LSP ERM Workgroup - Electronic Resources

This section provides basic information about electronic resources management in the CCC's Alma environment, along with step-by-step instructions for the most common tasks associated with this area of work.

For an overview of electronic resources management and information about other systems and processes involved in ERM, consult the LSP ERM Work Group guide. 

CCL Members have three zones in Alma where electronic resources can be found: 

• Institution Zone (IZ)  - location for institution local records and inventory
• Network Zone (NZ)  - shared bibliographic environment for CCC Libraries and shared CCC electronic inventory
• Community Zone (CZ)  - shared repository available to all users in the Alma Community which incorporates the Central Knowledge Base, community catalog, and global authorities. Electronic collections and portfolios can be activated for local discovery from the CZ

  ---

  Institution Zone (IZ):

  The Institution Zone (IZ) is where all library-owned resources and associated inventory exists. This is your library's collection. Bib records in the IZ can be IZ only records or they can be linked to the NZ.

  Network Zone (NZ):

  Alma's Network Zone (NZ) is the LSP's shared bibliographic environment. All bibliographic records should reside in the NZ, with noted exceptions, in order to enable collaboration and sharing of information.

  IZ records linked to the NZ will have a network icon  next to them when searched in the IZ.

  Community Zone (CZ):

  The Community Zone (CZ) is a shared repository available for all Alma users. It incorporates the Central Knowledgebase, the Community catalog, and Global Authority Files.

User roles determine what modules the user can access and what functions the user can perform. An ERM user will need the following user roles to manage general electronic resource management tasks:

Electronic Resources

• Electronic Inventory Operator
• Electronic Inventory Operator Extended
• Repository Manager
• CDI Inventory Operator

Cataloging

• Cataloger
• Cataloger Extended

Acquisitions and Vendors

• Licensing Manager
• Purchasing Operator
• Receiving Operator
• Vendor Manager

Central Discover Index (CDI)

• CDI Inventory Operator

Troubleshooting 

• Chat with Support

For more information, visit Ex Libris Knowledge Center for Managing User Roles.

Below are a few terms to become familiar when learning Electronic Resource Management: 

• Access Provider - located within vendor records, a party that provides access to electronic resources; may or may not be the vendor that sells the product
• Activation - the process of enabling access to electronic resources for discovery
• Analytics - an Alma resource used to develop and manage data reports
• Central Discovery Index (CDI) - CDI leverages existing assets and delivers enhanced discovery in Primo
• Central Knowledge Base (CKB) - part of the Community Zone that contains linking information to electronic resources
• Community Zone (CZ) - Ex Libris maintained resources that are available to all Alma institutions
• COUNTER - Counting Online Usage of NeTworked Electronic Resources - a standard to count the usage of electronic resources; more information COUNTER standards can be found at https://www.projectcounter.org/
• Electronic Collections
  • Aggregator package - an electronic collection that includes all titles
  • Selective package - an electronic collection that includes only some of the collection's titles
  • Database - includes resources that cannot be managed individually through an interface
    • Collections can be activated from the Community Zone or can be created as a Local Electronic Collection in the Institution Zone (IZ)
• Electronic Service - service that provides users with access to full-text electronic resources; available with Aggregator and Selective packages
• Import Profile - an Alma tool for defining how records are loaded (imported) and normalized, as well as create and update portfolio inventory
• Inventory - resources that are owned, licensed, or associated with the library, institution, or consortium; can include both electronic, digital, and physical material
• Metadata Editor (MDE) - a tool for creating and editing bibliographic records and adding portfolio inventory
• Network Zone (NZ) - location for shared UNCL bibliographic records; location for shared UNCL electronic inventory
• Persistent Search Box - search box at the top middle of any Alma page consisting of various search options
• Portfolio - electronic resource inventory that maintains coverage, services, and link information for a specific title that may be part of an electronic collection
  • Portfolios can be activated from the Community Zone or can be created as a Local Portfolio in the Institution Zone (IZ)
• Sets - a group of items that can be saved in two types of sets; allows items to be updated in bulk by running a job against the set
  • Itemized Set - a static set; members of the set are determined at the time the set is saved; can be created by adding individual members or uploading a spreadsheet of members
  • Logical Set - a saved search query; results are dynamic and will update the members of the set to display the most current results of the query
• Trial - process of evaluating a resource prior to purchase

For an in-depth overview of Alma terms beyond eResources, visit the Alma Glossary of Terms.