Skip to Main Content
the logo for the Library Services Platform: California Community Colleges

LSP ERM Workgroup - Electronic Resources

This LibGuide has been copied and modified with permission from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL).

Managing Electronic Resources

Modifying an Electronic Collection

The Electronic Collection Editor allows users to manage settings that are applied to collection level functions for databases, aggregator collections, and selective collections. Central Discovery Index (CDI) settings are also located in the Electronic Collection Editor.

Use the persistent search bar to locate the collection you want to update. Click on Edit Collection on the right to access the Electronic Collection editor. Note that a Local Collection won't have override options in the Electronic Collection editor, whereas a Community Zone activated collection will require override options to change settings already associated with the collection. 

Options to edit in Electronic Collection: 

  • Electronic Collection Description
    • Public name and override
    • Description and override
    • Internal description
    • Library 
  • General
    • Summary and Inventory Information
      • Type and override:  Aggregator, selective, or database
      • Interface name and override: select this information from Access Providers set up in the vendor records
      • Access type: Current, Perpetual, or Current and Perpetual - this trickles down to ALL portfolios
      • Counter Platform: select from established SUSHI profiles in vendor records
    • Acquisitions and License Information
      • Add or view PO Line information
      • Add or view License information
  • Additional
    • Electronic Collection Information
      • Collection level URL and override
      • Proxy settings for collection level URL
      • Language and language override
      • Additional descriptive information - MARC bibliographic record linked to the collection. 
        • For the collection to be visible in Primo, the bib record must be unsuppressed AND there must be a Electronic Collection Level URL
    • Services
      • Access the Electronic Service editor by clicking on the ellipses and select EDIT
      • Add local service
  • Notes
    • Authentication notes
    • Public notes - this note trickles down to ALL associated portfolios in the collection
    • General notes
  • History
    • Provides detailed history of electronic service actions (can also be exported)
  • CDI (Central Discovery Index)
 

Modifying an Electronic Service

The electronic service editor allows updates and changes related to the full-text service associated with an aggregator or selective collection. 

To access the electronic service editor, click on the ellipses to the right to expand the collection menu, click Edit Service.

Options to edit in the Electronic Service: 

  • Activation
    • Update activation status (Available or Not Available)
    • Activation dates (from, until)
    • Temporary service disruption (as of date, description)
  • Service Description
    • Update service type (full-text, selected full-text)
    • Public and internal descriptions
  • Linking
    • Update collection parser and parser parameters
    • Linking Level (book, journal, chapter, article, etc.)
    • Proxy selection (for ALL collection portfolios)
  • Portfolios
    • Manage portfolios with options Move a Set of Portfolios, Activate/Deactivate, Load Portfolios (with portfolio loader-new, update, delete), Add (local portfolios or from a set), or Delete Selected (portfolios). For Community Zone collections, you can also Link Local Portfolios to Community [zone]. 
    • Portfolio export options also include Extended Export (portfolio loader spreadsheet), Excel (current view), Excel (all fields)
  • Notes
    • Authentication notes
    • Public notes - this note trickles down to ALL associated portfolios in the collection
    • General notes
  • History
    • Provides detailed history of electronic service actions (can also be exported)

 

Deleting an Electronic Collection

  • Utilize the persistent search bar to locate the electronic collection to be deleted
  • Click on the ellipses to the right to expand the collection menu
    Electronic collection menu
    • In the row of actions, select Delete and a delete confirmation window will open
      Electronic Collection Delete Confirmation
    • Select the best option to manage bibliographic records associated with the collection that no longer have inventory. Typically, Delete bibliographic record(s) is appropriate. Note: confirmation screen will detail how many associated portfolios will also be deleted in this process. Options are:
      • Do Nothing
      • Suppress bibliographic record(s)
      • Delete bibliographic record(s)
    • Click confirm to initiate the deletion process. While the process is running, the collection will display "Deletion in Progress" next to the collection name
      Collection note to indicate deletion in process
    • For large packages, the deletion process will be submitted as a job. You can review the deletion progress by clicking on ADMIN on the left navigation menu, then Monitor Jobs
      Side navigation menu Admin, Monitor Jobs

Add Local Portfolio to an Electronic Collection

  • Search for the standalone title by searching Electronic Portfolios criterial in the persistent search bar; local or standalone portfolios have the Institution Zone house icon before the title.  
  • Click on Edit Portfolio on the right side of the screen
  • Click on Attach to an Electronic Collection on the top right of the portfolio editor screen
  • Search the repository for the correct electronic collection. Click on the collection title to select
  • Review the confirmation screen and click Confirm
  • Review the portfolio information to confirm Access Type, linking and proxy information, and to add any notes necessary
  • Finally, click Save to finish the process.

 

Add a Set of Standalone Portfolios to a Local Electronic Collection

To more efficiently manage standalone titles that come from one publisher or are associated with a specific collection, we can group them in a set and move the set of portfolios to a collection. By moving portfolios to a collection, we can utilize electronic service parser and parser parameters to better manage linking to titles within the collection. 

  • Create a Set. For more information on creating sets, view this short video from Ex Libris on Creating Batches of Records in Alma or review Ex Libris documentation on Managing Search Queries and Sets
  • If the Local Collection needs to be created, see Creating Local Collections workflow on Activating Electronic Resources page
  • When a Local Collection exists:
    • Use the persistent search bar to locate the electronic collection
    • Access the electronic service editor by clicking on the ellipses to the right and select Edit Service
    • Move to the Portfolios tab to see portfolio management options
    • Click on +Add to expand the menu, select Add from Set
    • In the Choose Set window, click on the outline icon to access saved sets (note that only sets saved as content type Electronic Portfolios will be available to choose from)
    • Select the set saved in step one
    • Select Submit and review the Add Set confirmation page before selecting Confirm to run the job to add standalone portfolios to a local collection
    • Results can be viewed by clicking on Admin>Monitor Jobs and viewing the History>Results

 

Link Standalone Portfolios to the Community

After local (standalone) portfolios have been attached to a collection, they can then be linked to the Community Zone and benefit from Community Zone updates.

  • Search for the collection from the persistent search bar by Electronic Collection>Electronic Collection Name
    • Identify the correct collection. Click on the ellipses to the right, select Edit Service
    • In the Electronic Service Editor, click on the Portfolios tab
      Linking portfolios to the community zone with the electronic collection service editor
      • Note, you can sort the portfolios with CZ Linking by Local or Linked to CZ
    • Select All portfolios by checking the box to the left of Availability in the blue bar
    • Click Link Local Portfolios to Community
    • Review Local Information and Community Information. In the bibliographic Records Configuration section, decide if you want to use the Community Zone bibliographic records or to keep your local bib record
    • Select Link button located at the top right of the screen
      Electronic service editor - Link Electronic resources to Community
    • Review summary of action on the confirmation screen. Click Confirm to submit the job to run, linking local portfolios to the Community Zone
    • Results can be viewed by clicking on Admin>Monitor Jobs and viewing the History>Results

 

Move a Portfolio to a New Collection

  • Locate the portfolio by searching Electronic Portfolios criteria in the persistent search bar 
  • Expand the ellipses menu to the right and select Move
     Electronic portfolio menu>move portfolio
  • In the Move Portfolio window, click on the outline icon to select a destination collection Outline icon used in Alma to open a selection wizard, usually for selecting electronic collections
  • Search for the destination collection and click on the collection name to select
  • Review confirmation window; click MOVE
    Move electronic portfolio confirmation screen with buttons to select cancel or move
  • When a portfolio is moved from one collection to another, the portfolio will become localized and unlinked from the Community Zone
  • Follow steps in the above Link Standalone Portfolios to the Community workflow to link localized portfolios to the community zone

 

Delete Single Electronic Portfolio

  • Locate the portfolio to delete by searching Electronic Portfolios criteria in the persistent search bar 
  • Locate the Electronic Portfolio Menu to the right and select Delete
  • Choose the preferred Handling bibliographic records without inventory option and select Confirm
    Handling bibliographic records with out inventory screen
  • A confirmation message will appear when the portfolio has been successfully deleted

 

Batch Delete Electronic Portfolios

  • Create a Set of portfolios for deletion. For more information on creating sets, view this short video from Ex Libris on Creating Batches of Records in Alma or review Ex Libris documentation on Managing Search Queries and Sets
  • From the Alma menu on the left, select Admin>Run a Job
    Main Alma menu for Manage Jobs and Sets options
  • Run a Job - Select Job to Run: Narrow job options by searching Portfolios in the Description box; select Delete Electronic Portfolios, then NEXT
  • Run a Job - Select Set: select previously saved set, select NEXT
  • Task Parameters: select delete policy options for the job based on the set of portfolios, Select RUN to start the job process
    Task Parameters: delete portfolios options for running a job on a set
  • Review the deletion progress by clicking on ADMIN on the left navigation menu, then Monitor Jobs

Add Portfolio Information

 

 

Update Portfolio Information

 

 

Delete Portfolio Information

 

 

Portfolio Loader Template - (link will download an Excel spreadsheet)

 

Community Zone Updates Task List

The Community Zone Updates Task List (CZUTL) provide updates regarding changes to electronic collection and portfolio information for Institution Zone resources that have been activated from the Community Zone. Updates result from an internal process that is performed on Sundays at midnight. 

To work with the CZUTL, you need to have the Repository Manager user role. Access the CZ Updates Task List by clicking on RESOURCES>MANAGE INVENTORY>COMMUNITY ZONE UPDATES TASK LIST on the left navigation menu. 

From the CZUTL page, navigate through different reports by using the dropdown menu. Date filters are also available to refine search results.

Community Zone Updates Task List menu

 

Actively Monitored Community Zone Updates Task List

Electronic collection deleted

Electronic service deleted

Portfolio deleted from non auto-active electronic service

Collections that have been activated with the setting "Automatically activate new portfolios" disabled (unchecked) are described as "non auto-active"; they will not automatically include titles that are added to the CZ collection, nor will titles that are removed from the collection be automatically deleted. A title removed from a "non auto-active" collection will result in the portfolio being made unavailable and local when the update runs. Titles within these collections were specifically selected based on access entitlements, therefore each title needs to be reviewed.

  • Use the Report Type dropdown menu to select "Portfolio deleted from non auto-active electronic service"
  • Adjust the date range as needed to refine results; typically this report should be reviewed daily for updates
  • If an inactive portfolio is shown in the task list, use the Test Access command on the portfolio's action menu to check whether UNL has retained access to the online item.
  • If necessary, review titles by investigating access entitlements via publisher admin (find username/passwords in vendor records) or EBSCOnet
  • If necessary, review Alma Content Corner Release Notes for changes in Community Zone collections
  • If access is still available, select Edit Portfolio and change Portfolio Availability to Available Portfolio availability options
  • Review the following three options for final management of the portfolio:
    1. Review the current Community Zone collection where the portfolio is activated. If the title was dropped and added back to the collection, the portfolio will not automatically relink to the CZ. Follow steps under Managing Electronic Portfolios>Link Standalone Portfolios to the Community to relink the portfolio. Alternatively, the new CZ portfolio can be activated, and the old, inactive portfolio deleted.
    2. If the collection has been dropped or changed, the portfolio will need to be moved to the new collection. For example, as of May 30, 2022 CQ Electronic Library is no longer being maintained by Ex Libris per Alma May-August Release Notes. Titles selected within that collection have to be moved to Sage CQ Press All Titles. Review steps under Managing Electronic Portfolios>Move Portfolio to associate the portfolio to the new collection. Then, follow steps under Managing Electronic Portfolios>Link Standalone Portfolios to the Community to relink the portfolio to the CZ. Alternatively, the new CZ portfolio can be activated, and the old, inactive portfolio deleted.
    3. If the title has truly been removed from the collection and no longer available in the CZ, make sure the portfolio has been set to available and linking is working correctly by testing access to the title.
  • If our access has been terminated and we no longer have access, follow steps under Managing Electronic Portfolios>Delete Single Electronic Portfolio to complete the deletion process.
  • Be sure to return to the Community Zone Updates Task List and Dismiss any title you have finished troubleshooting.  

 

 

See Ex Libris documentation for more information on working with Community Zone Updates Tasks Lists