Letter from CCL President Doug Achterman
Library Services Platform Project Vendor Demonstrations
During the second week of April, the Library Services Platform Procurement and Selection Committee will meet in Sacramento to participate in vendor demonstrations.
The goal of this committee is to arrive at a recommendation for a vendor contract by the end of the week. As this project is being managed by the CCC Technology Center, any contract recommended must be approved by the Butte-Glenn Community College District board, which hosts the Technology Center. An approval by this board before the end of the spring semester keeps us on track for implementation beginning in late summer and continuing through the year.
The initial $6 million funding covers the creation of the RFP, selection of a vendor, and the first year of implementation. Our ability to secure ongoing funding will depend upon a sizable number of colleges migrating to the new system and demonstrating the value of the investment. The details about migration and implementation are necessarily vague right now, as this will depend on the vendor selected. Stay tuned for details, but know that the LSP Task Force has been working on this.
Guided Pathways
At the Deans & Directors meeting in Sacramento in March, representatives from Pasadena City College presented aspects of their College 1 program. This program incorporates many elements of a Guided Pathways approach and is helpful in thinking about how our libraries might best support Guided Pathways efforts on our own campuses.
If library representation is not present in the planning of Guided Pathways efforts on your campus, now is the time to start. One characteristic of the College 1 program, which has a fully integrated information literacy and research component, is that library faculty participated from the beginning of the effort. Library support is not added on; it is built in.
If you are having difficulty getting representation in the planning of Guided Pathways efforts, you may want to take advantage of the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC) resolution passed in the fall calling for “Inclusion of Library Faculty on College Cross-Functional Teams for Guided Pathways and Other Student Success Initiatives” (https://asccc.org/resolutions/inclusion-library-faculty-college-cross-functional-teams-guided-pathways-and-other). This resolution was developed with input from the CCL board’s Advocacy Committee and Senate President Julie Bruno and was ushered through the ASCCC resolution process by Dan Crump. You may bring this resolution to the attention of your local senate and ask for their support in gaining a voice in Guided Pathways efforts.
I’m looking forward to the CCL Guided Pathways workshops—planned and facilitated by Santa Barbara CC’s Elizabeth Bowman and Cabrillo’s Aloha Sargent and Michelle Morton—which will give us a chance to meet and think together about how our colleges can best support Guided Pathways efforts. We are all figuring this out together, and having an opportunity to spend a day with colleagues thinking about this will surely benefit us all. The north workshop, at the Embassy Suites in Walnut Creek, runs from 8:30-3:00 on April 18. The south workshop at the Doubletree in Ontario will be held on April 25th.
The Value of Academic Libraries
One of the highlights of the Deans and Directors meeting was Megan Oakleaf’s talk on the value of academic libraries. As a leading thinker about academic librarianship, Oakleaf has made important contributions to the field by identifying ways to document and share the value of academic libraries beyond the traditional metrics we depend too much upon: gate count, circulation, number of orientations, etc. Her work is extremely relevant to the Guided Pathways movement in our state, in that we have a critical obligation to define the value of what we do in ways that may not be captured by traditional metrics. Just as the value of a community college to its community extends well beyond numbers of students who stay in school and ultimately earn certificates, degrees, and transfers, the value of our libraries extends far beyond how many books we check out or how many one-shots we provide.
As part of her presentation, Oakleaf stepped the audience through a process of self-assessment that would be useful for any library staff to engage in. Also included were key questions to ask about identifying the true purpose and identity of the library, and strategies for communicating and marketing the importance of our work to the broader community.
Check out Oakleaf’s presentation and support materials, along with other presentation documents from the Deans and Directors Meeting, at http://www.cclibrarians.org/news/2018-deans-and-directors-meeting-presentation-materials.
By Norman Buchwald
Happy Spring, everybody! By now most of you have returned from your spring breaks, and probably are ready to make your decisions on your renewals and new products from the consortium. The committee has recently released three new reviews: NewYorkTimes.com, Noodle Tools, and Curriculum Builder. Reviews on Power Notes, Cochrane Library, and a comparison review of multi-publisher Ebook platforms are in the near future, while further down expect to see reviews on EZProxy, Nexis Uni, LibInsights, and Ovid Nursing collections.
The EAR Committee has certainly been busy both in its advocacy and its reviews. You might remember in the February issue our article where we “shone the spotlight” on two vendors that had elements that were a bit questionable. Films on Demand had apparently got seriously lax on adding new movies that would be already closed captioned as they promised in their section 508 compliance statement in 2011 while Gale was having obviously opinionated or mainstream magazines appearing under the “Academic Journals” tab in a search in their Academic One Search platform. Both vendors not only responded swiftly but also made efforts to take action. Films on Demand provided to the EAR Committee the complete catalog of all of the films that were currently not closed captioned in the Master Academic collection. Then in a matter of three weeks managed to close caption 90% of them. Yes, in three weeks! At ALA Midwinter, I met with one of the representatives of Films on Demand. They also promised hereon out to be more diligent in close captioning at a regular basis any films that are not close captioned when added. The only exception would be videos that are in a different language. They are planning to add a subtitle limiter both in the platform and in the admin settings in the future (though keep in mind most World Languages videos do NOT have subtitles). Of their other collections he did warn that none of the movies in the Feature Film for Education collection have captions. Two members of the EAR Committee reviewed the Feature Film collection and found that while the films were not close captioned, around 90% did have English subtitles which can be sufficient.
Gale meanwhile responded by going through their title list and updating it, assigning to the correct type of publication. Titles such as National Review and American Prospect no longer appear under the Academic Journals tab in Academic OneFILE. However other titles like Dissent, American Libraries and Information Today still do. A Gale representative said they would further review their title lists, however they still insist that not all “Academic Journals” are peer-reviewed, and other “journals” such as trade journals will land underneath this tab. They said that just like in ProQuest or EBSCO students need to simply limit searches to “peer-reviewed.” The EAR Committee countered that argument by reminding them that if students see results appearing to be limited to “Academic Journals,” they could think a peer-reviewed limiter would be redundant at that point. The Gale representative did say we had a point and they would further review.
The EAR Review Committee meanwhile has bold plans next year for further important work on our libraries’ behalf and with respect to advocacy. While a new task force in the EAR Committee will be managing the second cycle of the deselection of our ten years’ NetLibrary shared Library collections, there will also be a review that explores the collections of Ebook subscriptions, looking at how well they satisfy community college needs, what seems like extra padding of titles (either due to public domain, open access, Nova Science or unnecessary titles), and most importantly identifying seriously dated titles and insisting from the vendors serious weeding/deselection procedures as their subscriptions continue to “age.” We also plan to write columns in the CCL Outlook on future “Spotlight” articles whether to criticize or praise, and “Keeping an Eye on the Big Three” vendors—Ebsco, Gale and Proquest as these three vendors seem to have the most products we use and while in some ways their periodicals database interfaces may have been the same over the years, there are other details we think we should constantly update you about (such as the most obvious, add and drops of titles in their products). Let alone it may be worth while to see how any of these three (or others) handle products of a vendor they have acquired as the companies continue to grow and have larger scopes.
Last February, I attended ALA Midwinter to provide back to the committee a lay of the land of vendors—what new products they were featuring, what trends were occurring, etc. I have a report that lists the vendors I spoke to and what they told me. I also had separate appointments, meetings or gatherings with the LexisNexis reps (I’m on their advisory board), OCLC, Films on Demand, EBSCO and Kanopy. Look at my laundry list report from what I gathered from over 30 vendors and how I did my best to advocate on your behalf regarding getting some vendors to work with consortia or that their pricing needs to better match community colleges affordability and likely usage from our students. Next year, the committee may consider meeting a day after SCELC Vendor Day and those of us who attend Vendor Day hope to both learn a lot from vendors, but also that vendors learn from us in a similar manner that I pursued at ALA Midwinter.
Finally, with the academic year rounding up, four of our well valued members are rotating off and I ask all of you to give them a large round of applause for their hard work: April Cunningham from the San Diego/Imperial region, Rachel Sandoval from the Southwest Bay region, and Debra Moore from the Southcoast region. Shelley Blackman is also rotating off and has served well as our Vice Chair the past two years. Their important volunteer work they have provided such as to the reviews, the discussion, and the advocacy have been crucial, and they have given James considerable strong feedback with respect to the consortium’s current and potential future offers. The CCL Executive Board had voted to revise the EAR Committee’s language to create the role of Past Chair to serve as a Vice Chair during a Chair’s first year, so I will be serving an additional year in that new role. The Board is looking for names of members to represent the three regions and for the Chair position for 2018-2019 (as of this publication, so far of the upcoming vacant regions, the Chair and the San Diego/Imperial region have at least one nomination for consideration of which they will vote on May 4). We are still looking for nominees to regionally represent the South Coast and Southwest Bay regions. If you are a full-time librarian from either of those two regions and are interested in serving on the EAR Committee, please contact me at nbuchwald@chabotcollege.edu or at 510-723-6993. You can also contact James Wiser or Doug Achterman, if you wish.
Our final meeting will be a teleconference meeting from 9:30 a.m. to noon on April 27. I will be posting on the listserv the cccconfer login directions within a few days before the event. Every California community college librarian is always welcome to be a guest and participate. I would especially strongly encourage any nominees for the Chair or for the regions to join us for this meeting.
By James Wiser
All of the Spring renewals for subscriptions which renew on July 1 have been generated in the CCLC procurement system. The deadline for returning these to me or to the League office is Friday, May 11th. If you have already returned these forms to me, your invoices are ready to be downloaded in the procurement system. Note that we do not mail out paper copies of these invoices, so if your renewal invoice is ready in the system, it’s your responsibility to download and submit your invoices for payment. As always, if you need help logging in or downloading these invoices, please let me know.
The Turnitin renewal offer has also been distributed. As many of you are aware, Turnitin recently acquired Vericite, and in the coming weeks they will be communicating with current Vericite customers what renewals and future plans for Vericite will be. The deadline to return new order and renewal forms for Turnitin, which renews on August 1, is June 15th.
We’ve added two new vendors to our offerings for this Spring: The Wall Street Journal (direct access) and PowerNotes, an online tool that allows users to manage research and notetaking. While the deadline for submitting orders for these resources is also May 11th, we will accept order forms at any time for new business; we may just need to prorate any first-year subscription to match the CCLC contract term.
In March I also announced a special offer for SAGE Premier, a collection of more than 1,000 peer-reviewed academic journals, at a substantial discount. A minimum participation threshold from our group must be met, however; the price is $4200 per year for any college to receive access to these journals, but a minimum of 25 community college libraries must subscribe in order for this offer to “make.” In addition, if your college is interested in subscribing at this rate, if your library places an order for SAGE Premier in 2018, your college will receive complementary access to SAGE Premier for the remainder of 2018 (if the offer does not “make,” access will be discontinued after January 1, 2019). SAGE Premier’s journal titles are usually not included in any third-party aggregated databases (i.e., EBSCOHost databases), and include many leading titles in the disciplines of education, psychology, criminology, nursing, allied heath, sociology, political science, gender studies, and communication. A subscription to SAGE Premier includes access to journal articles from 1999 through the present, and it includes perpetual access to the journal articles published in any years a library maintains a SAGE Premier subscription. This is an exciting, unique offer, and I hope you will consider whether or not adding this collection makes sense for your college.
I am in the process of ironing out details of an offer for IBISWorld, a marketing (business) database, and that offer will be rolled out at some point this summer. In addition, it appears Elsevier and CCLC will once again be working together, and this fall we’ll be able to offer ScienceDirect’s College Editions to our colleges at a discount. Stay tuned!
Respectfully submitted,
James
Hi, Colleagues!
As the year rolls forward (and faster than ever, it seems!), I’ve been reviewing the CCL membership accounts and double-checking that stars have appeared where they belong. Thanks to so many of you for being early to the mailbox with your checks!
And thanks to those who I have just recently contacted about non-payment (at least according to the CCL records). Here’s what I discover each year: It may be that the payment is still sitting in the Business Office (it happens), or that the transaction vanished electronically (yep, that has happened), or that it never made it out of the Library. And it may be that the check was sent, but never received by CCL. Once in a while that happens, too. I appreciate that the people I reached out to are busy following up!
Who doesn’t love a good mystery?
Cheers -- Gregg Atkins, CCL Executive Director
Rio Hondo College Academic Senate has created a college OER committee as of Spring 2018. There will be divisional representation, one librarian has been invited to join and the library dean will be co-chair.
Additionally, Rio Hondo College, just launched the statewide Guided Pathways initiative. The brainstorming phase of this initiative has begun and progress will continue, which includes valuable librarian input.
The state Academic Senate will be having the South Regional OER workshop on February 9, 2018 and Rio Hondo College will be hosting this event.
RHC Librarians continue to work with incorporating the Framework with present and future instructional opportunities.
Currently, we have a full-time librarian recruitment opportunity. Applications are due by February 12, 2018. Please visit the announcement at https://riohondo.peopleadmin.com/postings/821
November 2017, the RHC library welcomed a new librarian, Mr. Young Lee. Besides joining the library, he will also be the coordinator for the Pathway to Law program. Besides having an MLIS, Young also has a JD.
We received an $18,000 technology grant from our Land Corporation to develop a Technology Lending Program. We lend out GoPros, 4K cameras and camcorders, microphones, tripods, and will add green screens shortly. We piloted the project in Fall 2017 with our photography and digital media classes and now are offering the equipment to the entire college. So far the response has been pretty good and we are slowly rolling it out through advertising to specific classes we feel may benefit from using the cameras. We also purchased 2 iMacs with Adobe Creative Cloud so that student can work on creating a polished product. To see more, please visit our LibGuide: http://libguides.westvalley.edu/techlending
The COS Visalia Learning Resource Center is excited to report that it will launch a laptop and hotspot checkout pilot program this summer. Twenty hotspots and ten laptops will be available for students as a two-day checkout. The Library is working closely with our Student Success Program, which has an established laptop checkout program. Our Student Success Center will act as a second checkout location for hotspots. According to 2016 FCC data, ninety percent of rural residents in Tulare County, where the Visalia campus is located, lack access to broadband internet. More than a quarter of urban residents lack access, compared to four percent nationwide. Citing this data, our proposal described this lack of access as a clear student equity issue: increased enrollment in online classes, wider use of the Canvas LMS in face-to-face classes, and the growth of OER adoption have the potential to disenfranchise students without high-speed Internet access at home. We planned initially to apply for funding through our Foundation; however, after reviewing our proposal, our Student Success Program agreed to not only collaborate with us but also fully fund the program for the 2018-2019 academic year.
Collaboration with Student Success: Our Student Success Director and staff have been involved in the planning and coordination of the pilot from its early stages. Twenty total hotpots will be purchased; ten will be available for checkout at the Library, and ten will be available at our campus Student Success Center. Student Success staff will use our current ILS, OCLC WorldShare, as a part of their checkout process. Our Student Success Director, Juan Vazquez explains why this project was ideal for Library/Student Success Program collaboration, "When we look our Disproportionately Impacted Groups, access is a large barrier for our students. Increased access to internet also intersects with our Equity Program goals. Having an existing laptop lending program allowed us to hear from students and they shared with us the need for not only laptops, but internet access. When we look for projects to invest in, we look for projects that will help close achievement gaps among our students and projects that are innovative. We feel great to work with the Learning Resource Center on this issue of access and equity. I appreciate the LRC staff and leadership for looking at different ways our District can close the achievement gap of our disproportionately impacted groups. I look forward to seeing the positive results and feedback from students!"
Checkout Policies and Procedures: Laptops and hotspots will check out for two days. Students will sign a checkout agreement spelling out terms of use of the equipment. Our planning team is in the process of determining policies for placing holds; we are considering allowing staff to place holds for students in WorldShare. While this may be more cumbersome than a first-come, first-served policy, it will help us generate data to support continuation of the service. This configuration will also allow two locations on campus (the Library and Student Success Center) to use a shared waitlist.
Involvement of Paraprofessional Staff: It is important to mention that we felt it was essential to have the support and participation of the circulation staff, as this pilot will affect their workload. Our library technicians have been involved in planning meetings and development of checkout policies.
Pilot Assessment: Students will be asked to complete a brief survey when returning their laptops and hotspots. They will be asked to rate their satisfaction with the service, as well as how they used the equipment (e.g., what course(s) they needed it for, what types of software/services they accessed).
Vendors and Equipment: We're working with Sprint for the hotspots, as they provide wide 4G LTE coverage in our area. Explaining interest in a program like this to a frontline customer service representative in an initial phone call can be difficult; Sprint, Verizon and AT & T each have "public sector" or "education" sales departments that are a better place to start.
More Information: Feel free to contact Emily Campbell at emilyc@cos.edu. I'd be more than happy to share vendor contacts, planning documents, our initial proposal, etc.
We are proposing a new 3-unit, framework-based LIBR course that will (fingers crossed) meet CSU Area E Lifelong Learning as well as being an additional way for students to meet our Local AA Information Competency requirement. The course will use a Framework-based approach to teach advanced library research skills, media literacy, and critical inquiry while also analyzing the social, psychological, and physiological impacts of living in an information-saturated society. We are keeping our current 1-unit LIBR course as a lower-credit option for meeting the Information Competency requirement for students pursuing our Local AA. The new 3-unit course will be targeted to transfer students who currently are not required to take the 1-unit course. A big shout out to Kathleen Ennis at Modesto City College for sharing her proposed course outline with us to get us started with ours! We are hoping the course is approved so we can offer it next fall.
Diablo Valley College has adopted new institutional learning outcomes including:
Information and Technology Fluency. A student who is information and technology fluent will utilize appropriate technology to locate and critically evaluate information from a variety of sources, to formulate responses to issues, reach informed decisions, and communicate effectively. This includes effective written and visual message construction, media choices, leadership skills, and the ability to work with others on projects.
Abstract: Within the current climate of political polarization and discussions about “post-truth” rhetoric, many academic librarians are debating how the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education does or does not address “post-truth” thinking and rhetoric. Most of these discussions have centered on the Authority Is Constructed frame, which describes source authority as determined largely in communities and within specific contexts, rather than as anything absolute or universal. The concept of constructed authority can potentially be understood as an affirmation that authority is purely a matter of opinion or subjective evaluation, or that there are no consistent or objective indicators of credibility. On the other hand, the notion of authority as entirely objective misrepresents the social nature of knowledge creation and renders invisible the sociocultural structures and systems that powerfully share what is considered knowledge.
Read more at doi:https://doi.org/10.5860/crln.79.2.72
The deadline for applications is April 20, 2018. Eligible applicants include nonprofit organizations and local and state government agencies. Grant requests for up to $100,000 can be made for large-scale preservation, public media or educational projects. Community projects have a maximum of $30,000. More information at http://www.library.ca.gov/grants/civil-liberties/ Questions about the Civil Liberties Program for potential applicants can be directed to Mary Beth Barber, Special Projects and Assistant to the State Librarian, at 916-323-9758 or Marybeth.barber@library.ca.gov.
OER Coordinator and Biology faculty Suzanne Wakim and Librarian Rachel Arteaga are on their third semester conducting their Introduction to Open Educational Resources workshops for Butte College faculty and as an open Canvas course to anyone interested in the topic. In addition to these workshops, Suzanne and Rachel are also working with the faculty to develop a ZTC degree in Psychology and a ZTC certificate in Child Development. Faculty from many different disciplines use OER in their classes. For this school year (2017-2018), Butte College has 62 instructors teaching 125 ZTC sections. This number has been steadily increasing since Butte College first began ZTC efforts in 2016. Since the Fall semester of 2016, students have saved nearly $1 million dollars in textbook costs (approximately $950,000). More recently Suzanne and Rachel have started to work with several students to help promote and educate the student body about ZTC classes and their new designation in the course catalog. Link to Canvas course: https://canvas.instructure.com/courses/1123092
The Los Angeles Community College District will host its first LACCD OER Summit at LA City City College on April 27th. Within the District, two colleges have received OER-related grants: Los Angeles Valley and East LA, both administered locally by Library faculty. At LAVC, Meghan Cason is coordinating AB-798 and co-coordinating a Communications ZTC degree grant. Cason plans to apply for AB-798 bonus funding in June. At ELAC, Unjoo Lee is coordinating AB-798.
Libraries are at the forefront of the Open Education movement around the Nation. California Community Colleges as well are positioned to further OER and Affordable Learning Solutions across the CCC system. Below are some examples of how:
2017/18 CA Zero Textbook Cost Degree Grants:
Board of Governors Vision:
By 2022:
For further information and ideas for how to get involved see: http://extranet.cccco.edu/Divisions/AcademicAffairs/OpenEducationResources.aspx
Diablo Valley College's Library Technology career education program graduated 14 new library techs with Certificate of Achievements this spring. Through a contract education partnership with the Oakland Unified School District, the DVC library created a customized curriculum for a cohort of clerks already assigned to libraries throughout the district. Over two years the group devoted Saturdays to complete the 19-unit program. The graduates are eligible to promote from library clerk to library technician, earning a larger salary, and have new skills to offer improved library services to the students of Oakland. Enjoy a short video OUSD created: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7bpThx9Ork0&feature=youtu.be
By Julie Cornett, Cerro Coso Community College
Meet Bookee, our Library Mascot! Since our library participates in so many annual outreach events to our local K-12 schools, we purchased a mascot costume and have Bookee show up at our events. Not only do the kids (hopefully prospective Cerro Coso college students) LOVE it, so do many of our college students! We just did a photo shoot with Bookee, having him pose in various parts of the library, with the intent of posting the images on our social media sites.
Cerritos College Librarian Paula Massadas Pereira just published (and illustrated) her second book titled Matt Is a Normal Cat. Her first book How I Learned English: The Story of a Brave Mexican Girl has been popular in libraries around the country. Paula is an immigrant from Brazil and aims to motivate children, adults, and English learners to achieve their American dreams. Her books highlight immigrant experiences in the United States, focusing on how the main characters overcome challenges. Paula has been a keynote speaker at many libraries. If you are interested in her books and/ or presentations, feel free to visit her website at www.paulamassadaspereira.com.
Mission College Library’s Food for Textbook Program earned a 2017 Bronze award from Second Harvest Food Bank in Santa Clara, CA. The program that started in Fall 2017, enables students to check out a textbook or calculator for the entire semester with the donation of 10 cans of food for Second Harvest Food Bank. The total check out of 128 textbooks for the first semester of the program allowed the Library to donate 2,247 pounds of food to the charity.
So far this semester, 186 textbooks from the 380 total textbooks in the program have been checked out, an increase of 58% percent from last semester. The number of check outs and the amount of donated food is expected to increase as the program becomes better known on campus. For additional information about the program, go to http://www.missioncollege.edu/lib/food_for_textbooks.html
By Judith Samuel, Los Angeles Trade Technical College
In January 2017, the Dream Resource Center (DRC) at UCLA launched the multi-media exhibit, Undocumented Stories. Undocumented Stories utilizes storytelling to uplift the lived experiences of the unaccompanied minors and undocumented youth who built a movement to change policies impacting higher education, immigration reform, accesses to health care, and deportation proceedings. This exhibit intends to empower immigrant communities, reconstruct narratives, shape public opinion, and influence policy.
Tuesday, April 10 – May, 17, 2018
Los Angeles Trade-Technical College Library (Mariposa Hall)
Undocumented Stories: The Narratives of the Immigrant Rights Movement" the current exhibit at LATTC's Library was made possile by the following:
• UCLA's Dream Resource Center
A related informative and engaging event was held on March 28th. The event speakers were Armando Ibanez, film major and director of the web series, "Undocumented Tales" and Ernesto Rocha, organizer, storyteller transformational coah, TEDx Speaker, and advocate for social, racial, and economic justice.
By Michelle Ohnstad, MiraCosta College
On Monday, April 2nd, the MiraCosta College Library hosted an event in honor of World Autism Awareness Day. Chantal Sicile-Kira, an internationally known and award winning author, speaker, educator and consultant, spoke to an audience of faculty, staff and students about her family’s journey raising their son Jeremy, who is a former MiraCosta student. Jeremy is a non-verbal adult with autism, who is a working artist and lives independently. He is also a tireless advocate for the autism community and co-authored a book with his mother entitled “A Full Life with Autism.” Jeremy’s art career and paintings evolved from his discovery that he has synesthesia, which is the ability to see people’s emotions in color. In honor of the event, Jeremy created a painting for MiraCosta College, which will hang in the San Elijo campus library.
The Changing Face of Online Learning: New Technology and the OER Movement
Riverside City College
April 20, 2018 from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm.
Registration: There is a $20 fee at the door, of which a portion will be donated by the RCCD Foundation to those disadvantaged students needing help with books and materials for their DE courses.
Makerspaces for Innovation and Research in Academics (MIRA)
University of La Verne, La Verne, CA
July 12, 2018 8:30 am - 4:15 pm
More info: http://thespot.laverne.edu/miraconference18
Library Instruction West 2018,
July 17-20 2018
Colorado Mesa University, Grand Junction, Colorado.
Registration: $200
More info at: https://libraryinstructionwest.weebly.com/
2018 Summer IT Workshops: Information Security & ICT Accessibility
July 30 & 31, 2018
San Diego City College
New Librarian Summit 2018: "Exploring New and Innovative Approaches in LIS”
August 2-3, 2018
San Jose State University, San Jose, California
More info: https://www.newlibrariansummit.org/
Northwest Interlibrary Loan and Resource Sharing Conference
September 13-14 2018
Portland State University, Portland, Oregon.
More info: http://www.nwill.org/
5th Annual LILi Conference: It’s Not Just Academic: Bridging Gaps with Information Empowerment in All Libraries
August 17, 2018, 9 am - 1:30 pm
Glendale Public Library, Glendale, CA 91205
More info: http://campusguides.glendale.edu/LILi2018
ALA Midwinter: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLY6JdvV7ZFZuinKCdONrcJ3VqoH4AFu_7