within the Media Center.
ALA Midwinter 2018 is in Denver, Colorado, February 9-13: https://2018.alamidwinter.org/ Note that early bird registration ends December 13.
California Academic & Research Libraries CARL 2018 Conference will be held in Redwood City on April 13-15, 2018. More information is available at http://conf2018.carl-acrl.org/
Shameless plug: Brian Greene, CCL Communications Manager/Columbia College Librarian and Elizabeth Horan, Coastline Community College Librarian, just had a presentation proposal accepted for this conference. Hope to see you there!
The California Conference on Library Instruction seeks to showcase the ways in which librarians have approached library instruction and information literacy problems through the lens of Design Thinking. CCLI 2018 will be held at the University of San Francisco on Friday, June 1st, 2018. Full conference program available at http://www.cclibinstruction.org/2018-conference-program/
This year at California Library Association Annual conference 22 of the most popular sessions were video recorded. Those videos are now available to everyone in the library community! The videos are brought to you by the California Library Association and the California State Library. California State Library is supporting this project with funding from Library Services and Technology Act supported by the Institute of Museum and Library Services. Thank you to the presenters at annual conference for your cooperation and support. CLA will be following up to get your feedback on the videos and whether to continue this project in 2018.
Conference Videos: https://vimeopro.com/vcubeinc/cla2017
Cheers!
Helen McAlary
Immediate Past-President
Computers in Libraries 2018 will be in Arlington, Virginia, April 17-19: http://computersinlibraries.infotoday.com/2018/
Internet Librarian 2017 was held October 23 to 25 in Monterey. Here is a recap with links to conference presentations: http://internet-librarian.infotoday.com/2017/Presentations.aspx
The Southern California Instruction Librarians' SCIL Works 2018 conference will be held at West Los Angeles College on Friday, February 23, 2018. This annual mini-conference offers librarians the opportunity to share their best practices, innovative pedagogy, and creative solutions with colleagues. SCIL Works 2018 will focus on the ways in which we bring instruction out of the classroom and into virtual places. More information available at http://www.carl-acrl.org/ig/scil/
ACRL announces the release of Academic Library Impact: Improving Practice and Essential Areas to Research. Developed for ACRL by OCLC Research, this valuable resource investigates how libraries can increase student learning and success and effectively communicate their value to higher education stakeholders. The full report is freely available for download on the ACRL website.
A series of interviews on the Circulating Ideas podcast are related to libraries and fake news, including:
· Fake News and the Psychology of the Brain, Circulating Ideas episode 116: Laura Lauzen-Collins: http://bit.ly/2w2rXvd
· Fake News, Information Literacy and Teaching College Students, Circulating Ideas episode 113: William Badke: http://bit.ly/2tKF5J6
· Fake News, Journalism and Libraries, Circulating Ideas episode 108 Interview with Jeremy Shermak: http://bit.ly/2pZpm5z
· Fake News, Information Literacy and Epistemology, Circulating Ideas episode 104 Interview with Lane Wilkinson: http://bit.ly/2lYW0T7
From Stephen J. Bell and ACRL's Keeping Up With.... series, an introdcution to staying current with the field of higher education. Essay available at https://ala.informz.net/informzdataservice/onlineversion/ind/bWFpbGluZ2luc3RhbmNlaWQ9NzA1Nzk0MSZzdWJzY3JpYmVyaWQ9MTA2NDY3NDI2MA== More installments of Keeping Up With... available at http://www.ala.org/acrl/publications/keeping_up_with
From the New York Times, a story of the reasons why some academics intentionally publish in predatory journals: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/10/30/science/predatory-journals-academics.html
This OCLC Research Report challenges the digital natives vs. digital immigrants paradigm; that is, the common assumption that younger people prefer to conduct research in a digital space while older people rely on physical sources for information.
The report continues the work of the Digital Visitors and Residents project, which included the development of a mapping tool to help participants identify which technology they use as visitors (i.e., access to complete a certain task and then leave without a digital trace) or as residents (i.e., express themselves, interact with others, and establish personas that persist beyond active engagement). Using these maps, semi-structured individual interviews, diaries, and online surveys, the researchers analyzed the technology engagement of undergraduate students, graduate students, and faculty members in the United States, United Kingdom, Spain, and Italy at a range of educational institutions.
The full report is available at http://www.oclc.org/research/publications/2017/oclcresearch-many-faces-digital-vandr.html
Librarian Jenny Yap was selected as one of the 2018 American Library Association's Emerging Leaders. The ALA selects approximately 50 librarians nation-wide to participate in this early-career program to develop leadership capacity, encourage networking, and provide professional development and research opportunities to librarians that show a high potential for leadership in their fields.
Part-time librarian Jeanie Austin recently defended their dissertation, "Libraries for social change: centering youth of color and/or LGBTQ and gender non-conforming youth in library practice," and they will be awarded their PhD in Information Science from the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana.
Kate Connell is retiring at the end of the semester. During her tenure at CCSF, she has been in charge of attracting and maintaining exhibits at the libraries. In addition to creating amazing exhibits she has worked with faculty at the College to create curriculum that is used to engage students and the wider community in conversations about exhibit topics. She will be missed.
City College of San Francisco will be hiring at least one new librarian during Spring semester. See posting at https://jobs.ccsf.edu/applicants/jsp/shared/frameset/Frameset.jsp?time=1512067539046. The library is also hiring part-time librarians. There will be a separate posting for part-time positions available on the CCSF HR Department site in early December. See https://jobs.ccsf.edu/
COC Head Librarian Peter Hepburn has been nominated to stand for election to the 2019-2020 presidency of the American Library Association. For more information on his campaign, visit https://www.peterforala.org/.
The College of the Desert recently invited Hye Chin "Jin" An-Dunning to join our library faculty. This spring semester we will begin offering library services at the new Palm Springs campus.
Cuesta College has hired Ryan Cartnal as the new Dean of Library, Learning Resource, Instructional Technology & Institutional Research and Carina Love as the new Chair of Library, Learning Resources& Instructional Technology.
Librarian for Equitable Services Cynthia Mari Orozco received an ACRL scholarship to attend OpenCon 2017: http://www.acrl.ala.org/acrlinsider/archives/14555
Glendale Community College has committed to completing the redesign of our library. We have completed two parts of a phased approach and can now move forward with the remaining phases. All student areas will be completely remodeled by the end of our Spring Break and we hope to complete the remodeling of our Circulation Desk come Summer of 2018.
In November, Francis Howard returned to Laney College as a new Hourly Librarian. Francis previously worked as a Library Technician at Vista College (now Berkeley City College) before moving to San Jose to pursue an MLIS at San Jose State University. Prior to graduating, he completed an internship at Laney College. Since 2007, he has served as Senior Assistant Librarian at San Jose State University.
Finding funding for a library is never easy when the general funds keep decreasing and the previous bond Measure B funds have ended. All of the LPC librarians requested funds from Measure A from the Administration and committees. Las Positas College Executive Team (President and VPs) allocated to our library $300,000 per year for the life of the bond for library materials.
The Los Angeles Southwest College Library is pleased to announce the winner of the inaugural 2017 Academic Senate Purchase Award art contest. The top vote getter, Margarita Ramirez’s untitled acrylic on canvas is prominently on display in the Library. It is the first piece in an ongoing showcase of exceptional student artwork.
The Merced College Library has been sponsoring several student events and clubs this fall semester. A Pumpkin Story Time for the children at our child development center was very successful, and all children left with a decorated pumpkin grown by our Aggie students as well as books checked out by their student parents. In addition, the Merced College Poetry club is advised by Karrie Bullock and they will coordinate the Poetry Slam on campus in April. The Merced College Book club, advised by Dee Near, recently visited the National Steinbeck Center in Salinas. A pumpkin decorating contest provided an opportunity for students to vote on their favorite staff-decorated pumpkin (Happy Owl-O-Ween won.) The faculty librarians are also participating in the Basic Skills Transformation Grant efforts on campus, training in Reading Apprenticeship and Habits of Mind. Two 'circle discussions' presented in the Interdisciplinary Literacy Center by the librarians on "Research for Communication classes" and "Understanding Graphic Novels" gave us a chance to reach the students outside the traditional library sessions.
This Fall, Mission College Library started a Food for Textbook Program. It is a service to help students defray the cost of textbooks and is based on the successful program at our sister college, West Valley. Students are able to check out a textbook or calculator for the entire semester with the donation of 10 cans of food. The canned food is donated to Second Harvest Food Bank.
This collection is a combination of donated textbooks and textbooks purchased with grant monies. We started with 346 textbooks available for 54 different courses. So far this semester, 128 textbooks have been checked out by 101 students, which resulted in a savings of $13,718.74. This allowed Mission College Library to donate 1,852 pounds of food to Second Harvest, which is the equivalent of 1,543 meals. We expect these numbers to increase when the program becomes better known.
In October, students who had checked out a textbook through the program were sent a survey. Below are some of the comments we received:
•"It's a really awesome program because not only are we being helped with the free rental, we are also able to participate in a program that is helping others as well and that is a very beautiful feeling!"
•"It's a great program that benefits the students and the people who are able to get the food cans."
•"This is a truly amazing program. Textbooks can be so expensive and this has helped tremendously."
For additional information about the program, go to the Library’s Food for Textbook web page (http://www.missioncollege.edu/lib/food_for_textbooks).
The Pierce College One Book-One Campus selection for academic year 2017-18 is Enrique’s Journey: The Story of a Boy’s Dangerous Odyssey to Reunite with his Mother, by Sonia Nazario, based on the Pulitzer Prize-winning Los Angeles Times series. It is the story of a Honduran boy who braves unimaginable hardship and peril to reach his mother in the United States, riding on the top of trains from Guatemala through Mexico to the United States border.
The selection was made by the Pierce College library, working with the college Diversity Committee and Associated Students Organization. The One-Book One-Campus program is sponsored by the Pierce Diversity Committee, Pierce College library, English Department, Theater Arts Department, and Equity committee. Members of the Pierce community, including students, faculty, staff, and administrators, are encouraged to read a common book throughout the academic term and participate in campus-wide, thematically integrated activities.
With this year’s OBOC focus on immigration, The Things We Carried will be a co-creation that collectively documents our journeys to the US as well as highlight a tangible aspect of immigration as it relates to our campus community and beyond. The exhibit features
• March 2018 – Immigration Film Festival – Documentaries created by Pierce Students
• March 2018 through May 2018: “Pierce College Immigration Project” – Art & Media Installation
• Guest speaker: Sonia Nazario, author of Enrique’s Journey – April 2018
Rio Hondo College welcomes new full-time tenure-track librarian, Young Lee. Young hit the ground running by joining our team mid-semester on November 1, 2017 to replace the vacant position previously held by retired librarian, Stephanie Wells. Young earned his MLIS degree from San Jose State University and most recently worked as the Reference and Digital Resources Librarian at the University of La Verne, College of Law Library since 2010.
This coming December, library technician Tes Safavi will be retiring after 20 years of service. As the semester draws to a close, she will be celebrated by colleagues both inside and outside of the library for her years of dedication and service to our college.
The New Literacies Alliance has created information literacy tutorials mapped to the ACRL Framework. Tutorials Sacramento City College started the Fall semester with several new faces. Rebecca Goodchild is our new Public Services Librarian, focusing on Collections and Assessment. Rebecca holds a Masters of Library & Information Studies from San Jose State University and a BA in Psychology from CSU, Sacramento, with additional Associates degrees in Engineering, Math, and General Science. SCC also has welcomed three new Library Technicians: Carly Brotherton (who serves as the Lead LT), Baleria Flores, and Elizabeth Shutak. Baleria and Elizabeth are both graduates of SCC’s Library and Information Technology Program.
Cathy Chenu-Campbell, who has served as SCC’s Technical Services Librarian for over 30 years, will retire in May 2018. Cathy oversaw library automation in the 1980s, led a number of system migrations, taught in the Library and Information Technology program, took leadership roles in the college’s accreditation process, served on multiple visiting accreditation teams elsewhere, and has generally held the library together for the last few decades.
SCC has been offering special face-to-face sections of its one-unit Information Literacy course directed at new programs, Students in a Global Economy (SAGE) and the STEM Equity & Success Initiative (SESI), both of which have emerged as part of SCC’s designation as a Hispanic-Serving Institution.
We are also collaborating with the other Los Rios District Libraries on a set of information literacy tutorials to be housed in Canvas and on a migration from the Innovative/Sierra WAM proxy to EZproxy.
The Cesar Chavez Library at San Jose City College will be the proud owners of two Google Jamboards in 2018. Google's cloud-based whiteboard device will be installed the Library's small group meeting rooms. Jamboard is a terrifically intuitive system that makes it easy for small groups to collaborate, share, and save ideas. The Jamboards are intended for student use but will be available to college faculty and staff, as well. For more information, visit the Google Blog: https://www.blog.google/products/g-suite/jamboard-whiteboard-reimagined-collaboration-cloud/.
While many of us are still juggling busy teaching schedules and looking for ways to revitalize our instruction sessions, why not take some time to draw inspiration from the ACRL Information Literacy Framework? 23 Framework Things is a free, self-paced, online professional development opportunity that offers readings, activities, and opportunities to connect with your colleagues in Minnesota and beyond about the Framework. Complete as many of the things as you choose, in any order, and win prizes! Here are a few of the “Things” that might be especially helpful if you’re looking for teaching inspiration:
Frame Focus Things: Browse lesson plans and activities on each frame and brainstorm ideas for your own lessons and activities with colleagues.
Thing #14: One-Shots and IL Courses: Struggling with incorporating the Framework into one-shot sessions or a semester-long course? Find relevant readings and ideas here.
Thing #12: Collaborating with Faculty: Learn more about how the Framework can inform collaborative work with faculty!
Thing #18: Outreach/Marketing: Want to get the word out about your instruction program? Browse examples of how other institutions have used the Framework to promote information literacy on campus.
So, if you’re looking for ways to engage with the new ACRL IL Framework, check out 23 Framework Things!
WASHINGTON - Today American Library Association President Jim Neal released the following statement regarding the proposed order on net neutrality released by FCC Chairman Ajit Pai.
“Preserving net neutrality is essential for equitable access to online information and services and thus a vital concern for our nation’s libraries. Now that the internet has become the primary mechanism for delivering information, services and applications to the general public, it is especially important that commercial Internet Service Providers are not able to control or manipulate the content of these communications. Libraries, our patrons and America’s communities will be at risk if the FCC repeals all protections contained in its 2015 Open Internet Order with no plans to replace with any enforceable rules. We strenuously disagree with the FCC’s actions and will continue to advocate for essential net neutrality protections.”
The FCC Commission will vote on the proposed order at the December open Commission meeting on Thursday, December 14, 2017, from 10:30 am – 12:30 pm EST. The meeting will be webcast live on the FCC’s website.
News release available at http://www.ala.org/news/press-releases/2017/11/ala-strenuously-opposes-fcc-proposed-order-net-neutrality
More information from ALA's Washington DC Office available at http://www.districtdispatch.org/2017/11/net-neutrality-end-2017-libraries-need-know/
Part of the Mental Health Initiative, this series of videos was produced by the Los Angeles County Library and Los Angeles Public Library in collaboration with the California State Library:
· Episode 1 https://youtu.be/JnHH_EDRlZg
· Episode 2 https://youtu.be/Jpkh41BL0oY
· Episode 3 https://youtu.be/P99gdETQ1fU
· Episode 4 https://youtu.be/RiSU9OdtoHg
· Episode 5 https://youtu.be/UvPz1BTCBfA
· Episode 6 https://youtu.be/cfetzKVVoY4
· Final two episodes coming soon
The Institute for Museum and Library Services is accepting applications National Leadership and Laura Bush 21st Century Librarian Grants. Proposals are due February 1, 2018. More information available at https://www.imls.gov/grants/available/national-leadership-grants-libraries and https://www.imls.gov/grants/available/laura-bush-21st-century-librarian-program
The ALA Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT) welcomes your submissions for two awards created to recognize excellence in information literacy and instruction. Submissions from all types of libraries (public, school, special, academic) are encouraged. Winners will receive a $1,000 award, a plaque, and a $500 travel stipend to be used to attend the 2018 ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans, where the awards will be presented.
The LIRT Librarian Recognition Award honors a librarian for her/his contributions to information literacy and instruction. The LIRT Innovation in Instruction Award honors a library for their innovative approach to information literacy and instruction.
Submissions will be accepted until January 15, 2018. For full details on how to apply for these awards or to nominate someone to receive them, please see the LIRT Awards site (http://www.ala.org/rt/lirt/awards).
The New Literacies Alliance has created information literacy tutorials mapped to the ACRL Framework. Tutorials include knowledge practices and dispositions. Learn more at http://newliteraciesalliance.org/available-lessons/.
As a savvy librarian you might know a fair number of tricks to tell a real tweeter from a fake one. But do you know all 10 of these? Compiled by digital sleuther Henk van Ess for Poynter. Test yourself: https://www.poynter.org/news/ultimate-guide-bust-fake-tweeters-video-toolkit-10-steps
Given that Wikipedia is the world’s most used medical resource, the authors argue doctors should be more frequent contributors: https://www.statnews.com/2017/10/10/updating-wikipedia-part-doctors-jobs/